Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 28, 2009, 10:29 PM   #1
jomief
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Cannot Find Blank CD on Desktop

Hi. When I insert a blank CD into my MacBook, running Leopard, nothing happens.
1. I can't see it on the desktop and neither can I see it on Finder.
2. Finder preference "show CD" checked is on.
3. I've tried different blank CD's and they all don't work,
4. When there is data on the CD it appears on the desktop
5. When I go to system preferences cd/dvd it only shows 3 options NONE of which are "when I insert a blank CD" or "when I insert a blank DVD" so I can't set these options.

It seems like a software thing and I'm just not "flipping the right switches". Item #5 bothers me though as the other Macs I've seen have this option.

Much thanks.
jomief is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2009, 10:30 PM   #2
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Does anything show up in Disk Utility?
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2009, 10:32 PM   #3
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
when you insert the CD does it spin up at all or just sort of cruise?
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2009, 10:33 PM   #4
jackiecanev2
macrumors 65816
 
jackiecanev2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Wirelessly posted (BB 8900: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

Generally I can't think of any reason you would need to mount a blank cd. Will it let you burn to the disc, even though it doesn't show the empty disc as mounted?
__________________
15" rMBP | too many iSomethings | two pitties | a Ducati | lots of scalpels
jackiecanev2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2009, 10:34 PM   #5
upinflames900
macrumors 6502a
 
upinflames900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Are you able to burn a blank CD (say via itunes)?
__________________
It may be just a fruit, but at least it works
upinflames900 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2009, 10:41 PM   #6
jomief
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Thanks for all the guiding questions.
1. The CD doesn't show in disk utility.
2. No I can't burn on iTunes
3. I wanted to see the CD on my desktop as I am looking to burn files by dragging them into the CD window on the desktop.
4. When I insert the CD it doesn't sound like its reading, just sort of "cruising"
jomief is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2009, 10:43 PM   #7
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Reset your PRAM, hold Command-Option-P-R on boot until it chimes twice.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2009, 10:47 PM   #8
jomief
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Thanks, I will try this.
jomief is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2009, 01:05 AM   #9
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
if thats the case then i would hazard a guess that your Optical drive is dying. i have the same problem with my laptop, except it will spit them out after 30 seconds or so. only SOME commercially burnt dvds/cds will be read.
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I hid a folder on the desktop now I can't find it! j4mbo OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Dec 1, 2013 11:36 PM
Anyone know where i can find a live floating desktop weather widget Designed4Mac Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jan 14, 2013 06:27 AM
In iMessage , contact sends me a texts that is blank and only shows the blank bubble. Jooohhn243 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Dec 3, 2012 08:56 PM
Where to find old version of Remote Desktop? v3.5 (for Snow Leopard) Jhoust7 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Nov 13, 2012 02:00 AM
Anyone find the slow animation of switching between desktop annoying? Solution? Leonidas87 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jul 26, 2012 12:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC