Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 8, 2009, 12:44 PM   #1
nothvice
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Configuring Xcode for C++

Hello. I am currently learning C++ and need to now how to configure Xcode to run very simple C++ programs. I'm not doing any GUI stuff right now, just command line stuff. I have tried to configure it myself, but every time I create a new project it adds all these extra files that I assume is for GUI stuff. When it adds all the extra files, I can't get my simple programs to work.

Thanks.
nothvice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2009, 12:53 PM   #2
lee1210
macrumors 68040
 
lee1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
file
new project
Command line utility
->C++ tool

should do it.

-Lee
lee1210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2009, 02:33 PM   #3
jinksys
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Saint Louis, Mo
Send a message via AIM to jinksys Send a message via Yahoo to jinksys
If you are developing a program that doesn't have a gui, it might be helpful to go into preferences->debugging and set "On Start:" to "Show Console."
jinksys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2009, 04:02 PM   #4
larkost
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by nothvice View Post
Hello. I am currently learning C++ and need to now how to configure Xcode to run very simple C++ programs. I'm not doing any GUI stuff right now, just command line stuff. I have tried to configure it myself, but every time I create a new project it adds all these extra files that I assume is for GUI stuff. When it adds all the extra files, I can't get my simple programs to work.

Thanks.
What template are you using? If you choose the command line tool for C++ then it will give you what you need. I only have the seeding version in front of me, so I can't give you the exact name of the template you need, but it is there.
larkost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2009, 07:30 PM   #5
nothvice
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Thanks for all the tips! I'm where I need to be. BTW, I was using the Carbon C++ template before.

A quick question though. Is there a way to define custom code snippets? I have a comment header that needs to be in the top of each of my programs, but the ones Xcode has built-in are exactly what I need.

Thanks
nothvice is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving from xcode 3.2 to xcode 4.5.2 compilation error for 'abs' macro in stdlib.h hrishidev Mac Programming 7 Jun 2, 2013 10:36 AM
Configuring USB 3? ayres Mac Peripherals 8 May 28, 2013 11:37 AM
Help with configuring MBA AdrainSingapore MacBook Air 18 Dec 3, 2012 06:30 PM
Help configuring a joystick kony5669 Mac and PC Games 0 Sep 29, 2012 08:38 PM
Help configuring network whoathere Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 27, 2012 04:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC