|
|
| Welcome to the Mac Forums forums. Please read the FAQ if you have questions. Register to participate. |
|
|||||||
| TouchArcade.com - iPhone Game Reviews and News |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
#1 |
|
macrumors newbie
Join Date: Aug 2009
|
Antivrus /malware in Snow Leopard?
Hi
Yesterday I googled for reviews of the new Playstation 3 Slim and came across a site, which looked like having a video-review. But clicking on the player a “QuickTimeUpdate.dmg” started downloading and mounted automatically. Suddenly the following warning appeared: “install.pkg” will damage your computer. You should move it to the Trash. “install.pkg” is on the disk image “QuickTimeUpdate.dmg”. Safari downloaded this disk image today at 23.25 from redrocktube.com. It contains the “OSX.RSPlug.A” malware. I booted into Leo and tried the same procedure and got NO warning. Scanning the .dmg with ClamXav I got a warning. So what I am basically trying to say is: 1: I wasn't aware that SL has built in some kind of Antivirus/malware. Were you? 2: Take care - don't feel too secure running a Mac (I still hear lots of people telling lots of other people that there is no reason to fear malware on the Mac platform......) Others say that the only way to get infected on a Mac is if you install the malware yourself (hence you are stupid) - but that is the whole point in trojans: You think that you are installing something useful, but... For my part, I was sceptical about the download, because QT updates doesn't work that way, but had it been named e.g. "videocodec.dmg" I am not sure that I wouldn't have installed it.... Hopefully ClamXav would have caught it! |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
macrumors Demi-God
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Margaritaville
|
Turn off "Open Safe files after downloading ..." in Safari, and it won't be a problem.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
macrumors 6502
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
|
Interesting.
Would be nice if SL had this added protection. Was it a system warning or Safari? Are you running the same version on Leopard (4.0.3?)
__________________
Nehalem Mac Pro Quad 2.93 w/ATi 4870, LED Cinema Display & Mac mini C2D 1.83
|
|
|
|
| RemarkabLee |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by RemarkabLee |
|
|
#4 |
|
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
Join Date: Aug 2009
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 | |
|
macrumors Demi-God
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Margaritaville
|
Quote:
In Leopard: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
Join Date: Aug 2009
|
[quote=Would be nice if SL had this added protection. Was it a system warning or Safari? Are you running the same version on Leopard (4.0.3?)[/QUOTE]
Same version, 4.0.3 I think it was a system warning, because it appeared after mounting the .dmg. I didn't launch the .pkg so it seems that SL scans .dmgs on mount. |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
macrumors Demi-God
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Margaritaville
|
Can anyone else running SL confirm this?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
macrumors 6502
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
|
Perhaps it scans the 'downloaded from' location and compared it to a blacklist, either as part of the system or an online database. Would be a nicer alternative to a traditional daemon that scans all file activity - yeuch!
__________________
Nehalem Mac Pro Quad 2.93 w/ATi 4870, LED Cinema Display & Mac mini C2D 1.83
|
|
|
|
| RemarkabLee |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by RemarkabLee |
|
|
#9 | |
|
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
Join Date: Aug 2009
|
Quote:
1. You were launching an app - I wasn't 2. "My" warning also points out the exact malware (later confirmed by ClamXav) I could post the link so you could try for yourself, but I don't want to because of the risk... But read my 1.st post, and do a bit of googling then you can find it. BUT BEWARE!!!! This is a LIVE TROJAN
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 | |
|
macrumors Demi-God
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Margaritaville
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Contributor
|
yes it has the same thing, will post screen shot soon
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
macrumors 65816
Join Date: Sep 2006
|
You have to wonder what possesses apple to think forcefully downloading files whether you want them or not is a good feature for Safari, and then opening them by default...(PDF's and certain image formats are NOT "safe" files, same with quicktime) Its like theyre stuck in 1995 where people think the internet is safe and all downloads are useful. Not only is it extremely annoying, its just outright stupid.
|
|
|
|
| stainlessliquid |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by stainlessliquid |
|
|
#13 |
|
macrumors 601
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
|
I'm having a really difficult time trying to figure out what you are getting at. Everyone with the sense God gave red brick knows that MacOS X system software comes exclusively from Apple and no one else. QuickTime is MacOS X system software. It is available nowhere except Apple. New releases are available exclusively through Apple's website. Updates are available via Software Update or via download from Apple's website. Unless you are dumber than a bag of hammers, there is no way to fool anyone into downloading malware that pretends to be QuickTime.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be For loan oft loses both itself and friend William Shakespeare from Hamlet |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
macrumors Demi-God
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, CA | Metairie, LA | San Pedro Sula, Honduras
|
This is really In-te-resting..... to say the least. Snow Leopard is actually scanning your files before mounting, just in case.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
macrumors newbie
Join Date: Aug 2006
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#16 |
|
macrumors newbie
Join Date: Aug 2009
|
Please provide the link to the page where the virus-ridden package is.
I promise to use these powers only for good -- or for awesome. |
|
|
|
| haineuxApple |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by haineuxApple |
|
|
#17 | |
|
macrumors 601
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: /Aussieland/home
|
here is a link i found to test the anti malware protection in Snow Leopard (ive left it unlinkable on purpose to protect unsuspecting downloads)
fishwildlife.org/lurd.php?sodini+blog WARNING: This URL contains malware and if installed will infect your Mac. when the disk image is mounted (may mount automatically when downloaded if you have this set in Safari) and the installer package is opened this message appears ![]() here is the help document that opens once you click the purple help button Quote:
__________________
♫Gee Officer Krupke, krup you!♫ 15" MacBook Pro Core Duo 2 GHz, 2 GB, 250 GB 7200.4; 23" Cinema Display; Snow Leopard Core i5 2.66 GHz, 4GB, 1.5 TB, 4870 1GB Nokia E63 |
|
|
|
|
| richthomas |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by richthomas |
|
|
#18 |
|
macrumors 6502
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Valley!!
|
dam thats a nifty feature
__________________
Collector's Edition Aluminum Macbook 2.4Ghz 2gb Ram 250GB HDD
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|