Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

slickman9696

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 11, 2004
I was just wondering if anyone else out there has had a problem similar to mine with the eMac. My eMac, after being on for probably around an hour and a half or so, or after being in screensaver mode for no more than 5 minutes, it starts to slow down. My eMac specs are:

1 GHz PowerPC G4
512 MB of RAM
160 GB Ultra ATA drive
Mac OS X Version 10.3.4

That should be all that's important. Either way, it acts normally when first started up; meaning, it acts as fast as I believe it's supposed to act. Things you should know that I know (b/c yes I'm new to the Mac world and I asked all my friends) are things like yea I have to shut down all programs that have the little arrows underneath them. So, if anyone else is experiencing this problem or if anyone has any ideas as to how this can be fixed, your help with be greatly appreciated. Consider this a great challenge tho, because not even those people at apple could help when I called. Thank you all very much.

Charlie Stevens

Les Kern

macrumors 68040
Apr 26, 2002
Alabama
This is most of your problem I'd bet:

1 GHz PowerPC G4
512 MB of RAM
160 GB Ultra ATA drive
Mac OS X Version 10.3.4

Panther needs a minimum of 128MB of ram to run. If you have multiple items open, the machine will have trouble because memory is protected, and it has a tough time utilizing the available ram to take care of things. I'm assuming you have no 3rd-party "odd" apps like haxies running, just "normal" apps? And how does it slow down? Does the mouse seem jerky? Do windows draw real slow? Do apps open REAL slow?
Ram. Buy some. I'd recommend another 512 right away, if not more.
As a new mac owner I'd cruise Macfixit.com regularly. Lots of good people there willing to help. (Like here too)