Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 30, 2009, 02:25 AM   #1
copperz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
How to do a clean install on a macbook pro?

I want to wipe everything of the HD and install from scratch. How would i do that?
copperz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 02:52 AM   #2
Eddyisgreat
macrumors 601
 
Eddyisgreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Quote:
Originally Posted by copperz View Post
I want to wipe everything of the HD and install from scratch. How would i do that?
Start from your install cd (hold down C or option during start up)

Format your drive using disk utility

run through setup.

That's generally how I do it, although I don't know if there is an option in the installer that'll format the drive for you. Probably is.
__________________
iCloud Logo Courtesy of : JiP
Eddyisgreat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 03:30 PM   #3
The Samurai
macrumors 68000
 
The Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow
Could someone confirm whether the above method works?

Will be doing a clean install - fingers crossed.


Cheers
__________________
AyeGear l iDevice / Gadget & Travel Clothing - iPad & Macbook Air Pockets
The Samurai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 03:32 PM   #4
Arn1499
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vermillion, SD
That's what I did on my iMac. Once SL was installed, I restored my documents/media from my Leopard Time Machine backup using the Migration Assistant.
__________________
20" White iMac C2D (late 2006) - 500GB TC with 500GB USB external disk - 8GB iPod Touch - Droid Eris - Canon EOS XSi
Arn1499 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 03:35 PM   #5
Killerbob
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Having only used migration assistant once before; is it possible to restore applications (only) from TM backup as well?

KB
__________________
MP 2.8GHz 8C/32GB/960GB Accelsior/2x512GB SSD/GTX680 - MBP 15"/2.53GHz/8GB/250GB SSD - MBA 2GHz i7/8GB/250GB - MMI 2.3HGz/8GB/500GB - TC 3TB - ReadyNAS Pro 6x3TB
Killerbob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2009, 05:52 PM   #6
S-Man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston
Send a message via AIM to S-Man
I want to do an erase/install when I receive SL, but I want to keep my emails and some apps (maybe I'll just re-DL the apps).
I also have XP installed on Bootcamp and VMWare Fusion. Will I have to call Microshaft again and get another validation number when I re-install?

This is my first mac and the first time I will have done something like this. I have no idea what to expect or what to look for.
I've had it for about 6 months.
Thanks in advance!
S-Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can someone walk me thru on how to do a clean instal of lion? maf2k8 OS X 9 Oct 21, 2011 05:13 AM
How to do a clean install of Snow Leopard joedavis34 OS X 1 Sep 11, 2009 04:44 AM
My Video Guide: How To Do A Clean Install Of Snow Leopard christurbo OS X 1 Sep 1, 2009 02:30 AM
How to Do a Clean Install? ComicStix OS X 12 Aug 30, 2009 09:05 AM
How To Do A Clean Install of Leopard fedgirl MacBook Pro 3 Oct 27, 2007 07:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC