Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 18, 2009, 05:50 AM   #1
BryanLyle
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Microsoft LifeCam Cinema 720p

I wonder if this will work in OS X. Looks pretty nice.

http://gizmodo.com/5339609/coming-so...-cinema-webcam
__________________
follow me on twitter: @bryanlyle
BryanLyle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2009, 06:58 AM   #2
voltron1124
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Heres one for Mac

Try out the new aGent V5. I bought one the other week and it records in FULL HD 1600x1200 (as well as the smaller res of the Lifecam 2180x720) on my Mac. The webcam is from Liquid Digital.
voltron1124 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 10:35 AM   #3
Daphoid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
1600x1200 is a 4:3 aspect ratio and not HD.

2180x720 is not either

1280x720
1920x1080

are the standard HD resolutions as they support an aspect ratio of 16:9.

- D
Daphoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2009, 06:15 PM   #4
macgizmoguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MN, USA
LifeCam Cinema

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanLyle View Post
I wonder if...(the LifeCam Cinema HD).. will work in OS X. Looks pretty nice.
I've been scouring for info on whether the LifeCam Cinema is driverless - UVC compliant - on OSX for my mac webcam site. Still haven't found a definitive answer - short of buying one and trying it. It's a shame web cam manufacturers aren't adopting the UVC standard across the board, would make life easier for Mac mini, Mac Pro tower, Early iMac and Mac mini owners.

Its important to note really hi-res webcams: 1. Need a TON of CPU power to pump out frames that fast. And more importantly; 2. The majority of Mac video capture and video chat/messenger programs (including Photobooth) CAN'T capture or transmit video at higher than 640x480 anyways!

And home DSL and Cable connections can't send true HD video frame-rates either! So a cam like the Cinema HD is overkill for the average user. A sharp 1.3mp webcam will give most folks good frame rates with the majority of chat programs out there.
__________________
Worn-Out AL MacBook w/OCZ Agility2 SSD, 8gb iPod Touch that I'm sick of having to tap-tap-touch endlessly.
MacGizmoGuy
macgizmoguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2009, 04:59 AM   #5
Bbusyb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Notts, UK / Alex, Egypt
I Believe Leo Laport did try it out on TWIT Live and compare it to the Logitech 9000 on both Windows and Mac.

You can see the comparison test video at the following link

http://odtv.me/2009/09/webcam-faceoff/

From what I remember, it was detected correctly on OSX, but some of the advanced options which are only available through the Software did not work.
__________________
13" Macbook Pro 2.53Ghz, 4GB Ram, 500 GB HD
12" Dell XPS M1210 2.0 Ghz, 3GB Ram, 500Gb HD
16GB Jailbroken iPhone 3G
Bbusyb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 06:34 PM   #6
nbkGh0stly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Lifecam Works

Just plugged in my Lifecam HD on my OSX86 box I just built running 10.5.7 and it recognizes it with no problem. Tested it in iChat. A little laggy but isn't that because iChat has a framerate limit?
nbkGh0stly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2009, 05:50 AM   #7
Makosuke
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Cool Part of CA, USA
I bought one of these to try for my dad, because all the stats looked good on paper, and it was pretty cheap. It physically looks nice and does work, but I ended up returning it.

The Mac (10.6.2) had no trouble recognizing it, and indeed was quite happy to display/record video at the full 1280x720 resolution. However, neither the autofocus nor any brightness adjustment works--those are apparently controlled by a computer-side driver, not automatically by the camera. Since there's no Mac driver (apart from the basic universal camera support), you don't get these features.

I wasn't particularly surprised by this, but it made it nearly unusable--in regular indoor artificial lighting at roughly arm's length or so from the screen it looked acceptable, but if the light was any brighter it gets horribly washed out, to the point it's pretty much unusable if the sun is out and the blinds are open. I've seen the same thing happen on cameras on Windows if you don't install the driver (heck, some older ones can't be adjusted at all, and are pretty much useless in bright light).

I also wasn't particularly impressed by the quality--though it put out a hi-def image, the actual quality was mediocre. Again, not terribly surprising given the price, but I was unimpressed. It also seemed a little laggy at the hi-def resolution, though this may have been the Mac software's fault, not the camera's. It seemed normal at a standard-def resolution.

I suppose if you only ever intended to use the camera at night and didn't care about autofocus it wouldn't be a bad choice, but you could probably get similar quality and (lack of) features for less money were that the case.

Me, I returned it and ended up buying a Logitech QuickCam Vision Pro for Mac--unlike the MS camera (and the cheaper Logitech Pro 9000) it does the brightness adjustment and autofocus automatically in hardware, so it fully supports these features on the Mac and without any additional software. It's not widescreen (or hi-def), and I don't think it's as attractive as the MS camera, but it works very well, and I'd say the image quality is somewhat higher, too, so I'm happy with it. Cost somewhere around $80 after rebate, which isn't all that much more than the MS cam or Logitech 9000.

Gotta say I like the manual that came with the Logitech camera--it essentially says "Plug it in and you're done."
Makosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 11:28 AM   #8
Moldarin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
iGlasses?

Can the focus and brightness be adjusted using something like iGlasses?
Moldarin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2010, 01:30 PM   #9
Charlton
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
iGlasses makes no difference. I was hoping macam would come out with something but nothing yet. The camera is completely unusable on a Mac in my humble opinion.
Charlton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2010, 12:57 AM   #10
Moldarin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I bought the camera. What a big mistake to get a non-4:3-ratio camera! All of Apple’s applications such as iChat and Photo Booth are hardcoded for 4:3 so everything look stretched. The only application that handled the widescreen ratio was QuickTime X

Got it cheap, though …
Moldarin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2010, 01:43 PM   #11
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
I currently have a Mac Mini and I'm also in the market for a webcam, what would you guys recommend? Maybe Logitech Quickcam 9000 Pro?
HiDEF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 03:51 PM   #12
b_scott
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldarin View Post
I bought the camera. What a big mistake to get a non-4:3-ratio camera! All of Apple’s applications such as iChat and Photo Booth are hardcoded for 4:3 so everything look stretched. The only application that handled the widescreen ratio was QuickTime X

Got it cheap, though …
did you try using it for Skype?
b_scott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2010, 06:59 PM   #13
Joe323
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldarin View Post
I bought the camera. What a big mistake to get a non-4:3-ratio camera! All of Apple’s applications such as iChat and Photo Booth are hardcoded for 4:3 so everything look stretched. The only application that handled the widescreen ratio was QuickTime X

Got it cheap, though …
So I shouldn't bother spending extra money and getting an HD webcam since I plan on using it only for iChat and Skype?
Joe323 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 05:06 AM   #14
drtanz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
still no drivers for this camera?
drtanz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft LifeCam HD way overexposed! Concorde Rules Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 5 Dec 6, 2012 10:40 AM
2011 Cinema Displays -BigMac- Mac Peripherals 40 Jul 14, 2011 05:21 AM
Microsoft LifeCam VX-3000 76ShovelHead OS X 0 Mar 30, 2011 02:49 AM
Microsoft LifeCam VX-1000, will it run on my Mac? AJKing Mac Peripherals 1 Feb 2, 2009 05:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC