Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 29, 2009, 02:16 PM   #1
Allerdyce
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Help with setting up a MOTU Ultralite in Logic Pro 7?

Alright, I just got my Motu ultralite mk3 and I am not the most computer savvy person in the world. I'm usually not that bad with stuff like this but i've been having some problems. I think i'm following the instructions okay, but i am getting no sound through the interface. The signal seems to be going through, as when i record it shows the waves...you know the little jaggedy things that let you know you're recording, but playback reveals nothing to be heard. Likewise, i hear nothing plugging into the headphones or main out jacks. Can someone give me detailed instructions for an idiot?

I don't know if this is relevant but i'm working on last year's model of Macbook Pro with a 2.4 intel, 2 gigs of memory, running 10.5.6, and i'm using Logic Pro.

My attempt was plugging my guitar straight into the first input XLR/quarter inch with logic pro running. Granted, i don't really know what i'm supposed to do, so i could just be doing everything wrong.

Thanks alot!
Allerdyce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2009, 08:51 PM   #2
LurchNC
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Hi,
I have an older version of the Ultralite, but I hope I can help.

First off, is it working on OSX? Can you hear iTunes ect? If not go to System Preferences > Sound and choose it under "Output" and "Input". If you still don't hear it, you might have a driver issue. Technically speaking, you don't have to use the unit as your system sound device to use it in Logic. They can each use seperate devices.

When you plugged in the Ulralite, the "MOTU Audio Setup" app should have opened. It looks like a microphone. This where you set your sample rates ect. Just leave them at the default for now.

Next open "CueMix FX". This is where you can set the input and output levels of the unit. I actually mute the input I'm using in Logic so I don't hear it twice. Weird I know, but that's how it works.

Assuming you have it working in OS X, open up logic. Goto Preferences>Audio. Make sure MOTU Ultralite is chosen as your input and output device.

Just note that you won't hear an input until you arm that track for recording. (unless you don't mute the input with CueMix FX.)

Hope this helps, I still get confused with all the setting in CueFX and Logic.
LurchNC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2009, 08:30 PM   #3
Allerdyce
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by LurchNC View Post
Hi,
I have an older version of the Ultralite, but I hope I can help.

First off, is it working on OSX? Can you hear iTunes ect? If not go to System Preferences > Sound and choose it under "Output" and "Input". If you still don't hear it, you might have a driver issue. Technically speaking, you don't have to use the unit as your system sound device to use it in Logic. They can each use seperate devices.

When you plugged in the Ulralite, the "MOTU Audio Setup" app should have opened. It looks like a microphone. This where you set your sample rates ect. Just leave them at the default for now.

Next open "CueMix FX". This is where you can set the input and output levels of the unit. I actually mute the input I'm using in Logic so I don't hear it twice. Weird I know, but that's how it works.

Assuming you have it working in OS X, open up logic. Goto Preferences>Audio. Make sure MOTU Ultralite is chosen as your input and output device.

Just note that you won't hear an input until you arm that track for recording. (unless you don't mute the input with CueMix FX.)

Hope this helps, I still get confused with all the setting in CueFX and Logic.
_________________

i did what you said, but i don't think any of those were the problem, theres still no sound coming from the output, even though the signal is going through. There's also no sound coming from ultrabeat.
Allerdyce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2009, 07:49 PM   #4
LurchNC
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Sorry I couldn't help more. Have you tried the Unicorn Nation forums?

http://www.motunation.com/forum/
LurchNC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2009, 09:07 PM   #5
Allerdyce
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
some people at motunation told me to go to cuemix fx and take it off mute, which i did, still didn't help. i can still hear itunes, but ultrabeat, any recorded stuff, whatever won't come through as sound. Ultrabeat doesn't even run the drum machine when i go to it and test the drum machine. The signal is STILL COMING THROUGH! Just not as sound! any new recommendations from anyone?
Allerdyce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2009, 12:29 PM   #6
JhamCT
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I have the older Ultralite, and have had no problems w/ Logic.

Have you made sure to select the Ultralite in your Logic preferences as mentioned before?

I the CueMix console, have you mapped the output to main - 1/2, or headphones? It's a drop down option above the main output volume slider.

Have you tried with headphones? Do those have sound?
JhamCT is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Help!!!! New mba set up problem!!! Sugi209 MacBook Air 13 Feb 9, 2011 10:21 PM
Help with setting up RAID on my Mac Pro MikeFightNight Mac Pro 2 Sep 16, 2009 07:25 AM
Help with setting up Mac Mini to connection with iPhone 3G via Wi-Fi hauntedkop Mac Basics and Help 6 Jan 8, 2009 04:05 AM
Help with setting up TELUS and Airport Extreme!!! maccanuck2006 Mac Basics and Help 4 Aug 29, 2006 10:48 AM
help with setting up new external hard drive Okvalleyguy Buying Tips and Advice 3 Apr 25, 2006 01:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC