Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 16, 2010, 11:01 AM   #76
InfoSecmgr
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssn637 View Post
even though the modules shipped weren't compatible with my system.
How was that their fault to begin with?
InfoSecmgr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 11:48 AM   #77
shadowfax
macrumors 601
 
shadowfax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Send a message via AIM to shadowfax
when you have nVidia 9400M integrated graphics, 256MB of RAM is reserved for the integrated graphics chip. I don't believe it is released to the system when you switch to the discrete graphics.
shadowfax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 07:26 AM   #78
spiliog
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Interesting posts but they confuse me.
The real question for me is "should I upgrade my macbook 5,1 to 6GB Ram or not?"

Running snow leo, current ram is 4GB, HD 500gb Seagate at 7200.

According to http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other.../8566DDR3S6GP/ I cannot.

Anyone please?
spiliog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 11:04 AM   #79
shadowfax
macrumors 601
 
shadowfax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Send a message via AIM to shadowfax
According to this:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memor...o/Upgrade/DDR3

Quote:
MacBook and MacBook Pro 'Unibody' Models
OWC tested to support Maximum Memory of 6.0GB:
  • MacBook 13.3" 2.0GHz (All)
  • MacBook 13.3" 2.4GHz (All)
  • MacBook Pro 15" 2.4GHz (All)
  • MacBook Pro 15" 2.53GHz model w/ExpressCard Slot (Late 2008)
  • MacBook Pro 15" 2.8GHz model w/ExpressCard Slot (Late 2008)
According to the page you linked:

Quote:
6.0GB(2.0GB + 4.0GB Kit) PC8500 DDR3 1066MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin PC3-8500 Memory Upgrade Kit for Late 2008, Early 2009, Early 2010 MacBook, MacBook Pro "Unibody" Models, 2009/2010 Mac mini, 2009 iMac Models. Lifetime Warranty. (OWC8566DDR3S6GP)
I know the picture of the Macbook 5,1 isn't shown below in the list of pics, but they clearly state it's for the Macbook 5,1 in 2 places.

I have been using 6 GB in my Late '08 2.4 GHz MB for months now, working like a champ. I strongly suggest getting a paired set of RAM and not mixing a 2 GB stick of Apple/Other RAM with an OWC 4GB stick; it seems unnecessarily risky.

One thing to keep in mind: OWC is a reputable business. They will let you return the set and refund your money if it doesn't work for you. They did for me the first time I tried (when I bought a 4 GB stick alone and tried to pair it with non-matched 2 and 1 GB sticks, and tried to use it alone). Good people to do business with, in my experience.
shadowfax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 04:36 PM   #80
Vader815
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
You say don't use mismatched sticks but I don't think I've ever seen a 3g stick of ram. Or do you mean buy a 2g and 4g OWC sticks for the 6g total?
Vader815 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 06:27 PM   #81
shadowfax
macrumors 601
 
shadowfax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Send a message via AIM to shadowfax
I didn't mean mis-matched as in different sizes; mis-matched as in 2 different brands of RAM. I am, perhaps superstitiously, wary of mixing up Apple and 3rd party RAM.
shadowfax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 06:55 PM   #82
Vader815
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I've been pondering upgrading my ram to 6g after I get a SSD to boost my comp's performance dramatically. Have there been any reports of the ram getting wacky if they're mismatched?
Vader815 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 05:33 PM   #83
chache
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Running 6GB on my Macbook 5,1

I have the first release of the unibody. Macbook 5,1 (bought first day out). Currently running 6GB of RAM from Crucial, no issues. (2gb + 4gb)

I originally upgraded to 4gb (2+2) from Crucial, due to cost of 4GB at the time. Now that they have come down in price, I bought two separate 4GB from Crucial and installed. 8GB Does not work. But 6GB does work great.

hope this helps others.
chache is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2010, 03:48 PM   #84
blizz1975
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Crucial 6GB DIMMS

Chache,

Can you post the exact specs of the Crucial DIMMs you used? If you are inclined can you post the vendor too? I want to compare prices with OWC and consider this upgrade for my MBP 5,1

Thanks for your post.
blizz1975 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2010, 12:55 AM   #85
chache
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizz1975 View Post
Chache,

Can you post the exact specs of the Crucial DIMMs you used? If you are inclined can you post the vendor too? I want to compare prices with OWC and consider this upgrade for my MBP 5,1

Thanks for your post.
For Pricing, Check out the link - www.crucial.com -

2GB stick (from original kit):

I bought this in Dec 2008 at the time 4GB sticks were insanely expensive. I used the "Memory Advisor Tool" to find the Kit for my Late 2008 Macbook Unibody - 2.4Ghz - 13.3.

4GB kit (2GBx2), 204-pin SODIMM, DDR3 PC3-8500 memory module
CT2KIT25664BC1067
Module Size: 4GB kit (2GBx2)
Package: 204-pin SODIMM
Feature: DDR3 PC3-8500
Specs: DDR3 PC3-8500 CL=7 Unbuffered NON-ECC DDR3-1066 1.5V 256Meg x 64

4 GB stick (bought single stick for 6GB upgrade):

I just used the specs above to match a single 4GB stick. It worked for me.

4GB, 204-pin SODIMM, DDR3 PC3-8500 memory module
CT51264BC1067
Module Size: 4GB
Package: 204-pin SODIMM
Feature: DDR3 PC3-8500
Specs: DDR3 PC3-8500 CL=7 Unbuffered NON-ECC DDR3-1066 1.5V 512Meg x 64

I have now been running this for a month without any issues whatsoever. System is stable and no crashes.
chache is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 07:52 AM   #86
moucha
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
MacBook 5.1 8GB RAM

Hello,

I have both a MacBook 5.1 and a MacBook Pro 5.3 and today I bought 8 GB RAM type Kingston KTA-MB1066K2/8G for the MacBook Pro. In the last moment I decided to try the blocks in the MacBook. Surprise: it worked flawlessly. Two hours from installation, with Windows 7 and Fedora 14 running on VMWare Fusion and each allocated 2 GB and everything is superbly fine. I hope it will work in this configuration for more. I did a couple of empiric tests: hibernation, sleep, everything just fine. The installed OS is 10.6.6. I attached a screenshot of my desktop. One more thing: the battery BOOSTED by around 30-45 minutes. Overall I am terribly impressed.
moucha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 01:24 PM   #87
smithrh
macrumors 68000
 
smithrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Hi Moucha,

There's nothing attached to your post.

Can you confirm what amount of RAM the system shows?

I'm very interested in the very upgrade that you did!

TIA
smithrh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 05:25 PM   #88
kdesmedt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I upgraded my MacBook 5,1 to 8GB as well. Works great so far. Screenshot in attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Schermafbeelding 2011-01-16 om 00.24.51.png
Views:	43
Size:	40.7 KB
ID:	267593  
kdesmedt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 05:43 PM   #89
smithrh
macrumors 68000
 
smithrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Awesome - RAM is so cheap now it's a no-brainer upgrade...

8Gb kits are ~$100!
smithrh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2011, 09:58 PM   #90
snorkeller1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdesmedt View Post
I upgraded my MacBook 5,1 to 8GB as well. Works great so far. Screenshot in attachment.
Is that a Dutch 10.6.6 installed on a late '08 13-inch Unibody MacBook (non-Pro) ?

Amazing that you've got an extra 2GB of RAM over the 6GB limit for that MB. Also, the RAM is 1067 MHz rather than 1066 ?
snorkeller1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2011, 02:13 PM   #91
smithrh
macrumors 68000
 
smithrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
The current thought is that an EFI update allows the full 8Gb to be used, over the older limit of 6Gb. Note that the Mac Mini (Late 2009) also supports 8Gb RAM.

Again, with RAM prices this low, I'll just buy it and try it.
smithrh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 06:41 AM   #92
snorkeller1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithrh View Post
The current thought is that an EFI update allows the full 8Gb to be used, over the older limit of 6Gb. Note that the Mac Mini (Late 2009) also supports 8Gb RAM.
Would be fun to follow that trend of thought to its source. Mactracker reveals that while MB/MBP5,1 have EFI updates, the Mac Mini (Late 2009) doesn't need one. However, the said updates only "eliminate(s) the noise made by the optical disk drive during wake from sleep". Undocumented update features, maybe?
snorkeller1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 08:18 PM   #93
smithrh
macrumors 68000
 
smithrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorkeller1 View Post
Would be fun to follow that trend of thought to its source. Mactracker reveals that while MB/MBP5,1 have EFI updates, the Mac Mini (Late 2009) doesn't need one. However, the said updates only "eliminate(s) the noise made by the optical disk drive during wake from sleep". Undocumented update features, maybe?
Probably the case. I know my company sneaks fixes in all the time, I wouldn't put it past Apple.

In any case, I just put 8 Gb of new RAM into my MacBook 5,1 and it's working great! 8 Gb for ~$100, that's absurdly low. Mac mini is the next, I'll put that in tomorrow.
smithrh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2011, 05:47 PM   #94
cfrench
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Waukee, Iowa
Send a message via MSN to cfrench
Got my 8 gigs installed earlier this week on a late 2008 MBP 5,1.
Haven't had any issue's with it so far. Got it for $84 from newegg.
Kinda hope'n I would notice a bigger difference but maybe I should format the drive and start fresh.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2011-01-21 at 5.43.36 PM.png
Views:	519
Size:	638.7 KB
ID:	268296
cfrench is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2011, 10:45 AM   #95
smithrh
macrumors 68000
 
smithrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfrench View Post
Got my 8 gigs installed earlier this week on a late 2008 MBP 5,1.
Haven't had any issue's with it so far. Got it for $84 from newegg.
Kinda hope'n I would notice a bigger difference but maybe I should format the drive and start fresh.
There's precious little - if anything - to be gained by formatting a drive and "starting fresh" on Mac OS X. There's nothing like the Windows registry that tends to get bloated and even corrupt as time goes by.

If you weren't experiencing pageouts (swapping RAM to disk) before the upgrade, you probably won't see any major improvement. As others have put it, adding RAM won't speed up your computer, but it will prevent it from slowing down in certain circumstances.
smithrh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2011, 06:32 PM   #96
SneakerXZ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfrench View Post
Got my 8 gigs installed earlier this week on a late 2008 MBP 5,1.
Haven't had any issue's with it so far. Got it for from newegg.
Kinda hope'n I would notice a bigger difference but maybe I should format the drive and start fresh.

Attachment 268296
Since when 5.1 got 2.53 GHz?
SneakerXZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2011, 01:26 AM   #97
snorkeller1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithrh View Post
Probably the case. I know my company sneaks fixes in all the time, I wouldn't put it past Apple.

In any case, I just put 8 Gb of new RAM into my MacBook 5,1 and it's working great!
Again relying on Mactracker, the March 2009 2.66/2.93GHz MBP5,1s were the first 15-inchers capable of taking 8GB of RAM. Which model are you running, btw?
snorkeller1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2011, 10:28 AM   #98
lugubrious
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: east coast, usa
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdesmedt View Post
I upgraded my MacBook 5,1 to 8GB as well. Works great so far. Screenshot in attachment.
kdesmedt,

Would you mind revealing which RAM manufacturer/specs you used for your upgrade? I have the same 2.0GHz model and am looking to do the same upgrade as well.

Thanks
lugubrious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2011, 12:33 PM   #99
kdesmedt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I ordered two of these:

kdesmedt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2011, 03:15 PM   #100
TheIguana
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorkeller1 View Post
Again relying on Mactracker, the March 2009 2.66/2.93GHz MBP5,1s were the first 15-inchers capable of taking 8GB of RAM. Which model are you running, btw?
I think you are getting mixed up between the MacBook Pro models from 2008 and the MacBook models from 2009.
The MacBook Pro 5,1 (otherwise known as the Late 2008 MacBook Pro) had a mixed bag of maximum RAM support. Officially all models could only take up to 4Gb. Unofficially, the 2.4GHz model could handle up to 6Gb, while the 2.53Ghz and 2.8Ghz models could handle up to 8Gb of RAM.
TheIguana is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook5,1 - Trying to run Windows 7 Ultimate x64/ Bootcamp 4.0 issues rashhashan MacBook 0 Sep 24, 2011 02:26 AM
Safari 5.1 IwantImac iMac 1 Jul 28, 2011 03:23 PM
Safari 5.1 Problem kftrainer Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 2 Jul 7, 2011 09:57 AM
Airport Extreme set-up: AP Utility 5.5.1 vs. 5.5.2? waiting Mac Peripherals 2 Apr 8, 2011 04:29 AM
Macbook 5,1 with 200 pin PC3-8500 DDR3 1066MHz SDRAM Slick's MacBook 2 Jan 3, 2011 02:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC