Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present! - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 14, 2004, 09:46 PM   #1
LaMerVipere
macrumors 6502a
 
LaMerVipere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago
Send a message via AIM to LaMerVipere
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present!

It would be great to show MacRumour member's Mac setups!

AND even cooler, to see them past and present to show how they've progressed, SO, i shall start

mine goes:

1 Power Mac G4 350MHz, and still going strong!
2 Rev A 12" PowerBook G4
3 eMac 1GHz Superdrive
4 1GHz TiBook Superdrive
5 12" iBook G4

prior to getting the Power Mac I had a purple iMac though, I wish I had taken photos of it, oh well!

Post photos of your setup! Your current one is great, but past setups too if ya have them!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	00044855.jpg
Views:	7796
Size:	90.6 KB
ID:	14623   Click image for larger version

Name:	00044198.jpg
Views:	4737
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	14624   Click image for larger version

Name:	00046125.jpg
Views:	4180
Size:	75.3 KB
ID:	14625  

Click image for larger version

Name:	00059783.jpg
Views:	4221
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	14626   Click image for larger version

Name:	00066619.jpg
Views:	4893
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	14627  
__________________
iMac + iPhone 4
LaMerVipere is offline   3
Old Jun 21, 2004, 08:40 PM   #2
Capt Underpants
macrumors 68030
 
Capt Underpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
This is my first mac (see sig). I would post a pic, but it looks exactly the same is yours.... so it's pointless.
__________________
Love.

Last edited by Capt Underpants; Jun 21, 2004 at 08:43 PM.
Capt Underpants is offline   0
Old Jun 21, 2004, 09:09 PM   #3
ChrisFromCanada
macrumors 65816
 
ChrisFromCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
I like it

Well I for one like this idea.

Gotta love the old school speakers. (But I do need new ones soon)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mysetup.jpg
Views:	5845
Size:	93.9 KB
ID:	14766  
__________________
Powermac G5 - Dual 2.5 GHz
SR Macbook Pro - 2.2GHz
Xbox 360
30GB iPod Video
Sony DCR-PC105
ChrisFromCanada is offline   0
Old Jun 22, 2004, 12:38 AM   #4
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Old (2000/2001ish I think):


New:
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old Jun 22, 2004, 01:36 AM   #5
mj_1903
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
I don't have any old pics as my collection of Macs is pretty young (switcher) but here are the machines and a pic with at least two of them in it.

1. iBook 500 (dead screen)
2. PowerMac Dual 867
3. 12" PowerBook 867 (sold)
4. 15" PowerBook 1ghz
5. PowerMac G4 400mhz

New additions in a week or two will be a Dual 2 G5.

And the reason I have so many? My work colleague uses the Dual 867, the PowerBook is for roadtripping, the old G4 is for Jaguar testing and the G5 will be my new workstation.

Warning, picture is massively compressed... eek!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	desk.jpg
Views:	5221
Size:	24.1 KB
ID:	14769  
__________________
mj_1903 is offline   0
Old Jun 22, 2004, 02:06 AM   #6
oldschool
macrumors 65816
 
oldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Hey edesignuk could you tell me the brand name of that desk chair? it looks mighty comfortable and i've been searching for a new one.



Quote:
Originally Posted by edesignuk
New:
oldschool is offline   0
Old Jun 22, 2004, 02:33 AM   #7
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldschool
Hey edesignuk could you tell me the brand name of that desk chair? it looks mighty comfortable and i've been searching for a new one.
I have no idea what brand/model it is, and in all honesty, I doubt the same thing will be available in Canada
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old Jun 22, 2004, 11:51 AM   #8
jknight8907
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by edesignuk
New:
You should look into a USB KVM switch so you only have to have one keyboard and mouse. You can get one for under $100.
jknight8907 is offline   0
Old Jun 22, 2004, 12:09 PM   #9
wide
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Capt Underpants-

How does Counter-Strike run on a Dell Dimension 8100 with a 1.3 GHz Pentium 4 and 384 MB RAM? When I get my PowerBook G5 , I plan on installing VirtualPC 7.0 with native graphics card support, so that I can run Windows applications. I am hoping that it will be about the same speed as a 1.3 GHz Pentium 4, so that's why I'm asking.

Thanks
__________________
1.33 GHz iBook 12.1"
-iskin protouch pb (artic)
-microsoft intellimouse explorer bluetooth
a dell laptop and a few ipods
wide is offline   0
Old Jun 22, 2004, 12:12 PM   #10
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by jknight8907
You should look into a USB KVM switch so you only have to have one keyboard and mouse. You can get one for under $100.
Not so easy with a dual screen setup, dual screen DVI switches cost a crap load. Not worth it IMO.
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old Jun 22, 2004, 12:33 PM   #11
DGFan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by edesignuk
Not so easy with a dual screen setup, dual screen DVI switches cost a crap load. Not worth it IMO.
He said one keyboard and mouse. You won't need a DVI KVM switch for that.
DGFan is offline   0
Old Jun 22, 2004, 12:38 PM   #12
Capt Underpants
macrumors 68030
 
Capt Underpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by wide
Capt Underpants-

How does Counter-Strike run on a Dell Dimension 8100 with a 1.3 GHz Pentium 4 and 384 MB RAM? When I get my PowerBook G5 , I plan on installing VirtualPC 7.0 with native graphics card support, so that I can run Windows applications. I am hoping that it will be about the same speed as a 1.3 GHz Pentium 4, so that's why I'm asking.

Thanks
Um.... Counter-Strike isn't a very intense game, so it runs well even on my Dell. There isn't any lag, but that's mostly due to my net connection. I am also waiting for VPC 7.0 and hoping that my PB will be able to run CS, though I am beginning to doubt that. THe system requirements for the PC are only like 500 MHz, 16 MB VRAM. Hopefully your Powerbook G5 (whenever it may come out) will be able to emulate at a speed equivalent to this.
__________________
Love.
Capt Underpants is offline   0
Old Jun 22, 2004, 12:42 PM   #13
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGFan
He said one keyboard and mouse. You won't need a DVI KVM switch for that.
Actually he did say a KVM (Keyboard, video & mouse) But anyway, if I couldn't do it all, I wouldn't want to do it at all. Plus the fact the keys are all in different places on my PC/Mac keyboards.
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old Jun 25, 2004, 06:14 PM   #14
36183
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by wide
Capt Underpants-

How does Counter-Strike run on a Dell Dimension 8100 with a 1.3 GHz Pentium 4 and 384 MB RAM? When I get my PowerBook G5 , I plan on installing VirtualPC 7.0 with native graphics card support, so that I can run Windows applications. I am hoping that it will be about the same speed as a 1.3 GHz Pentium 4, so that's why I'm asking.

Thanks
well there is no powerbook g5 yet (unless you ment powermac g5) and the powerbook g5 wont be out untill at least 2005. and one other thing vpc for the g5 is being delayed by the **** head at m$ (there to scared of seeing mac user run windows faster than windows users). but it will come out soon enought
36183 is offline   0
Old Jun 25, 2004, 06:39 PM   #15
5300cs
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: japan
I would post a picture, but I'm in the middle of cleaning again so it looks like a disaster area.
Instead, here's a spiffy diagram I made in OmniGraffle. It's my current network.

http://homepage.mac.com/time_pilot/network.png

Yes, it's my home network, and yes, I do own all those machines. (Actually, I just got a PB 2400c, but it's not in the diagram.)
5300cs is offline   0
Old Jun 25, 2004, 07:15 PM   #16
blue&whiteman
Banned
 
blue&whiteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
nice network 5300

speaking of chairs I would say that herman miller by far makes the best computer chairs. I just got a mirra and everyone knows the aeron

these chairs are very expensive but well worth it and also have 12 years coverage under warrantee.
blue&whiteman is offline   0
Old Jun 25, 2004, 08:38 PM   #17
yoda13
macrumors 65816
 
yoda13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Past setups:

Apple IIc
PowerMac IIci
Radius Clone 81/110
PowerMac 8500
Orange iMac 333mhz G3
Powerbook 333mhz G3 (not sure exact model name)
Powerbook 400mhz G3 Pismo (firewire)
400 mhz TiBook
700 mhz 14" iBook
1ghz TiBook

current setup: see sig
__________________
For over a thousand generations, the Jedi Knights were the guardians of peace and justice in the Old Republic. Before the dark times, before the Empire.
yoda13 is offline   0
Old Jun 25, 2004, 09:19 PM   #18
jknight8907
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5300cs
I would post a picture, but I'm in the middle of cleaning again so it looks like a disaster area.
Instead, here's a spiffy diagram I made in OmniGraffle. It's my current network.

http://homepage.mac.com/time_pilot/network.png

Yes, it's my home network, and yes, I do own all those machines. (Actually, I just got a PB 2400c, but it's not in the diagram.)
Woah!!! (Wipes drool off mouth) Thats a serious setup!!!
jknight8907 is offline   0
Old Jun 26, 2004, 12:31 AM   #19
5300cs
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jknight8907
Woah!!! (Wipes drool off mouth) Thats a serious setup!!!
Thanks I try

My old setup:
2000- Toshiba Satellite Pro 425CDT (damn fine machine, sturdy as hell)

2004-
Mac Portable
PB 520c
PB Duo 280c
PB 5300cs
PB 190
PB 2400c
PB 150
15" TiBook
17" PowerBook
12" iBook (logic board dead now )
VAIO
Sharp something -dead
Toshiba Libretto 70c (or d, don't remember)
ThinkPad 380ed
SOTEC eNote 645T
MDD G4 PowerMac 1Ghz
B&W G3 PowerMac 400Mhz
G4 Xserve 1Ghz (Yes, a real Xserve)
20th Anniversary Mac
Mac Classic II
Newton OMP
MP 120
eMate
MP 2100
iPaq 5450 (ugh, WinCE)
Palm IIIc
Clie something
Palm Tungsten C
Atari Portfolio

I think that's it...
5300cs is offline   0
Old Jun 30, 2004, 04:36 PM   #20
MoparShaha
macrumors 68000
 
MoparShaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Francisco
I just changed my room setup a little. Decided to start runing dual monitors with my PowerBook. Just picked up an iCurve from the SF Apple Store .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	desk.JPG
Views:	5953
Size:	85.5 KB
ID:	14976  
MoparShaha is offline   0
Old Jul 8, 2004, 03:20 AM   #21
iMac-G5
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Germany- near France
Send a message via AIM to iMac-G5
iMac G5 - still missing

While i wait for a new iMac to be released...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Macrumor_setup07-2004.jpg
Views:	5536
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	15171  
__________________
------------------------------------------------------
The Medium is the Message -
at least if it is a Mac.

iBook G3 500 MHz - 384 MB RAM

PowerBook G4 1.33 GHz - 1024 MB RAM
(BT Keyboard and black Formac 19" TFT)
iMac-G5 is offline   0
Old Jul 8, 2004, 04:32 AM   #22
Knox
Administrator
 
Knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: UK
I have a nasty habit of keeping old stuff now, so i tend to collect computers & monitors.

From right to left:

1st gen Powerbook 12"
Linux PC (PIII-550 i think) acting as gateway and fileserver
G4-350
Dual 2Ghz G5
Windows PC (PII-400), under the desk, soon to be FreeBSD.
3 17" monitors of varying ages
15" Sony LCD



And yes, the monitors are all connected to the G5 (This is an older photo, hence the different layout)



The setup didn't start like that, was originally only single monitor with the G4, then dual (nicked it from the PC when it became a gateway), then got the third monitor free and the LCD at a bargin price.

Previous to this, i've had (reverse order)

Performa 6400/200
Performa 630
Atari ST 1040 (with 1MB ram upgrade )
BBC Master
Knox is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 05:19 AM   #23
robotrenegade
macrumors 6502a
 
robotrenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Greenville,SC
__________________
15" i7 Macbook Pro Retina | Mac OS 10.8 | iPhone 5

Last edited by robotrenegade; Jul 14, 2004 at 05:22 AM.
robotrenegade is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 06:29 AM   #24
Zenith
macrumors 6502
 
Zenith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Norway
Send a message via AIM to Zenith
Here's my very first Mac and my current one. 5 years difference.

__________________
Listen to my music at espenberg.no, Listen!
Official avatarist of 2002. Yeah, I'm growing old in these forums.
Zenith is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2004, 08:05 AM   #25
keysersoze
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NH
My G4 PB 12" looks just like the one in all the other photos....sexy...

I have a B&W that is sitting in a closet folding proteins. Not elegant, but functional.

I just put together an old PM 8500 (which was my very first personal Mac... got nostalgic) that I got on eBay for $0.01. I want to take a picture of it! It's so beige!

I paid:
PM 8500 = $0.01. + $18 shipping
4 GB hard drive = $16
OS 9.1 = $0.00 (miraculously still had it from way back when)
ADB Mouse + Keyboard + VGA adapter = $4
15" Dell Monitor = $1.00 (yard sale)
Grand Total: $38.01

When I bought it new in '96 it was $3000!!!!!

Ahhh depreciation
And the whole beige thing really goes well with my apartment's wood panelling
__________________
i love brits

keysersoze is offline   0


Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 19) stridemat Picture Gallery 1717 Today 04:49 AM
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 18) stridemat Picture Gallery 2021 Aug 11, 2013 02:21 PM
Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 17) Goftrey Picture Gallery 1537 Nov 25, 2012 02:45 PM
mobile OSs: WebOS users (past and present). ChazUK Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 10 Jul 25, 2012 09:51 AM
Post Your Windows Setup: Past & Present (Part 1) NbinHD Picture Gallery 2 Jul 6, 2012 07:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC