Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 1, 2009, 03:11 PM   #1
whyrichard
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Send a message via AIM to whyrichard
Wake macpro on public network w/iphone?

Hey,

Is there a way to wake my mac pro with my iphone? My mac pro is in a studio space hooked onto the internet with an unprotected wifi network, and my iphone is around on the ether...


thanks,

r.


p.s. it is a brand new mac pro...
__________________
09QuadMacPro/2xIntelSSD's/ati/nvidea,macbookpro2ghz/iphone3gs16gig / tibook/powerbook/ibook/duo/classic/lc/newton / ipod5/10/30
shuffle/60 '80 moto guzzi 1000sp/ktmdukeII/theworldsumluv
whyrichard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 03:16 PM   #2
FXT 1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Depends what you are looking to do. Stream music? etc

Or are you just all for the thrill of using your iPhone as remote for something

Also, perhaps this will help. I'm not sure it applies to the iPhone and you have to be running Snow Leopard. I assume you are if your Mac is so new (ie. you got it yesterday )
__________________
20" Alu iMac 2.4GHz, 3GB RAM 10.5.8
iPhone 3G 16GB
iPhone 4 32GB SIM Free
FXT 1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 04:14 PM   #3
whyrichard
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Send a message via AIM to whyrichard
I already read through that thread... i want to be able to use simplify media but i don't want the computer running all the time...

... seems like VNC would work... an app store search brings up a bunch. which solution is the most user friendly?


thanks,
r.
__________________
09QuadMacPro/2xIntelSSD's/ati/nvidea,macbookpro2ghz/iphone3gs16gig / tibook/powerbook/ibook/duo/classic/lc/newton / ipod5/10/30
shuffle/60 '80 moto guzzi 1000sp/ktmdukeII/theworldsumluv
whyrichard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2009, 07:06 AM   #4
oftheheavens
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: cherry point
any answers for this? i just got my copy of snow leopard and rushed to download simplify media, just to find out it doesn't work.

anyone know how to make it work?
oftheheavens is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2009, 11:58 AM   #5
FXT 1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by whyrichard View Post
I already read through that thread... i want to be able to use simplify media but i don't want the computer running all the time...

... seems like VNC would work... an app store search brings up a bunch. which solution is the most user friendly?


thanks,
r.
Well Based on your VNC theory, i assume you will wake your computer first, then run the simplify media App? I'm sure it is possible, any particular reason you can't use wake-on-demand?

In terms of which VNC is the best there is a thread here on Macrumors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oftheheavens View Post
any answers for this? i just got my copy of snow leopard and rushed to download simplify media, just to find out it doesn't work.

anyone know how to make it work?
I'm not sure if the developer has updated the software for Simplify media yet. However I'm sure he will be working on it.

Yet, this site: http://snowleopard.wikidot.com/ reports Simplify Media is supposedly running fine on SL.

Also is there not 32 bit mode or something in SL? Correct me if i'm wrong but try running it in that enviroment.
__________________
20" Alu iMac 2.4GHz, 3GB RAM 10.5.8
iPhone 3G 16GB
iPhone 4 32GB SIM Free
FXT 1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2009, 04:27 PM   #6
oftheheavens
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: cherry point
It isn't that simplify media isn't working after the installation of SL, it is that the wake over wan isn't working when I access simplify media from my iphone. Thanks
oftheheavens is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.8.4 stops Wake on Network Access nOw2 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 7 Oct 26, 2013 07:41 AM
Can't get AirPlay icon on iPhone 5 w Public Network wifi ldgrmnmc Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Apr 28, 2013 09:44 PM
Battery use on high traffic public wi-fi network digitalhen Community Discussion 1 Nov 26, 2012 10:12 AM
MacPro 5,1 won't start or wake up from sleep pianoman88 Mac Pro 1 Nov 12, 2012 12:11 AM
Browsing Public Wi-Fi network: Saffari suddenly closed; everything all right? doxavita iPod touch 3 Sep 29, 2012 08:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC