Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 29, 2009, 05:14 PM   #1
rorschach
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
QuickTime X Hidden Prefs (Disable the Rounded Corners and more)

To set any of these, go to terminal and enter in the code for whichever preference you want to set. Remember, to reset the setting to its default value, just change the "1" at the end to a "0" (or vice versa).

Disable rounded corners

Code:
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGCinematicWindowDebugForceNoRoundedCorners 1
Never show titlebar/controller

Code:
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGUIVisibilityNeverAutoshow 1
Always show titlebar/controller

Code:
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGUIVisibilityNeverAutohide 1
Never show the titlebar

Code:
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGCinematicWindowDebugForceNoTitlebar 1
Autoplay movies on open

Code:
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGPlayMovieOnOpen 1
Automatically show subtitles and closed captioning on open

Code:
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGEnableCCAndSubtitlesOnOpen 1
Keep playing full-screen even when you command-tab out of QT

Code:
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGFullScreenExitOnAppSwitch 0
Allow simultaneous recordings

Code:
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGAllowMultipleSimultaneousRecordings 1
Unknown
I don't know exactly what these do, or they don't seem to have an effect when I enable them but here you go:

Code:
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGTimeIntervalBeforeShowingLoadingUI
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGUseForkedDecoder
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGEnableMediumQualityAudioRendering
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGDisableQuickTimeX
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGShowFrameworkVersions
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGEnableWWDC2009KeynoteBehavior
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGCinematicWindowUseWindowShapeForRoundedCorners
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGCinematicWindowTitleAlwaysHasActiveAppearance
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGTimelineDisableAudioTrackForVideoMovies
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGTimelineShowSlientRangesWithModifierKey
rorschach is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2009, 06:02 PM   #2
RemarkabLee
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Thanks for posting
RemarkabLee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2009, 07:39 PM   #3
ssawyer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Another working pref

com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSRecentDocumentsLimit also works to control or disable (set to 0) the number of recent documents stored.

Why did Apple remove the preferences window from QuickTime Player? It's not like it bugged anyone who didn't look for it.
ssawyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2009, 07:59 PM   #4
Ron21
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I was just about to make a thread to see if anyone knew how to make videos auto-play in QTX. How could this not be a default setting anyway? I just clicked on the video, obviously I want it to play..

Thanks for posting this!

Last edited by Ron21; Aug 29, 2009 at 08:21 PM.
Ron21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2009, 08:09 PM   #5
ssawyer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssawyer View Post
com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSRecentDocumentsLimit also works to control or disable (set to 0) the number of recent documents stored.

Why did Apple remove the preferences window from QuickTime Player? It's not like it bugged anyone who didn't look for it.
Umm, nevermind. It looked like it worked at first, but now it seems it doesn't. If anyone knows how to control the recent documents menu, please post it.
ssawyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2009, 09:36 PM   #6
glossywhite
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
The disabling of rounded corners doesn't SEEM to give you back the pixels that were rounded off... it just squares the corners off, and fills the resulting difference with black UI pixels (not video or other content).

Seems a little pointless!
glossywhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 03:06 AM   #7
Grey Podder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Apologies for hijacking the thread, but could anyone tell me why Safari 4.0.3 under Snow Leopard shows me this for the terminal commands above, while Firefox 3.5.2 displays them correctly? I have attached a screenshot. MRoogle
didn't provide any results, but perhaps I didn't search hard enough.

Thanks to rorschach for the tip about removing the rounded corners, by the way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot.png
Views:	547
Size:	21.8 KB
ID:	191242  
Grey Podder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 03:10 AM   #8
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
YEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

thanks for autoplay!
__________________
If you can't innovate, you just imitate, but it's never quite as good as the original.
Hackintosh - Core i5 4670K, Z87X, 7870XT, 16GB RAM, 128GB SDD | MacBook Air 13" 2013 | iPhone 6 16GB JB
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 03:13 AM   #9
efice32
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Music City USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey Podder View Post
Apologies for hijacking the thread, but could anyone tell me why Safari 4.0.3 under Snow Leopard shows me this for the terminal commands above, while Firefox 3.5.2 displays them correctly? I have attached a screenshot. MRoogle
didn't provide any results, but perhaps I didn't search hard enough.

Thanks to rorschach for the tip about removing the rounded corners, by the way.
I'm getting the same issue
efice32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 03:32 AM   #10
nihalz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
thanks for the autoplay tip
is there any way to have it floating always on top?

its a shame that such a clean borderless interface can't be always on top
nihalz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 03:40 AM   #11
Grey Podder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Some further searching (this time at Apple's discussion page) shows that others are having some similar problems with fonts. A temporary workaround is to go to Safari>Preferences>Appearance and to change the Fixed-width font. A switch from Courier to Courier New worked for me.

Quote:
I'm getting the same issue
Cheers, efice32. Quite refreshing to know we aren't going mad, wouldn't you say?
Grey Podder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 04:09 AM   #12
wankey
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
This is proof to me that Quicktime X is a 1.0 release and they'll try to push out a 2.0 soon.
wankey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 06:53 AM   #13
conlov
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
It's disgraceful that you have to use the terminal to alter these basic settings. How come Apple didn't include a preferences panel for QTX?
conlov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 08:34 AM   #14
Jizzle032
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
where is the terminal tab? I can't seem to find it
__________________
2009 Mac Mini 2.0 4gb Ram 120gb HD
Jizzle032 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 10:32 AM   #15
donbenjy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Is there a possible way that this could be written as an AppleScript/service so that you could get a pseudo preferences menu within the app?

I'm happy to use terminal to change these things, but I'd like a way to remember the defaults, and to maybe add any more hidden prefs that might be found that I might not want to enable right now.
donbenjy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 12:35 PM   #16
MistaBungle
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
I'm glad I did this little Terminal ditty, I like it, a lot.
__________________
went to school and got a degree in rocket appliance
MistaBungle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 01:42 PM   #17
celebi23
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: CT
Send a message via AIM to celebi23 Send a message via MSN to celebi23 Send a message via Yahoo to celebi23 Send a message via Skype™ to celebi23
Quote:
Originally Posted by donbenjy View Post
Is there a possible way that this could be written as an AppleScript/service so that you could get a pseudo preferences menu within the app?

I'm happy to use terminal to change these things, but I'd like a way to remember the defaults, and to maybe add any more hidden prefs that might be found that I might not want to enable right now.
I've got an easy implementation figured out. Used AppleScripts. Almost done. Will post it soonish

edit:

Finished

So, I saw the various Terminal commands for the QuickTime Player X hidden preferences & thought that there must be a better way to do this. So, I created 2 sets of AppleScripts. One set is to enable the preference & the other set disables the preference (and returns it to the default state).

I put up a small website with a guide (and credits)

http://web.me.com/celebi23/QuickTimeXScripts/Main.html

Special thanks to:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=775514 (rorschach)
http://discussions.apple.com/thread....readID=2133815 (janfoeh)
http://discussions.apple.com/thread....ageID=10075901 (janfoeh)

Last edited by celebi23; Aug 30, 2009 at 03:11 PM.
celebi23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 06:24 PM   #18
celebi23
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: CT
Send a message via AIM to celebi23 Send a message via MSN to celebi23 Send a message via Yahoo to celebi23 Send a message via Skype™ to celebi23
Here's version 2.0 of my QuickTime X Hidden Preferences scripts!

Now with dialogs!



http://web.me.com/celebi23/QuickTimeXScripts/Main.html

The site has also been updated with new information & the new DMG to download. The ReadMeFirst.rtf file has been updated. The label color for the "QuickTime Player X Scripts" has been removed.

It's not a perfect solution for QuickTime X but, it's an improvement
celebi23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 12:51 AM   #19
celebi23
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: CT
Send a message via AIM to celebi23 Send a message via MSN to celebi23 Send a message via Yahoo to celebi23 Send a message via Skype™ to celebi23
Finished version 2.1. Now you'll see a dialog to restart QuickTime when you select a button (see the previous dialog for an example)




Just follow the steps posted on my site:
  • To activate the system-wide script menu item, open the "Script Editor" app (do a Spotlight search) or navigate to the "Applications/Utilities" folder. Open the Preferences & click the "Show Script menu in menu bar" check box
  • Download the dmg here
  • Copy the "QuickTime Player" folder, from the mounted dmg, to the "Macintosh HD/Users/'your user name'/Library/Scripts/Applications" folder.
    (If no "Scripts" folder exists in this location, create one)

See my website for more info

http://web.me.com/celebi23/QuickTimeXScripts/Main.html
celebi23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 01:33 AM   #20
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by celebi23 View Post
Finished version 2.1. Now you'll see a dialog to restart QuickTime when you select a button (see the previous dialog for an example)




Just follow the steps posted on my site:
  • To activate the system-wide script menu item, open the "Script Editor" app (do a Spotlight search) or navigate to the "Applications/Utilities" folder. Open the Preferences & click the "Show Script menu in menu bar" check box
  • Download the dmg here
  • Copy the "QuickTime Player" folder, from the mounted dmg, to the "Macintosh HD/Users/'your user name'/Library/Scripts/Applications" folder.
    (If no "Scripts" folder exists in this location, create one)

See my website for more info

http://web.me.com/celebi23/QuickTimeXScripts/Main.html
Looks good.
__________________
Mac Pro | Mac mini | 15" MacBook Pro | iPad Air | iPhone 6
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 02:03 AM   #21
JFreak
macrumors 68040
 
JFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by wankey View Post
This is proof to me that Quicktime X is a 1.0 release and they'll try to push out a 2.0 soon.
How 'bout a 1.1 if it was a fix-release? I don't get it why people seem to love big version numbers...
__________________
what we do in life, echoes in eternity.
JFreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 04:15 AM   #22
J4M4L
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Is there any way to enable the videos to keep playing when you skip to parts of a movie? Its really annoying!

Thanks
J4M4L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 04:27 AM   #23
Kahnyl
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rorschach View Post
Never show the titlebar

Code:
defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX MGCinematicWindowDebugForceNoTitlebar 1
For me, this resulted in the 'resize lines' on the bottom right side of the video always being visible.
Kahnyl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 04:28 AM   #24
LocalMotion
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kailua
Quote:
Originally Posted by wankey View Post
This is proof to me that Quicktime X is a 1.0 release and they'll try to push out a 2.0 soon.
It's a 10.0 release, hence Quicktime X, so you want a .1 release. i.e. 10.1
LocalMotion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 08:38 AM   #25
celebi23
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: CT
Send a message via AIM to celebi23 Send a message via MSN to celebi23 Send a message via Yahoo to celebi23 Send a message via Skype™ to celebi23
Found some more preferences (I think). Not really sure because nothing appears to change when any of these are activated (except for the MGInfoWindowSharedInspectorVisibleAtLaunch, that shows the inspector window @ launch)



(had to do it this way as I have encountered a bug with Snow Leopard where I can't past large amounts of code & have it show up. Had to use an image for now)
celebi23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New iPhone 6 Renderings Highlight Curved Display, Rounded Corners MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 271 Jul 5, 2014 11:31 AM
Can't disable Quicktime in Safari! HELP! poltergeistcro OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 May 11, 2014 11:12 AM
MAC OS 10.7.5 - HOW TO DISABLE hidden start up items ? Sanaan OS X 0 Oct 28, 2013 06:03 PM
Poorly rounded UI corners aluminum313 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Aug 7, 2013 02:11 PM
WTF! Apple holds patent for rectangular device with rounded corners johannar Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 5 Nov 15, 2012 06:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC