Wifi+samba On W2003k+tiger - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 20, 2009, 08:09 AM   #1
verter2k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Wifi+samba On W2003k+tiger

hi,
I've searched this and other forums and still with my problem, I'll appreciate help a lot.
What do I have -
1. D-LINK WIFI ROUTER + ADSL 2740U (802.11n mode enabled)
2. MBP WITH 10.4.11 and AirPort (802.11n mode enabled)
3. Windows 2003 Server SP2 with shares

4. I'm trying to copy large files (500-1000MB) from server to the mac os and the speed is about 50-100kb/s, so 1.3GB file is transferred over 3 hours. Is it ok? The windows station works faster (XP) but I like mac os x.

the protocol is IP only and router is DHCP server
change the distance from router to mac is making no difference

any any suggestions?
verter2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 08:11 AM   #2
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Did you try using a wired connection?

Even if you're 4 feet from the router, if you have interference, it will affect your throughput. Using a wired connection eliminates that possibility.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 08:18 AM   #3
verter2k
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
but why WXP box works much better than?
verter2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 08:25 AM   #4
diamond.g
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by verter2k View Post
but why WXP box works much better than?
Do you have BITS enabled on the server? You may have to disable it as Macs don't (AFAIK) have an equivalent.
diamond.g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 08:39 AM   #5
verter2k
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamond.g View Post
Do you have BITS enabled on the server? You may have to disable it as Macs don't (AFAIK) have an equivalent.
thanks, have disabled it, but nothing changed
verter2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 08:48 AM   #6
diamond.g
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by verter2k View Post
thanks, have disabled it, but nothing changed
So the Win2k3 server is hardwired or are both on the wifi?

The only other thing I can think of is the changing of the file type as it is being transmitted. I have also seen people complain about Tigers Windows networking support, but I am not sure if that is the problem. If you plug both computers into the router (wired) do you still get the same transfer rates (basically isolate if it is a network problem or a server/mac problem).
diamond.g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 09:15 AM   #7
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by verter2k View Post
but why WXP box works much better than?
There's no way to know for certain unless you start troubleshooting using my steps above. You have not stated what is wired or wireless, so we're just guessing.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 09:22 AM   #8
verter2k
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
The flow:

Internet-wired 100Mbit -W2K3 SERVER-wireless (802.11g)-DLINK ROUTER-wireless (802.11n) - MAC BOOK PRO

D-Link also has its own connection to another ISP via DSL (backup but active)
verter2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 09:57 AM   #9
diamond.g
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by verter2k View Post
The flow:

Internet-wired 100Mbit -W2K3 SERVER-wireless (802.11g)-DLINK ROUTER-wireless (802.11n) - MAC BOOK PRO

D-Link also has its own connection to another ISP via DSL (backup but active)
Is it any faster if you plug both the Mac and the Server into the router (wired...)?
diamond.g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 10:50 AM   #10
verter2k
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
TESTS

1) on win server disabled wifi and connect its ethernet to router

speed 1.3Mbit/s both up and down (500Mbytes file)

2) connected over direct wi-fi mac to server (no security (WEP) at all)

speed 500-700kbit/s up and down (1Gb file up and 200Mb file down)

3) original speeds are around 30-50-150 kbit/s
verter2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 10:54 AM   #11
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Sounds like your D-Link router is at fault then. Try running everything at G speeds.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 10:58 AM   #12
diamond.g
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
You could be getting enough collisions/interference that the router is forcing a slower speed to maintain the connection (connection isn't the word I wanted to use, but it will have to due for now).
diamond.g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 11:10 AM   #13
verter2k
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
I think I may disable WLAN encryption (as I maintain MAC address filter). What do you think?

Also, I have following modes on a router:
Mixed 802.11ng and 802.11b (running)
802.11g only
802.11b only
802.11n only
Mixed 802.11g and 802.11b

Channel: Auto
AP Isolation: off
Fragmentation: 2346
RTS Threshold: 2347
DTIM Interval: 1
beacon interval: 100
Preamble: long
Transmit power: 100%

WPA2-PSK - security

the server has DWL-550 (relatively old adapter which I could replace with, say, DWA-547
verter2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 11:23 AM   #14
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Try it. There's no harm in trying it and that's the only way you'll find the culprit. Honestly, I'd try what you mentioned and running everything on G to see what helps.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 11:37 AM   #15
verter2k
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Have moved to 802.11g and turned off security at all. Speed - 0.5Mbps upstream so it is a bit better but anyway slow.
verter2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2009, 07:04 AM   #16
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Here's the next step.
  1. Hardwire the server to the router, and leave the client on wireless.
  2. Test.
    • If slow go to step 3.
    • If fast, there is an issue with the server's wireless card/connection.
  3. Hardwire the client and leave the server on wireless.
  4. Test
    • If slow, replace the router.
    • If fast, there is an issue with the client's wireless card/connection.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Mounting Samba Shares Spacecowboy1 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Oct 16, 2012 07:44 PM
Accessing a file via Samba causeisunknown OS X 6 Aug 27, 2012 09:42 AM
iMac 5,1 won't connect to internet over WIFI. Running Tiger, HELP! Sup3rknova Mac Basics and Help 6 Aug 21, 2012 05:13 PM
Samba mounts at the wrong level ollie87 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Jun 29, 2012 08:54 AM
Samba Shares Headaches KlytusLord Mac Basics and Help 2 Jun 21, 2012 09:56 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC