Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 23, 2009, 06:17 PM   #1
MacFanUK
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
How well does Windows 7 run?

I have now got my full retail version of Windows 7 and I am wondering how well will it run on a 2.26GHz Macbook Pro?

I don't really want to install it and activate it without knowing it will run perfectly so anyone used the RC of Windows 7 that could tell me what it runs like?

Thanks
MacFanUK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 06:36 PM   #2
Stridder44
macrumors 68040
 
Stridder44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Terrible. It's slow and bloated. Windows 98 is far less bloated than it or even XP. I tried installing it once and it crashed my computer and fried my motherboard. My friend actually died from installing it.
__________________
iPhone 6 128GB
MacBook Pro 2.53GHz/120GB SSD/750GB HDD/4GB RAM
iMac G4 800MHz/80GB HDD/512MB RAM
Stridder44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 06:37 PM   #3
Bill Gates
macrumors 68020
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Windows 7 Professional x86_64 runs great on my 2.66GHz MacBook Pro. I have had no issues to speak of.
__________________
Mid-2010 15" MacBook Pro / 2.66GHz / 8GB RAM / 240GB SSD
64GB iPhone 6 Minus
Bill Gates is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 06:44 PM   #4
MacFanUK
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stridder44 View Post
Terrible. It's slow and bloated. Windows 98 is far less bloated than it or even XP. I tried installing it once and it crashed my computer and fried my motherboard. My friend actually died from installing it.
My sarcasm radar is going nuts!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Gates View Post
Windows 7 Professional x86_64 runs great on my 2.66GHz MacBook Pro. I have had no issues to speak of.
Thanks. Shouldn't be too different on the 2.26GHz then.

Last edited by SilentPanda; Aug 23, 2009 at 08:43 PM. Reason: post merge
MacFanUK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 06:47 PM   #5
xparaparafreakx
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to xparaparafreakx Send a message via MSN to xparaparafreakx Send a message via Yahoo to xparaparafreakx Send a message via Skype™ to xparaparafreakx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stridder44 View Post
Terrible. It's slow and bloated. Windows 98 is far less bloated than it or even XP. I tried installing it once and it crashed my computer and fried my motherboard. My friend actually died from installing it.
This is the biggest BS I heard. Installing an OS does not kill your motherboard. Windows 7 is great.
xparaparafreakx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 07:03 PM   #6
Stridder44
macrumors 68040
 
Stridder44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by xparaparafreakx View Post
This is the biggest BS I heard. Installing an OS does not kill your motherboard. Windows 7 is great.
http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/sarcasm

Come on, the "my friend died" thing didn't give it away?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFanUK View Post
My sarcasm radar is going nuts!
Haha good I'm glad you got it. Windows 7 is the best OS Microsoft has made so far. Even in it's unreleased state, it's still better than XP or Vista. Very fast and stable. You'll love it.
__________________
iPhone 6 128GB
MacBook Pro 2.53GHz/120GB SSD/750GB HDD/4GB RAM
iMac G4 800MHz/80GB HDD/512MB RAM
Stridder44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 07:05 PM   #7
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFanUK View Post
I have now got my full retail version of Windows 7 and I am wondering how well will it run on a 2.26GHz Macbook Pro?
retail? what? or the beta?
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 07:09 PM   #8
MacFanUK
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
retail? what? or the beta?
Retail. I am an IT student at uni and we get MSDN membership. The retail version has already been released to MSDN members.
MacFanUK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 08:28 PM   #9
dmbfan41
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
what build number is the retail? 7600?

windows 7 runs great, but i can't get my wireless broadband dangle to work with it.
dmbfan41 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 08:28 PM   #10
techmonkey
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
For those who installed Win 7 Pro 64bit, did you have to do anything different to install it? I just downloaded the ISO from my schools MSDN site.

1. Install Boot Camp in OSX
2. Reboot computer with Win7 DVD in drive.
3. Format Win7 partition
4. Install Win7
5. Reboot and choose your OS.

Is there anything else to do? Does Win7 have all the drivers for the hardware?
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.2GHz SR
4GB-RAM,120GB-HDD,128MB NVIDIA 8600M GT
techmonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 09:00 PM   #11
xparaparafreakx
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to xparaparafreakx Send a message via MSN to xparaparafreakx Send a message via Yahoo to xparaparafreakx Send a message via Skype™ to xparaparafreakx
Quote:
Originally Posted by techmonkey View Post
For those who installed Win 7 Pro 64bit, did you have to do anything different to install it? I just downloaded the ISO from my schools MSDN site.

1. Install Boot Camp in OSX
2. Reboot computer with Win7 DVD in drive.
3. Format Win7 partition
4. Install Win7
5. Reboot and choose your OS.

Is there anything else to do? Does Win7 have all the drivers for the hardware?
When you do the update through windows, you might get most of the drivers. Get them through bootcamp. Also download the drivers form Nvidia.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stridder44 View Post
http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/sarcasm

Come on, the "my friend died" thing didn't give it away?
Well usually yes I would think Sarcasm. However this is Macrumors. Mac people say the most craziest things about PCs.
xparaparafreakx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 10:06 PM   #12
Winstonp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston
Send a message via AIM to Winstonp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stridder44 View Post
Terrible. It's slow and bloated. Windows 98 is far less bloated than it or even XP. I tried installing it once and it crashed my computer and fried my motherboard. My friend actually died from installing it.
If you were talking about Windows ME, I'd completely believe you.
__________________
iPod Shuffle 1GB
Lenovo X230 Tablet
Droid Razr
Winstonp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 10:23 PM   #13
NoSmokingBandit
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stridder44 View Post
Terrible. It's slow and bloated. Windows 98 is far less bloated than it or even XP. I tried installing it once and it crashed my computer and fried my motherboard. My friend actually died from installing it.
Dude. I installed 7 on my desktop and it made my power supply explode and kill my cat. I called MS tech support and they just told me to reboot
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 10:26 PM   #14
Beric
macrumors 68020
 
Beric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bay Area
I've got it running on my Macbook. The only thing to be aware of is that it does run significantly hotter than OS X, and that battery life is less.
__________________
HP Envy 14: Intel i5 450m | 4GB DDR3 | ATI 5650 | 14.5" 1600x900 | Win 7
Core i7 Rig: Intel i7 720 2.66GHz | 6GB DDR3 | EVGA GTX 465 | 24" 1920x1200 | Win 7
iPt 3G
iPod touch 4G 64GB
Beric is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 10:33 PM   #15
techmonkey
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSmokingBandit View Post
Dude. I installed 7 on my desktop and it made my power supply explode and kill my cat. I called MS tech support and they just told me to reboot
Reboot?? I thought a wipe & reinstall would fix the psu and bring your cat back to life...
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.2GHz SR
4GB-RAM,120GB-HDD,128MB NVIDIA 8600M GT
techmonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2009, 10:33 PM   #16
techmonkey
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beric View Post
I've got it running on my Macbook. The only thing to be aware of is that it does run significantly hotter than OS X, and that battery life is less.
How much less?
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.2GHz SR
4GB-RAM,120GB-HDD,128MB NVIDIA 8600M GT
techmonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2009, 01:51 AM   #17
Beric
macrumors 68020
 
Beric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by techmonkey View Post
How much less?
For me at least, it's a good 33% less. I can't say this is true for every Macbook out there, but even with undervolting, which really reduces heat and power consumption, it's pretty bad.
__________________
HP Envy 14: Intel i5 450m | 4GB DDR3 | ATI 5650 | 14.5" 1600x900 | Win 7
Core i7 Rig: Intel i7 720 2.66GHz | 6GB DDR3 | EVGA GTX 465 | 24" 1920x1200 | Win 7
iPt 3G
iPod touch 4G 64GB
Beric is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2009, 04:30 AM   #18
Stridder44
macrumors 68040
 
Stridder44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by xparaparafreakx View Post
Well usually yes I would think Sarcasm. However this is Macrumors. Mac people say the most craziest things about PCs.
I will DEFINITELY give you that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by techmonkey View Post
For those who installed Win 7 Pro 64bit, did you have to do anything different to install it? I just downloaded the ISO from my schools MSDN site.

1. Install Boot Camp in OSX
2. Reboot computer with Win7 DVD in drive.
3. Format Win7 partition
4. Install Win7
5. Reboot and choose your OS.

Is there anything else to do? Does Win7 have all the drivers for the hardware?
1. Sounds good.
2. Yup.
3. Yup again.
4. No! (just kidding, of course yes).
5. Here's where the fun begins...

Put your Leopard DVD in and install the Boot Camp drivers. Then get the Boot Camp 2.1 update (64-bit here, 32-bit here. Yeah, it says Vista I know but they work fine in 7). Install that. Then get the latest Nvidia driver from the official Nvidia site. Then run Windows Update. Windows Update will find anything the Boot Camp drivers missed and/or is out of date.
__________________
iPhone 6 128GB
MacBook Pro 2.53GHz/120GB SSD/750GB HDD/4GB RAM
iMac G4 800MHz/80GB HDD/512MB RAM

Last edited by Stridder44; Aug 24, 2009 at 04:35 AM.
Stridder44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2009, 04:31 AM   #19
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beric View Post
For me at least, it's a good 33% less. I can't say this is true for every Macbook out there, but even with undervolting, which really reduces heat and power consumption, it's pretty bad.
Which Macbook is this? And do you get the CPU whine? I installed 7 back in May (I think) and have been using it ever since (used to use XP). Everything runs really well, except my Macbook (early '06 model) now has an audible CPU whine which it never had with XP. A bit annoying, esp in quiet environs.
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2009, 09:01 PM   #20
Ozy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Goodyear, AZ
I can't get the release Windows 7 DVD x64 to boot properly on my 17MBP. I get the "Select Boot Type" with both choices 1 and 2 empty. How are you guys getting it to install?
Ozy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2009, 01:55 AM   #21
Angsty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I've been running Windows 7 RC7100 (32 bit) on my MBA without a problem since May this year. In fact, I have only had one "crash" of the win OS since then so my experiences are that it is very reliable.

Pity about the price tag *sigh* Back to XP I go when the RC expires...

Ang

Last edited by Angsty; Aug 25, 2009 at 01:56 AM. Reason: typo & added 32 bit info
Angsty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2009, 02:29 AM   #22
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angsty View Post
I've been running Windows 7 RC7100 (32 bit) on my MBA without a problem since May this year. In fact, I have only had one "crash" of the win OS since then so my experiences are that it is very reliable.

Pity about the price tag *sigh* Back to XP I go when the RC expires...

Ang
The price? There was a special back in July for $50 for the Win 7 Home Premium Upgrade and $100 for Pro upgrade. Now it's back to ~$100 for the Home Premium Upgrade. That's too much?
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2009, 10:44 AM   #23
techmonkey
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angsty View Post
I've been running Windows 7 RC7100 (32 bit) on my MBA without a problem since May this year. In fact, I have only had one "crash" of the win OS since then so my experiences are that it is very reliable.

Pity about the price tag *sigh* Back to XP I go when the RC expires...

Ang
If you didn't get it for $50 back in June, its still worth the $119.

Win 7 > OSX > XP > Win98 > Win95 (nope Vista isnt on that list)

flame shield on...
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.2GHz SR
4GB-RAM,120GB-HDD,128MB NVIDIA 8600M GT
techmonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2009, 11:51 AM   #24
spencers
macrumors 68020
 
spencers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Installed RTM and promptly removed it and stuck with XP.
It wouldn't recognize bluetooth on my original alu imac 20" 2.0ghz. I tried so many things to get it to work. Bootcamp drivers might have killed it.
I need bluetooth for my wireless kb&m.
spencers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2009, 12:28 PM   #25
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by spencers View Post
Installed RTM and promptly removed it and stuck with XP.
It wouldn't recognize bluetooth on my original alu imac 20" 2.0ghz. I tried so many things to get it to work. Bootcamp drivers might have killed it.
I need bluetooth for my wireless kb&m.
I think you'd need a USB keyboard to load the Blue Tooth drivers. Once in, you'd be OK. (IIRC, I stumbled across this somewhere in the forum).
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 8.1 run better than Mavericks Omarsoso MacBook Pro 58 Mar 18, 2014 09:09 AM
Best Way to Run Windows 7 HeatherA Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 13 May 22, 2013 07:59 PM
Best way to run windows FamiliaPhoto Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 18 Nov 11, 2012 08:42 PM
how can i run windows on my mac,thanks. maddog91 MacBook Air 19 Aug 16, 2012 05:30 PM
Run Windows from USB 3 or TB? OSMac MacBook Pro 0 Jun 21, 2012 05:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC