Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 17, 2009, 09:09 PM   #1
dbowlin17
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Unhappy powerbook g4 not letting me in

I just reinstalled Tiger on my PB G4 and started software updates. The first set of updates went flawlessly, and it rebooted. The second set of updates installed, and told me to reboot. I then did that, but it went to a login screen, which didn't occur the first time, and asked for my username and password. I have no password, so I typed in my username, and that didn't work. I then tried the name of my folder on my hard drive, but that didn't work either. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated, unless your advice is to dump it for an intel mac. (that advice is greatly appreciated if you will pay for it though... )
__________________
13" MacBook Pro (mid 2012), 2.9 GHz i7, 8 GB RAM, 750 GB HDD
dbowlin17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2009, 09:15 PM   #2
NC MacGuy
macrumors 603
 
NC MacGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The good side of the grass.
If you put the Tiger CD back in and reboot from it, there should be an option to change password in the menu bar.
__________________
member #47,418
NC MacGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2009, 09:30 PM   #3
killerrobot
macrumors 68020
 
killerrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
That's happened to me before on reinstalls. The easiest way is to boot off the disk then use utilities to reset the original administrator's password.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1274
Sometimes that doesn't work so you have to either log in as root and create a new admin user and delete the new "computer provided admin" or you have to do a fresh install. No archive and install.

Best of luck.
__________________
Another day older and deeper in debt.

Last edited by killerrobot; Aug 17, 2009 at 09:44 PM. Reason: grammar
killerrobot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2009, 11:04 PM   #4
dbowlin17
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Thanks for the suggestions, but i am curious how changing the password, when i have none will make a difference...
__________________
13" MacBook Pro (mid 2012), 2.9 GHz i7, 8 GB RAM, 750 GB HDD
dbowlin17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2009, 09:44 AM   #5
killerrobot
macrumors 68020
 
killerrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbowlin17 View Post
Thanks for the suggestions, but i am curious how changing the password, when i have none will make a difference...
The computer disagrees, which is why you need to reset the password.
As I said before, the same thing has happened to me a couple of times - a mistake in the users happens and it creates a passworded account.
__________________
Another day older and deeper in debt.
killerrobot is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iBook G3 is not letting me log in josbell2515 PowerPC Macs 9 May 3, 2014 04:28 PM
Twitter not letting me log in nickharris1992 iOS 7 0 Aug 1, 2013 04:20 PM
Apple is letting us jailbreak bonskovsky Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 25 Feb 14, 2013 04:46 AM
6.0.1 not letting me see logs anymore? Schtibbie iOS 6 8 Nov 17, 2012 08:19 PM
anybody letting Apple do the RAM install? flatfoot99 Mac mini 45 Oct 29, 2012 09:45 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC