Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

alexgingras

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 1, 2009
Hi guys,

Just bought a refurbished MBP 15" and I love it. However there seems to be a major problem with AirPort.

When I'm in Windows 7, I get 6-7 megabits per second constantly.

When I'm in Snow Leopard, I get between 0.5-2 max. Shifts constantly. Internet is very slow. So the issue is not with my router, it's with something in Snow Leopard...

Can anyone help?

Corrode

macrumors 65816
Dec 26, 2008
Calgary, AB
Welcome to the world of wireless with Mac's. I'm not an expert on the subject, but have had several troubles over the years trying to configure non-apple wifi routers with my Macbooks. If you google the problem, you'll see lots and lots of people with connection problems and Mac's. Was hoping that it was fixed in SL, as I have yet to upgrade, but I guess not... damn.

Ptyger

macrumors demi-god
Nov 20, 2008
Knoxville, TN
I've had wireless problems off and on with my airport card and Linksys routers. I have 2 access points in my home, one draft N and one for G. The problem usually occurs on the N connection, and not on the G.

I can't remember if it will tell you in Leopard what protocol your wireless is using, but if you hold down option and click the airport icon in the menu bar, it will give you more information about your connection.

Anuba

macrumors 68040
Feb 9, 2005
Yeah, welcome to the world of Macs and networking... I've been staring at a "Preparing to copy" window now for about 45 minutes, since OS X insists on very slowly counting the number of files to be copied... Windows does it too, but it's over in a couple of minutes and I would've been done with the whole procedure by now if I had done it in Win7. And that's over gigabit ethernet, not wireless.