Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 14, 2009, 12:42 PM   #1
eimerej
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Bought an apple cinema display 20" off ebay and all i get is the "?" folder

Have an old g4 tower (Running Tiger) with a card that accepts ADC, bought an old 20" display with ADC connector and I cant seem to get it to work! All I get is the "?" folder and it doesnt go anywhere. Is there some sort of software that i might need before I can get it to work? Any other ideas? Hopefully its not a bad display...


EDIT: Problem solved, thanks folks

Last edited by eimerej; Aug 16, 2009 at 02:00 PM.
eimerej is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2009, 02:09 PM   #2
pmcb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
doesnt sound like a problem with the display...have you tried putting in your os x discs and booting off that?

doesn't the ? folder mean that you don't have os x installed?
__________________
13" uMBP, 2.26 GHz, 2 gb RAM 16gig iPhone 4 (4.3.1 JB)
pmcb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2009, 02:12 PM   #3
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Sounds like a bad hard drive. Try booting from your install disc and then run Disk Utility. You may need to re-install OS X
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2009, 02:16 PM   #4
eimerej
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Doesnt seem to be an os problem because I normally run the computer on an apple CRT, and it works just fine! I guess it may have been a fluke and I'll have to try it again tonight...
eimerej is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2009, 02:23 PM   #5
Darth.Titan
macrumors 68020
 
Darth.Titan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Yes actually it does seem to be an OS problem.
The new display turns on and displays the blinking question mark at boot, therefore the display is fine. Your computer apparently can't find the startup volume. Try holding down option at boot and see if your hard drive is displayed as a boot option.

This is not a display issue. It's merely a coincidence that it happened after you got the new display as far as I can tell.
Darth.Titan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2009, 02:26 PM   #6
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth.Titan View Post
Yes actually it does seem to be an OS problem.
The new display turns on and displays the blinking question mark at boot, therefore the display is fine. Your computer apparently can't find the startup volume. Try holding down option at boot and see if your hard drive is displayed as a boot option.

This is not a display issue. It's merely a coincidence that it happened after you got the new display as far as I can tell.
Agreed, it is definitely not a display problem. Perhaps put in your install disks and boot from them (Holding 'C' after the startup sound) and then checking Disk Utility to see what's up with the hard drive.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2009, 02:30 PM   #7
eimerej
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Ok, very strange coincidence then. After trying the lcd display, I replugged in my old vga crt this morning and it booted up no problem at all. Don't get offended i'm not trying to argue with you, I just want to know if there is any other possibility. I'm at work now but I will try what you suggested when I get home.
eimerej is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2009, 01:59 PM   #8
eimerej
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Just wanted to report back and say that I plugged the display back in and booted up with zero problems. Screen looks great so you guys were right, must have been some very strange coincidence. Thanks everyone
eimerej is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBA 11" daisy chain 30" + 27" mini display port cinema display sffa MacBook Air 1 Apr 24, 2014 02:39 AM
15" Retina MBP and 30" Apple cinema display markjones05 MacBook Pro 13 Mar 25, 2013 06:05 PM
Replace 2011 27" iMac with new 2012 13" MBP+Apple Cinema Display? Azzin MacBook Pro 4 Nov 28, 2012 07:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC