Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 3, 2009, 07:00 AM   #1
Freis968
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winter Park, Florida
Maps - Wrong Location

When I am sitting at home and I press the button from within maps to show my current location, it shows me as being about 10 miles from where I am sitting. The attached pic IS NOT where I reside! This seems to have started when I updated to 3.0 by the way.

Also, this same location shows up when I try the FIND MY IPHONE from within the MobileMe app.

Anyway to correct this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6001.PNG
Views:	47
Size:	293.0 KB
ID:	186337  
__________________
| iMac 27" i7 | iPad HD | iPhone 5 16GB | Time Capsule 2TB |

Last edited by Freis968; Aug 3, 2009 at 07:07 AM.
Freis968 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2009, 07:15 AM   #2
big samm
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
same here it shows me that am 2 or 3 blocks away...before i upgraded to 3.0.1 everything was fine ...now my phone is ruined...no gps ,the timestamps i have in my email are wrong the timestamps in im tweetie app is wrong even in the facebook app the timestamp is wrong ....i should of never upgraded to 3.0.1
ive upgraded from 2.0 to 3.0 and never a had any of these problems..now with 3.0.1 its multiple problems in one...im very fustrated!!
big samm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2009, 08:00 AM   #3
hazza.jockel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: in a swag
try driving around for a while with google maps open. When i first got my 3g it kept saying i was in Sydney when I was in Perth so i kept driving with it open and eventually it corrected it self.
__________________
"I don't regret this, but I both rue and lament it.!"
hazza.jockel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2009, 09:27 AM   #4
big samm
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazza.jockel View Post
try driving around for a while with google maps open. When i first got my 3g it kept saying i was in Sydney when I was in Perth so i kept driving with it open and eventually it corrected it self.
ive tried that already i even left it on the balconie for 30 min still nothing ....
big samm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2009, 10:04 PM   #5
Freis968
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winter Park, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazza.jockel View Post
try driving around for a while with google maps open. When i first got my 3g it kept saying i was in Sydney when I was in Perth so i kept driving with it open and eventually it corrected it self.
How long did you leave maps open for it to correct itself?
__________________
| iMac 27" i7 | iPad HD | iPhone 5 16GB | Time Capsule 2TB |
Freis968 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2009, 07:41 PM   #6
TLewis
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: left coast, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freis968 View Post
Anyway to correct this?
If you really are using the 1st-gen iPhone (I'm guessing this from your sig), probably not. The 1st-gen iPhone can only use cell tower triangulation and wifi locating to determine your position. If your location is off, I'd guess that you're running into one or more of the following:
  • Not enough cell towers "visible".
  • Cell towers from "far away" are "visible".
  • Your local wifi is not in the wifi database.
TLewis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2010, 01:33 AM   #7
Freis968
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winter Park, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLewis View Post
If you really are using the 1st-gen iPhone (I'm guessing this from your sig), probably not. The 1st-gen iPhone can only use cell tower triangulation and wifi locating to determine your position. If your location is off, I'd guess that you're running into one or more of the following:
  • Not enough cell towers "visible".
  • Cell towers from "far away" are "visible".
  • Your local wifi is not in the wifi database.
Yes, I am still using the 1G iPhone. BUT, that will all change come June, finally taking the plunge and upgrading...

Thanks for the explanation, I am sure one of those is causing my problem.
__________________
| iMac 27" i7 | iPad HD | iPhone 5 16GB | Time Capsule 2TB |
Freis968 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siri maps my address to the wrong location PecanEater iOS 5 and earlier 1 Nov 16, 2011 12:39 PM
iPod Touch "your location could not be determined" s0nginmyheart iPod touch 7 Nov 8, 2011 08:09 AM
Google Maps Should Have This Feature AppleTech22 iPad Apps 2 Mar 28, 2011 01:43 PM
Google Maps giving directions to wrong location? The Californian iPhone 8 Jul 28, 2009 06:07 PM
gps and maps are showing the wrong location...try this. Bentov iPhone 2 Jun 19, 2009 06:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC