Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 31, 2009, 06:38 AM   #1
andylenny
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Blue and White Power Mac G3 Boot issue

Hi All,

I just got given a Power Mac G3 without a hard drive. I put in a 30GB Maxtor HDD, set the jumper to MASTER and connected it to the Ultra IDE port. Everything else inside it is stock (I think). I've check the CD Drive - it has the Apple logo etc.

When I boot the machine, I see a smiley face inside a folder that changes in to a question mark after about a second, and then back to the smiley face - this loops indefinitely.

The only install disc I have at the moment is an official OS 10.4... When I put this in and hold C, nothing happens. I've ordered 10.1 in the hope that this will work..

If I hold Option + CMD + P + R, I can successfully clear the PRAM, which I have tried many times, but nothing has changed in terms of how far I get on boot up.

I've moved the RAM stick to a different slot - no effect.
I've unplugged the firewire module - no effect.

I've unplugged the HDD to try and get the CD to boot on its own - it doesn't.

I can enter recovery mode by holding down the programmers button at the front.. but I'm not sure what commands I can put in to boot from CD.

I also have a MacBook Pro - is it possible to connect my 30GB HDD to my MBP, install OS 10 on to it and then plug it in to the G3?

I'd really like to get this G3 working - it's such an antique- it would look so cool as a little media server!

Thanks,
Andy
andylenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 05:12 AM   #2
andylenny
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
bump
andylenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 06:07 AM   #3
raziel777
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: League City, Texas
10.4 is on dvd format. Did you replace the stock cd-rom with a dvd rom?
If not, it's not going to read the tiger disk.
raziel777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 04:07 PM   #4
andylenny
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Boy do I feel stupid.

Thanks raziel777. I'll wait for my 10.1 CD to arrive :F
andylenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 11:06 PM   #5
quantum003
macrumors 6502a
 
quantum003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Superposition
You may also want to try firewire target disking your G3 tower into your Macbook Pro. Then pop in the install DVD, restart your MBP before it has a chance to think, and see if will let you install Tiger onto the 30GB hard drive in the G3. There may be an Intel vs. PowerPC issue, but if you had another PowerPC Mac I guarantee you could install Tiger on your firewired G3 tower through it.
quantum003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 02:20 PM   #6
andylenny
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
thanks quantum003. Unfortunately I haven't got a firewire drive - I have a USB/IDE converter, but this didn't work

I put in an original Mac OS 9 CD, but I get sent to some weird firmware loader. I typed "mac-boot" and pressed return, and saw the attached screen. I looked up this weird code on the apple site and it means "no-boot".. whatever that means??

I attached a buzzer to the PRAM battery to see if it had any power, and it sounded violently.

I've reset the PRAM as I mentioned before..

I'd really love to get this working - I'd appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks,
Andy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0012.JPG
Views:	41
Size:	922.6 KB
ID:	192446  
andylenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 02:45 PM   #7
aibo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
you just need a valid startup disk. since you don't have one, i dont know what else you're asking for here. pram has nothing to do with anything.
__________________
2008 Mac Pro | 8-core 2.8GHz Xeon | R5870 OEM | 20GB RAM
aibo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 05:06 PM   #8
andylenny
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
errr, I guess you didn't read my post. I said I have an "original" i.e. official, valid, authentic OS 9 CD...
andylenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2009, 08:52 AM   #9
andylenny
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
bump
andylenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2009, 04:51 PM   #10
quantum003
macrumors 6502a
 
quantum003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Superposition
Quote:
Originally Posted by andylenny View Post
thanks quantum003. Unfortunately I haven't got a firewire drive - I have a USB/IDE converter, but this didn't work

I put in an original Mac OS 9 CD, but I get sent to some weird firmware loader. I typed "mac-boot" and pressed return, and saw the attached screen. I looked up this weird code on the apple site and it means "no-boot".. whatever that means??

I attached a buzzer to the PRAM battery to see if it had any power, and it sounded violently.

I've reset the PRAM as I mentioned before..

I'd really love to get this working - I'd appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks,
Andy
You don't need a firewire drive... just a firewire cable that will connect your G3 to your MBP. Once connected start your G3 while holding down "T"... your G3's hard drive will appear on the desktop of your MBP. Restart your MBP and boot from the install DVD you have... then choose the G3's HD to install 10.4 onto. Make sure you format the drive to Apple Partition for PowerPC startup instead of GUID for Intel startup.

Feel free to PM me if you have questions.
__________________
busratio=22
quantum003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2009, 01:52 PM   #11
andylenny
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Thanks quantum003

I will get a firewire cable and try this and let you know!
andylenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 02:09 PM   #12
andylenny
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Heh.. I think it's broken. cable connected, turned on target G3 and held T, nothing happened
andylenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 02:42 PM   #13
aibo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
your computer can't do Target Disk mode. that started with the Sawtooth G4.
__________________
2008 Mac Pro | 8-core 2.8GHz Xeon | R5870 OEM | 20GB RAM
aibo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 04:16 AM   #14
andylenny
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Lame.

So I guess this G3 should be going in the bin then?
andylenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2010, 03:34 PM   #15
andylenny
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Problem resolved - it was a bad stick of ram. Replaced it with standard PC133 SDRAM and it booted fine :-)
andylenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro Power/Boot Issue foshizi MacBook Pro 0 May 27, 2014 08:00 PM
Blue and White G3 - Chime but no power tattar8 PowerPC Macs 16 Sep 8, 2013 06:16 PM
Power Mac G5 White Stuff in Processor Heatsink! keremtezcan PowerPC Macs 14 Dec 9, 2012 05:18 AM
Anyone here with the white iphone 5 has the loose power button issue? dualmax iPhone 7 Oct 3, 2012 06:59 PM
Boot Power Mac Cube? abouthillier PowerPC Macs 5 Sep 24, 2012 10:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC