Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 21, 2009, 04:08 PM   #1
TheBritishBloke
macrumors 68030
 
TheBritishBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quicktime Pro - Offering two platforms for a keycode - Stealing?

Anyone else think that offering two platforms of Quicktime Pro product keys are stealing?

They refused to transfer my keycode from windows to mac, how can it be platform specific? Its a flippin license key.

Before you say "It says on their site its platform specific" surely we shouldn't be forced to shell out another 20 just to change what platform we can use the product key on, when we've already legally paid for a license for the software.
TheBritishBloke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2009, 04:12 PM   #2
devburke
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelKelly View Post
Anyone else think that offering two platforms of Quicktime Pro product keys are stealing?

They refused to transfer my keycode from windows to mac, how can it be platform specific? Its a flippin license key.
Cuz it's a license key to different software?

I've heard of people who could supposedly get Apple to switch it, but I suppose they'd have to have some way of deactivating the Windows QTP first, otherwise you're just getting 2 QTPs for the price of 1.
devburke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2009, 04:18 PM   #3
TheBritishBloke
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
TheBritishBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by devburke View Post
Cuz it's a license key to different software
But it's not different software, it's Quicktime Pro, just on a different platform. It's not like Windows 7, Mac version isn't superior to windows or vice versa.
TheBritishBloke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2009, 04:37 PM   #4
devburke
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelKelly View Post
But it's not different software, it's Quicktime Pro, just on a different platform. It's not like Windows 7, Mac version isn't superior to windows or vice versa.
But in a way it is different. QTP for Windows and QTP for OS X. They're used in two different OSes, even though a license key only covers one installation. So how could a license key cover both?

I'm not taking their side either, I'm just trying to get their point of view. It seems like if they did, in fact, have some way of disabling the Windows version, I could see the argument for the Mac version using the same license key.

But ultimately, although I think it would be nice of them to do, calling not doing it stealing is a stretch. Would you expect MS to let you run Office on OS X with no additional cost if you bought it for Windows?
devburke is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A friend is offering me their macbook pro 13-inch, Mid 2012, is this a decent price? Swagged MacBook Pro 4 Feb 12, 2014 12:20 AM
Best Buy Offering Free Apple TV with 15-Inch Retina MacBook Pro Purchase MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 33 Aug 5, 2013 10:23 AM
OS X: COD4 Mac Help! Keycode! JamesK6 Mac and PC Games 7 Jul 31, 2013 10:58 AM
Confused about Quicktime 10 and Quicktime Pro Felasco Mac Applications and Mac App Store 10 Oct 23, 2012 04:34 PM
Google Announces New 3D Features for Google Earth, Is "Committed to Offering" Google Maps on 'All Platforms' MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 258 Jun 28, 2012 03:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC