Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 1, 2009, 06:21 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Vonage VoIP App Approved by Apple



Vonage, a digital phone services provider, has put out a brief press release stating that Apple has approved its iPhone app. The app is not yet available in the App Store and Vonage notes that it "is currently conducting a beta test and general availability will be announced at a later date."

It was revealed just last week that Vonage had submitted an iPhone app to the App Store for approval. The Vonage app will join the Skype app in offering VoIP connectivity to iPhone users and will likely share its Wi-Fi-only restriction. This restriction is required by an agreement with AT&T to not allow customers to use AT&T's network to initiate or terminate VoIP sessions, which was divulged recently in Apple's response to an FCC inquiry surrounding its purported rejection of the Google Voice app.


Article Link: Vonage VoIP App Approved by Apple
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 06:26 PM   #2
iphones4evry1
macrumors 65816
 
iphones4evry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California, USA
"The Vonage app will join the Skype app in offering VoIP connectivity to iPhone users and will likely share its Wi-Fi-only restriction."

Cool. Makes perfect sense.

Power to the Wi-Fi !!!!!!!
iphones4evry1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 06:29 PM   #3
SFStateStudent
macrumors 604
 
SFStateStudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Francisco California, USA
Send a message via AIM to SFStateStudent Send a message via Yahoo to SFStateStudent Send a message via Skype™ to SFStateStudent
Little late, but I'm sure a welcome app for many. I just find Skype to meet my needs.....
__________________
MBP 2.5GHz 640GB 4GB RAM Mac Pro iPhone 4S iOS 5 Black 64GB AC+ NEW iPad Apple TV 2G
SFStateStudent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 07:29 PM   #4
guru_ck
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to guru_ck
Did anyone see their stock? Up 46% afterhours.

The power of
__________________
Everything
guru_ck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 07:48 PM   #5
alent1234
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFStateStudent View Post
Little late, but I'm sure a welcome app for many. I just find Skype to meet my needs.....

how much is it to call landlines or people who don't have skype?
alent1234 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 07:50 PM   #6
djdole
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
:rolleyes: @ :apple:

Hypocrisy, thine name is Apple.
djdole is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 09:26 PM   #7
coolbreeze
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by alent1234 View Post
how much is it to call landlines or people who don't have skype?
I don't use it much, but I can call landlines in the US from the US via Skpye for free.

I use Skype for all my 1-800 conference calls during the day. It's actually a more reliable connection that ATT in my home.

Figures.
__________________

Note 3, iPhone 5, iPad 4 LTE, 15" rMBP, 13" rMBP, 13" Air.

coolbreeze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 09:39 PM   #8
bacaramac
macrumors 65816
 
bacaramac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I have vonage for both my home phone and my business line. I am guessing this will work the same as their softphone software which is great news for me. I can get rid of my main line and just pay 9.99 a month for a softline since both my wife and I have iPhones.

Can't wait to see the features of this. Hopefully Vonage doesn't screw everyone and come out with some stupid plan that requires a home line to get a softline. Looking on their website it looks like new customers have to have the main line to get a softline, but my account still lets me add just a softline without having it tied to my home line.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.06Ghz 2TB Time Capsule and AP Express Current Gen AppleTV x 3 iPhone 5s Space Gray 16Gb iPod Touch 4th Gen White iPad mini White/Silver 16GB WiFi
bacaramac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 02:29 AM   #9
Snowy_River
macrumors 68020
 
Snowy_River's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Corvallis, OR
Send a message via AIM to Snowy_River Send a message via Yahoo to Snowy_River
Well, I'm hoping that the app will be able to access the home line, without the need to spend the extra on a softline. We have a home line that it would be nice to be able to tap into from my iPod Touch from time to time when I'm elsewhere...
Snowy_River is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 03:23 AM   #10
iphones4evry1
macrumors 65816
 
iphones4evry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowy_River View Post
Well, I'm hoping that the app will be able to access the home line, without the need to spend the extra on a softline. We have a home line that it would be nice to be able to tap into from my iPod Touch from time to time when I'm elsewhere...
Can you answer your home phone using your iPod Touch (or iPhone) then?
For example, if you are in your house and your home phone is ringing but the phone is in another room, can you just pick up and answer using your iPod/iPhone?
iphones4evry1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 04:38 AM   #11
sirdir
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Apple, it's quite stupid to sell 'free' iPhones that can be used with providers that allow voip within their terms of service but then to forbid all applications that would do that.
sirdir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 06:09 AM   #12
nkawtg72
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirdir View Post
Apple, it's quite stupid to sell 'free' iPhones that can be used with providers that allow voip within their terms of service but then to forbid all applications that would do that.
What?!
nkawtg72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 06:41 AM   #13
hsl
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
There's also another free SIP/VOIP application so this is not really "new"

XSPhone, it's developped by a Dutch ISP, but it also works with voip-/sip-buster and all other Telephone providers that offer connection through SIP.
hsl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 08:13 AM   #14
GregA
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sydney Australia
Send a message via ICQ to GregA Send a message via AIM to GregA
It'd be interesting if Apple made a VoIP play on the iPod Touch

It could be the ultimate in VoIP phones really.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iphones4evry1 View Post
Can you answer your home phone using your iPod Touch (or iPhone) then?
For example, if you are in your house and your home phone is ringing but the phone is in another room, can you just pick up and answer using your iPod/iPhone?
No-one seems to offer anything like this, though I suspect it's possible.

Most VoIP providers don't allow your home phones to have multiple separate logins - such that a single number rings 3 or 4 separate VoIP handsets simultaneously. Hosted PBX systems can allow that, and usually lose the cost savings VoIP brings (IMO)!. Home voip systems have started offering multiple cordless handsets connected to a single VoIP base - that's no good for multiple iPhone VoIP apps though.

But even with the ability to ring both extensions (a home phone AND iPhone app) simultaneously, mostly the iPhone app is switched off. So the VoIP server needs to attempt to ring both extensions, fail on the iPhone but ring the home phone, and then watch to see if the iPhone extension connects in the next 30 seconds (and if so direct the call to it too).

It's doable, but a little beyond what most programmers seem to do.

btw: I have to wonder why Skype doesn't offer push calls yet. I presume the push notification isn't quick enough to get the phone to "ring", open the app, and answer the call before the caller has given up. I think VoIP will have to be Apple sanctioned as a background app.
GregA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 08:13 AM   #15
sirdir
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkawtg72 View Post
What?!
I have a 'free' (aka factory-unlocked) iPhone - they sell those in some countries of Europe. So, why should I care wether AT&T likes VOIP on their network, when my carrier allows me to use it?
sirdir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 08:16 AM   #16
GregA
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sydney Australia
Send a message via ICQ to GregA Send a message via AIM to GregA
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsl View Post
There's also another free SIP/VOIP application so this is not really "new"

XSPhone, it's developped by a Dutch ISP, but it also works with voip-/sip-buster and all other Telephone providers that offer connection through SIP.
These are other voip apps. Australian prices
* Weephone SIP $6 – 3.5star (current) 3star (older) Configurable SIP ports.
* 12Connect Open SIP Softphone: $8 (2star)
* iMC Client – $9 – Requires probably expensive "Mobile Convergence Controller"... http://www.comdasys.com/Products/FMC/index_html?lang=en
* iSip (aka SipPhone) $9 (4star current, 3star older) Runs while in sleep mode too.
* Media5 US ONLY (US$7, A$9) 1.5 star average overall.
* Acrobits Softphone $10 (4 star current, 3 star older)
* iPico SIP Client $13 (1.5star)
GregA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 08:19 AM   #17
GregA
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sydney Australia
Send a message via ICQ to GregA Send a message via AIM to GregA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirdir View Post
I have a 'free' (aka factory-unlocked) iPhone - they sell those in some countries of Europe. So, why should I care wether AT&T likes VOIP on their network, when my carrier allows me to use it?
Yeah.
In Australia, Three has a package integrating Skype calls via their mobile network. It'd be nice if they allowed Skype on the iPhone at least!
GregA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 10:21 AM   #18
leons
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
How do you use Skype to call US Land lines for free?


Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbreeze View Post
I don't use it much, but I can call landlines in the US from the US via Skpye for free.

I use Skype for all my 1-800 conference calls during the day. It's actually a more reliable connection that ATT in my home.

Figures.
leons is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 10:25 AM   #19
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by alent1234 View Post
how much is it to call landlines or people who don't have skype?
Skype World unlimited is $99 a year while Vonage Unlimited is $25 a month.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 10:56 AM   #20
alent1234
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
Skype World unlimited is $99 a year while Vonage Unlimited is $25 a month.

do you get a phone number? i was looking at getting rid of Vonage, but it's more expensive to use the cell phone during daytime than for vonage
alent1234 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 12:30 PM   #21
vista.john
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by leons View Post
How do you use Skype to call US Land lines for free?
1-800 number are free... even for regular users... I could be wrong, but that's what I got, no subscription, they don't charge me anything for making 1-800 calls.
vista.john is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 01:49 PM   #22
hanpa
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I have paid for unlimited 3G

I live in Europe, in a country that should not be under the dictatorship of AT&T/Apple. My operator allows me to use 7.2 Mbit/s without restrictions, also Skype on 3G but I have to jailbreak my device to use this. I suggest that Apple adds an AT&T switch in their firmware to allow the free parts of the world to use the iPhone to its full potential.
hanpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 02:47 PM   #23
hanpa
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by iphones4evry1 View Post
"The Vonage app will join the Skype app in offering VoIP connectivity to iPhone users and will likely share its Wi-Fi-only restriction."

Cool. Makes perfect sense.

Power to the Wi-Fi !!!!!!!
This joke is not funny
hanpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 03:02 PM   #24
Scooterman1
macrumors 6502a
 
Scooterman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, Tx
On Broadvoice, you can configure an incoming call to Ring Simultaneously on multiple U.S. phones.
As for dialing out with your iPhone, or the incoming call ringing through your home WiFi connection, this isn't in place.
__________________
--i--------------
---P---3--------
----h---2---3---
-----o---G---G--
------n---B---S--
-------e---------
Scooterman1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 03:04 PM   #25
gilkisson
macrumors 65816
 
gilkisson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach, Horry County (do not pronounce the "H"), South Cacalaki
Quote:
Originally Posted by hanpa View Post
I live in Europe, in a country that should not be under the dictatorship of AT&T/Apple. My operator allows me to use 7.2 Mbit/s without restrictions, also Skype on 3G but I have to jailbreak my device to use this. I suggest that Apple adds an AT&T switch in their firmware to allow the free parts of the world to use the iPhone to its full potential.
Quoted both for truth and for political irony...
gilkisson is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad App "Needs Additional Review Time"? Patoma16 iPhone/iPad Programming 4 Aug 7, 2011 10:04 AM
“Ninja Steve” Approved by Apple App Store! MacBytes MacBytes.com News Discussion 4 Dec 21, 2010 03:57 PM
Official Google Voice App Approved by Apple MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 108 Nov 16, 2010 03:25 PM
How long does it take for the APP to be approved by Apple? MGH iPhone and iPod touch Apps 7 Jul 21, 2010 09:24 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC