Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Old Jul 10, 2009, 09:08 AM   #1
JustLikeYou
macrumors member

AE CS4 on 13" MBP?

Hey guys! So I've been browsing, and I'm pretty sure this is where I should be posting this question. If not, sorry... ... I haven't posted in quite some time.

Anyhow, I'm a design student and for the past year and a half I've been using my 13" 2.16 model macbook for all my design work, paired with a 22" widescreen Samsung LCD monitor. I always told myself I would get a 15" or 17" MBP for my senior year and for the "real world", but honestly, I've fallen in love with the portability of my 13" when not in the class or in my room connected to the external monitor.

When they made the announcement of the upgrades for the "new" 13" MBP, I really started considering that instead. However, up to this point, I've only used the Design Premium CS3, and I need to upgrade to CS4 to get After Effects. My question is, do you think the 13" MBP would be able to handle it? I won't be doing any major 3D work (unless you consider converting 2D text and vector layers to 3D layers), and it will mostly be motion graphics that aren't really 3D render heavy. I know the interface will feel a bit squished, since the resolution requirements are 100 pixels higher than the 13" screen allows, but again, I compensate for that by attaching to the 22" widescreen when I'm not "on the go"

So opinions? Do you think the computer will physically be able to handle it? Or will I have to go with the bulkier 15" model?
JustLikeYou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2009, 11:23 AM   #2
lucidmedia
macrumors 6502a

I have done "light" AE work as you describe on my macbook air (rev b) and been pleased with it, so I don't think you should have major issues. Handles it just fine! Like you, I do plug in to a larger monitor when in studio tho...

Quote: