Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 11, 2009, 06:43 PM   #1
spook2517
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
M-Audio Fast Track USB isn't found by Mac?

First things first I am still new to Mac, so hopefully I have just overlooked something. I have an older M-Audio Fast Track USB that I used to use on my PC, and would now like to use on my Mac. I have installed Pro Tools properly, have my I-Lok inserted and the hardware is hooked up the same as it was before. I have downloaded the newest drivers from M-Audio. When trying to start the program I get an error message.

The exact error message is as follows...
Unable to locate M-Audio hardware. Make sure your hardware is connected and turned on.

Any ideas, thanks.
spook2517 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2009, 02:52 AM   #2
seisend
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Switzerland, ZG
Well, is your M-Audio Fast Track correctly connected? Do you see the power light from the interface? Maybe try different USB input on your Mac ? There are a lot Fast Track (Pro/Ultra/etc.?) drivers around, make sure you got the right one. Try reinstall or use another USB Cable.
__________________
- MP 2009, 8x 2.26 GHz, 24GB Ram, Vertex 3 120GB + 7.6TB HDD, nVidia 285 GTX, 2x 24" Screens
- MBP 15" 2011, 2.2 GHz, 8GB Ram, Vertex 3 120GB + 500GB HDD
Check out my music on www.seisendsix.com
seisend is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2009, 10:16 AM   #3
Fishrrman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
RE:
"The exact error message is as follows...
Unable to locate M-Audio hardware. Make sure your hardware is connected and turned on"

Just a couple of thoughts:

1. Launch Audio/MIDI setup (in your Utilities folder). Does it "see" the Fast Track? If not, check the popup menus to see if the Fast Track is available. Is it? If so, choose it, then go back to ProTools and see if the device now appears.

2. If the Fast Track isn't showing up in Audio/MIDI setup, choose to "Add a new device". The choice to add one will be up in your menu bar somewhere, depending on which version of Audio/MIDI Setup that you're using. You may even have to do this under the "MIDI" menu. Give that a try. Once this is done, again try to designate the Fast Track as your input/output device using the popup menus (see above).

3. If nothing else is working, I would suggest you try opening GarageBand and see if GB can see the Fast Track.

Again, just some thoughts....
- John
Fishrrman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2009, 11:47 AM   #4
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by spook2517 View Post
The exact error message is as follows...
Unable to locate M-Audio hardware. Make sure your hardware is connected and turned on.
Click the apple logo on the far upper left. Them select "about this mac". From there you can get to a list of all installed equipment. Expand the USB device to see the hub(s) and expend those to see what is plugged into each. Is your M-Audio device there?

The about this mac display works at a very low level that does not depend on hainb drivers or other software working. It will "see" even completely un-supported devices, anything that is physically connected.

So, if you don't see it there it is not connected. Check for a broken cable, broken power supply (wall wort cube) overloaded hub or whatever.

If it does show up in the hardware list then your problem is with the software. Try other software. the first software to try is the Apple's audio-midi setup

Also There was just a recently an upgrade to Mac OS X. M-Audio is slow to upgrade drivers the typically months behind Apple make sure yue driver matche the relese of Mac OS X
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 09:16 PM   #5
chillymadison
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
I had m audio fast track ultra issues with mountain lion aswell butt....

I found this long lost link to the legacy device and it is here!!!!

-love me okay?

http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=...drivers&f=1178

Once downloaded everything worked out perfectly, bye love you...
chillymadison is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2013, 01:21 PM   #6
PRPS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
M-Audio Fast Track USB isn't found by Mac?

I had the m audio fast track ultra that lasted almost a year and a half before dying. I switched to the apogee duet 2 and its been great
PRPS is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet Another Fast Track Pro audio issue Prodo123 Digital Audio 4 Sep 21, 2013 03:12 PM
How do I uninstall drivers for M Audio Fast Track micke1967 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Mar 1, 2013 09:12 AM
Garageband and M-Audio Fast Track USB music interface micke1967 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Feb 22, 2013 11:59 AM
Mac and M Audio Fast Track Pro ironsideo Mac Pro 3 Oct 3, 2012 12:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC