Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 5, 2009, 10:56 AM   #1
icecreamed
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Time Capsule file transfer SUPER SLOW

purchased a Time Capsule today for use with my MBP
it is super super slow.. I can't believe it. How come there were so many good reviews on the Apple site?
I hooked it up via ethernet cable, NOT via wireless and it's as slow as this

right now it's showing 3.4mb and 17 000 hours

can someone PLEASE PLEASE HELP
icecreamed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2009, 11:45 AM   #2
kirreip
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by icecreamed View Post
purchased a Time Capsule today for use with my MBP
it is super super slow.. I can't believe it. How come there were so many good reviews on the Apple site?
I hooked it up via ethernet cable, NOT via wireless and it's as slow as this

right now it's showing 3.4mb and 17 000 hours

can someone PLEASE PLEASE HELP
Do you have a gigabit capable ethernet cable plugged in? Have a look at the "Network Utility". It is located at /Applications/Utilities/Network Utility.app

Does it say: 1 GBit/s ?

If not, you should get yourself a better cable. Look at good cat.6 ethernet cable to be sure.

Oh and: yes the time capsule is not very fast...
__________________
-MacPro octa 2.26 GHz, ATI HD 4870, 6GB, INTEL X25-M II 160GB
-MacBook Pro 15", Intel Core 2 Duo 2.33 GHz, 4GB, INTEL X25-M II 80GB
-Mac Mini G4, PowerPC 1.42Ghz, 512MB

Last edited by kirreip; Aug 5, 2009 at 11:47 AM. Reason: made a mistake
kirreip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2009, 07:41 PM   #3
icecreamed
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirreip View Post
Do you have a gigabit capable ethernet cable plugged in? Have a look at the "Network Utility". It is located at /Applications/Utilities/Network Utility.app

Does it say: 1 GBit/s ?

If not, you should get yourself a better cable. Look at good cat.6 ethernet cable to be sure.

Oh and: yes the time capsule is not very fast...
yup, it says 1Gbit..
I guess this is it then
I left it overnight, roughly 8 hours, and it got 3gb done only ......
icecreamed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2009, 09:22 PM   #4
rkdiddy
macrumors 65816
 
rkdiddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: OC Baby!
Quote:
Originally Posted by icecreamed View Post
yup, it says 1Gbit..
I guess this is it then
I left it overnight, roughly 8 hours, and it got 3gb done only ......
Something is wrong with your TC. I purchased a TC today and I'm backing up both a Mini and a MBP and it looks like 10+ gigs per hour (per machine).
__________________
Mini: rMBP 15" 2.6ghz i7/16/256GB | 2.5ghz i5/8/750GB
27" TB ACD | B&W MM-1 | 2TB TC | iPhone 5 | iPad 4G

advertising : design : marketing : print : social media : web - www.risencreative.com
rkdiddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2009, 09:23 PM   #5
rkdiddy
macrumors 65816
 
rkdiddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: OC Baby!
Oh sorry - one other thing.

MBP is connected via 5ghz wifi and Mini is via ethernet.
__________________
Mini: rMBP 15" 2.6ghz i7/16/256GB | 2.5ghz i5/8/750GB
27" TB ACD | B&W MM-1 | 2TB TC | iPhone 5 | iPad 4G

advertising : design : marketing : print : social media : web - www.risencreative.com
rkdiddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2009, 03:57 AM   #6
kirreip
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkdiddy View Post
Something is wrong with your TC. I purchased a TC today and I'm backing up both a Mini and a MBP and it looks like 10+ gigs per hour (per machine).
That would also be my guess. It is slow, but not that slow. Is it new? Bring it back then.
__________________
-MacPro octa 2.26 GHz, ATI HD 4870, 6GB, INTEL X25-M II 160GB
-MacBook Pro 15", Intel Core 2 Duo 2.33 GHz, 4GB, INTEL X25-M II 80GB
-Mac Mini G4, PowerPC 1.42Ghz, 512MB
kirreip is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why am I getting such a low Local Network file transfer speed? alexreich Mac Basics and Help 1 Apr 13, 2012 01:48 AM
Transfer Airport Extreme Settings to new Time Capsule? Silverstring Mac Peripherals 2 Sep 29, 2011 07:46 PM
Recover/Undelete a file stored on the Time Capsule Kueb Mac Peripherals 0 Nov 6, 2010 11:57 AM
Time Capsule wifi now super slow HaroldC Mac Peripherals 4 Sep 18, 2009 08:41 PM
Time capsule file transfer jayroc2k Mac Peripherals 1 Sep 2, 2009 12:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC