Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 1, 2004, 12:20 AM   #1
Koree
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Send a message via MSN to Koree
How do you Upgrade G5 Ram?

Hello,

Im getting a G5 soon, (instead of a 15 inch Powerbook) and wanna get the standard settings for hardware and upgrade the ram myself. So... How! Don't you have to put the ram in as pairs or something on a G5? If so, what has to be similar between the pair? Do they have to be identical or something, is it just amount of memory or is it speed too? O, and people who have bought their G5s, where did you buy the ram? (internet site please)

Thanks in Advance
__________________
MBP 17 inch.
Koree is offline   0
Old Jul 1, 2004, 02:49 AM   #2
Mac Maven
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I've had a very difficult time tonight installing RAM in my G5. The modules seemed to only want to go one half in but not the other half. Finally I was able to get them in by getting one side in and then the other, but alas the modules don't register. Shouldn't both sides go in and lock down at the same time? And is it mandatory that the modules go into the first open slot on each side, or can you skip to the next pair?
__________________
G5 DP 2.0 Rev. B, PPC4EVER (a.k.a. Big Mac on MacNN Forums and elsewhere)

Last edited by Mac Maven; Jul 1, 2004 at 02:55 AM.
Mac Maven is offline   0
Old Jul 1, 2004, 03:34 AM   #3
caveman_uk
Guest
 
caveman_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hitchin, Herts, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koree
Hello,

Im getting a G5 soon, (instead of a 15 inch Powerbook) and wanna get the standard settings for hardware and upgrade the ram myself. So... How! Don't you have to put the ram in as pairs or something on a G5? If so, what has to be similar between the pair? Do they have to be identical or something, is it just amount of memory or is it speed too? O, and people who have bought their G5s, where did you buy the ram? (internet site please)

Thanks in Advance
A lot of people buy their RAM from crucial. The RAM needs to be installed in pairs.
caveman_uk is offline   0
Old Jul 1, 2004, 06:40 AM   #4
Koree
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Send a message via MSN to Koree
Thanks

Thanks Caveman, i'll definately look into crucial
__________________
MBP 17 inch.
Koree is offline   0
Old Jul 1, 2004, 08:56 AM   #5
Mac Maven
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I imagine someone has some advice for me, right? Guys?
__________________
G5 DP 2.0 Rev. B, PPC4EVER (a.k.a. Big Mac on MacNN Forums and elsewhere)
Mac Maven is offline   0
Old Jul 1, 2004, 09:08 AM   #6
Falleron
macrumors 68000
 
Falleron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
I have many memory modules in and out of G5's over the last 3-4 months. They have to be installed in Pairs (same type + size as far as I am aware). Crucial is a great source of memory. You get the guaratnee its compatible with the G5. You work from the outside pairs to the inside. I think you can use any pair, but you may loose a little performance though (not 100% about that though) . A huge amount of force should not be required. The board may flex a little as you push them in. Make sure the restraining clips are pushed out.
Falleron is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird freezing and display issues after ram upgrade and OS X upgrade. MobsterMac MacBook Pro 6 Jul 29, 2014 06:26 AM
High page outs after ram upgrade and Mtn lion upgrade Squiggles13 MacBook Pro 1 Dec 7, 2012 08:57 PM
13" MBP RAM upgrade = HD3000 VRAM upgrade? Doggman MacBook Pro 5 Aug 17, 2012 03:47 AM
Low on RAM - Should I go for SSD or RAM upgrade ? andy8 MacBook Pro 16 Aug 2, 2012 02:19 PM
RAM upgrade, now beeping even with old RAM Holgal iMac 4 Jun 29, 2012 10:10 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC