Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 30, 2009, 12:05 PM   #1
mbpcron
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Snow Leopard memory usage

I posted this thought on another thread a couple of days ago but forgot where. I noticed using iStat that after a clean boot, SL used twice the memory of a clean Leopard boot after everything settles down. So all these nice tweaks come at a price. I did get back 5GB of disk space but wonder if I'd rather have the memory. By the way, wasn't one of the benefits supposed to be faster and leaner? Yes, but leaner disk space swapped for more memory. Hope the memory mgt is good when I fire up 15 apps. We'll see.
Example, you can view running video thumbnails. That's where part of the memory went. etc.
I haven't decided it's bad yet. Just an observation. Any feedback?
__________________
mbpcron
MBP 13" , 2.4gz i5 8GB RAM OSX Lion
mbpcron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 12:08 PM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
My memory usage is quite same as in Leopard, maybe even better in SL.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 03:40 PM   #3
mbpcron
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Memory issue gone - weird

Booted my MBP without an external monitor or external USB drive attached and now memory is the same as with Leopard. I had booted 2 or 3 times before and it still seemed to be eating memory. Now things look better.
Solution - detach all and boot once ???
__________________
mbpcron
MBP 13" , 2.4gz i5 8GB RAM OSX Lion
mbpcron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 04:16 PM   #4
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbpcron View Post
Booted my MBP without an external monitor or external USB drive attached and now memory is the same as with Leopard. I had booted 2 or 3 times before and it still seemed to be eating memory. Now things look better.
Solution - detach all and boot once ???
Probably has more to do with Spotlight putting a load on the system the first couple of times you had it running since it re-indexes everything after installation/upgrade.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 04:25 PM   #5
Petoz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
My memory usage seems to be worse in SL. Definitely don't have as much free or inactive memory according to the istat widget or activity monitor. I have nothing connected, and have re booted a number of times since I installed SL.

Is this the case for anyone else? Any suggestions?
__________________
16GB iPhone 4 S⃣
2.26GHz 13" MacBook Pro
16GB 3G iPad 2
Petoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2009, 05:15 PM   #6
Nightwing1986
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petoz View Post
My memory usage seems to be worse in SL. Definitely don't have as much free or inactive memory according to the istat widget or activity monitor. I have nothing connected, and have re booted a number of times since I installed SL.

Is this the case for anyone else? Any suggestions?
I posted this in another thread, but as per your model of MBP this may explain a little bit, let me know if it helps you.

Quote:
I'm not sure if it's new to SL or not, but in Activity Monitor, the wired memory value includes the 256 MB of memory taken by the 9400M if its the active gpu. Consequently, the used value also increases. May explain why some users are reporting 'memory hog' issues.

IIRC, under 10.5 this was not the case. But I may be wrong.

Oh, and the iStat widget will show you your used memory sans the 9400m's chunk.

Example (on a uMB running 10.6 and 4gb of ram)
In activity monitor: 3.03gb free, 667 wired, 258 active, 68 inactive; Used 992.8 MB

Under iStat widget: 3.03gb free, ~413 wired, 258 active, 68 inactive; Used 739 MB

Interesting indeed.
This is after a reboot, waiting about 2 minutes for all the startup processes to calm down.
__________________
13' iMac 27" 2011, 3.1 i5, 16GB, 1TB, 6970M 1GB :: iPad 2 :: soon a iPhone 5
Nightwing1986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Leopard to Snow Leopard, will this wipe out my Mac? [EDITED WITH IMAGES] ISJB OS X 1 Oct 5, 2011 07:34 AM
Worth to get back to the Snow Leopard or stay in Lion? Kaelbron OS X 2 Sep 25, 2011 06:48 AM
Leopard to Snow Leopard Question Projectmorpheus OS X 2 Jun 29, 2011 09:52 AM
Snow Leopard CD doesn't run sebkom OS X 12 Jan 1, 2011 04:27 AM
What happened to the overscan button in Snow Leopard? trillian42 OS X 0 Nov 13, 2010 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC