Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 28, 2009, 09:52 PM   #1
groundstrike
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Snow Leopard Firewall: PS3 Media Server

When I start PS3 Media Server I see the "Allow, Deny" Incoming Connections box pop up for a fraction of a second and then disappear...never giving me the chance. Even moving to the Beta version this didn't work. I couldn't get it to see my PS3 on the network even though PS3 Media Server is listed to allow connections under the Firewall.

I turn off the firewall and it all works great. So I am thinking that the problem is getting the Firewall settings to be saved (even though it's always listed as allow incoming) or that the Java networking engine is a separate rule that needs to be allowed. Comments? Advice?

Thanks

edit: made more concise
__________________
MBP C2D 2.33 2GB RAM X1600
Mac Pro 2-2.8Ghz Xeon 2GB RAM 8800GT

Last edited by groundstrike; Aug 29, 2009 at 12:05 PM. Reason: misunderstanding
groundstrike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2009, 11:26 AM   #2
klazterp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by groundstrike View Post
When I start PS3 Media Server I see the "Allow, Deny" Incoming Connections box pop up for a fraction of a second and then disappear...never giving me the chance. Even moving to the Beta version this didn't work. I couldn't get it to see my PS3 on the network even though PS3 Media Server is listed to allow connections under the Firewall.

I turn off the firewall and it all works great. So I am thinking that the problem is getting the Firewall settings to be saved (even though it's always listed as allow incoming) or that the Java networking engine is a separate rule that needs to be allowed. Comments? Advice?

Thanks

edit: fixed tl;dr
I've got the same problem, but haven't figured out how to fix it yet.
Edit: also figures out turning off the firewall would do the trick, but that's not a longterm solution.

Last edited by klazterp; Aug 29, 2009 at 12:31 PM.
klazterp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2009, 12:36 PM   #3
groundstrike
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by klazterp View Post
I've got the same problem, but haven't figured out how to fix it yet.
Could you explain how you did it?
Sorry, by "fixed tl'dr" I meant that I made the post more concise. However, here is my progress so far.

Turning off the Firewall: Works perfect, but I want the firewall on!
Adding PS3 Media Server to the Firewall allow: Does not work.
Also added java to the firewall allow: Does not work.

I dont see a way to add anything else pertinent through the Firewall interface. I am pretty sure that the problem is this new Firewall requires very precise instructions as to what is allowed.

I am going to look at alternatives like configuring ipfw with WaterRoof or NoobProof, but their support under 10.6 is uncertain.
__________________
MBP C2D 2.33 2GB RAM X1600
Mac Pro 2-2.8Ghz Xeon 2GB RAM 8800GT
groundstrike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2009, 04:30 PM   #4
klazterp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by groundstrike View Post
Sorry, by "fixed tl'dr" I meant that I made the post more concise. However, here is my progress so far.

Turning off the Firewall: Works perfect, but I want the firewall on!
Adding PS3 Media Server to the Firewall allow: Does not work.
Also added java to the firewall allow: Does not work.

I dont see a way to add anything else pertinent through the Firewall interface. I am pretty sure that the problem is this new Firewall requires very precise instructions as to what is allowed.

I am going to look at alternatives like configuring ipfw with WaterRoof or NoobProof, but their support under 10.6 is uncertain.
They are looking at in over here as well: http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/view...3fba&start=250
Seems Java related, but I'm no technie.
klazterp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 02:51 PM   #5
abarna21
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
The same thing happened to me too.
I had to restart my macbook holding the shift key pressed in order to be able to see the ps3 in "ps3 media server"
After playing with it for a while i realized that i have to force the ip of the server in the config tab and it's working fine now.
Let me know if this helps
good luck
__________________
24'' iMac, '09 Unibody MacBook, 8GB Black Iphone
16 GB White Iphone
abarna21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 03:08 PM   #6
tjsears
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
works fine..

Mine works perfectly with SL and PS3 Media Server. I have a Macbook Pro (3,1). Try to give a static IP and enable port fowarding on your airport.
tjsears is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 05:17 PM   #7
groundstrike
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by abarna21 View Post
...i have to force the ip of the server in the config tab
Force it to what? The same IP as your Machine? The IP of the PS3? An IP totally different from any of those?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjsears View Post
Mine works perfectly with SL and PS3 Media Server. I have a Macbook Pro (3,1). Try to give a static IP and enable port fowarding on your airport.
Everything is static on my network. Port Forwarding is for connections outside of your network; everything I'm doing is behind the router.

The connection is blocked at the OS X Firewall:

8/30/09 5:05:31 PM Firewall[558] Deny JavaApplicationS connecting from 10.10.1.5:55792 to port 5001 proto=6
__________________
MBP C2D 2.33 2GB RAM X1600
Mac Pro 2-2.8Ghz Xeon 2GB RAM 8800GT
groundstrike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 08:51 PM   #8
abarna21
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by groundstrike View Post
Force it to what? The same IP as your Machine? The IP of the PS3? An IP totally different from any of those?

8/30/09 5:05:31 PM Firewall[558] Deny JavaApplicationS connecting from 10.10.1.5:55792 to port 5001 proto=6
i used the computer's ip address

ever since then works perfectly
let me know if it works for you
__________________
24'' iMac, '09 Unibody MacBook, 8GB Black Iphone
16 GB White Iphone
abarna21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 09:03 PM   #9
abz786
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
what application, or utility are you guys using to enable the streaming of content to your ps3 console?
thanks guys in advance
__________________
TweetMe: Here
Iphone 5 64GB Black Unlocked
rMBP, 2.7GHZ, 512GB SSD, 16GB Ram
abz786 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 10:53 PM   #10
groundstrike
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by abarna21 View Post
i used the computer's ip address

ever since then works perfectly
let me know if it works for you
No luck, thanks though. Another interesting thing I've found is that I get the quick flash of an "Allow, Deny" firewall dialog when I open Java Preferences from Utilities.

Quote:
Originally Posted by abz786 View Post
what application, or utility are you guys using to enable the streaming of content to your ps3 console?
thanks guys in advance
http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver/
__________________
MBP C2D 2.33 2GB RAM X1600
Mac Pro 2-2.8Ghz Xeon 2GB RAM 8800GT
groundstrike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 09:19 AM   #11
wanlord
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
This seemed to work for me:

1. Turned off the server
2. Turned off the firewall
3. Turned the server back on (PS3 detected)
4. Turned the firewall back on (The Allow,Deny selection came up as soon as I enabled the firewall and stayed on the screen long enough to make the Allow selection)
wanlord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2009, 07:11 AM   #12
klazterp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Fixed!

The way to get PS media server to work as before on Snow Leopard: Rosetta, 32 bit.

Instructions:
Open Finder
Right-click on ps3 media server.app
Select Get Info
In the General tab, tick "Open in 32-bit mode" and then tick "Open using Rosetta"

This way, there's is no need to turn off the firewall or force any IP-adress.
klazterp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2009, 09:06 AM   #13
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by klazterp View Post
The way to get PS media server to work as before on Snow Leopard: Rosetta, 32 bit.

Instructions:
Open Finder
Right-click on ps3 media server.app
Select Get Info
In the General tab, tick "Open in 32-bit mode" and then tick "Open using Rosetta"

This way, there's is no need to turn off the firewall or force any IP-adress.
THANKS!!! This fixed it for me at least. Should it be same performance wise because I use it with 1080p .mkv files? Thanks again, you saved my day
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
App to make my Mac Mini a Media Server for PS3/iPad/iPhone MateusJr Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Mar 3, 2014 02:32 PM
New AirPort Extreme and ps3 media server and xbox Squizzles Mac Peripherals 4 Oct 8, 2013 11:07 PM
Airport Extreme and PS3 Media Server Wariq Mac Peripherals 1 Oct 8, 2013 11:04 PM
Anyone upgrade from Snow Leopard Server to Mountain Lion + Server.app? talmy Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 13 Jul 14, 2013 12:22 PM
PS3 Media Server and Stuttering? northy124 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Dec 16, 2012 11:56 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC