Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 3, 2009, 10:32 PM   #1
fernande-mac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Midwest
What's the biggest HD size for PowerMac G5 Dual 1.8 GHz?

I currently have a Stripped RAID setup with dual 160GB. However, I am looking into getting bigger internal HDs.

Do you know if there is a limit for the size of the HDs for my PowerMac G5? Or is this determined by the Operating System?

PowerMac G5 PPC Dual 1.8 GHz, 6 GB RAM
Mac OS X 10.4.11 (looking to upgrade to 10.5 soon)

Thanks!
__________________
iMac 27", 2.93 GHz Intel Core i7, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 5750, Mac OS X 10.6.8
iPod Touch 3rd Gen 32GB, iPhone 4, iPad 2

Last edited by fernande-mac; Sep 3, 2009 at 10:37 PM.
fernande-mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 12:48 AM   #2
aibo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
The only size limit was pre-Quicksilver G4s, when the controllers didn't have 48-bit addressing. So in other words -- no, there is no size limit for your computer or any Power Mac/Mac Pro since 2002.
__________________
2008 Mac Pro | 8-core 2.8GHz Xeon | R5870 OEM | 20GB RAM
aibo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 04:13 AM   #3
gugucom
macrumors 68020
 
gugucom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
With Leopard I know for sure that you can SW RAID0 two 2TB drives which would give you a total capacity ceiling of 4 TB with current drive technology. I don't remember if Tiger had the SW RAID0 facility in disk utility. I only switched 12 months ago.
__________________
MP4,1●3,33GHz Octad●2*160GB SSD●12GB RAM●Blu-Ray●FireDTV-S2●SL/Vista64
uMBP●SL/Vista64
TC 2TB iPhone●16GB
gugucom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 04:43 AM   #4
flatfoot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Actually, there is a limit...

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2422
__________________
Power Mac G5-i7 i7-870@3.52GHz, 8GB CL8 1600MHz RAM, GeForce 9600GT, 360GB internal SSD, 13TB storage + 12.25TB backup via HighPoint RR2314
MBA 2013 1.3 Ci5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
iPod touch 4G 32GB
flatfoot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 10:16 AM   #5
fernande-mac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by flatfoot View Post
Actually, there is a limit...

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2422
Well, well, I think I will be OK with that limit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gugucom View Post
I don't remember if Tiger had the SW RAID0 facility in disk utility.
Yes. Tiger supports SW RAID0. That's what I am using now with my dual 160GB.

Now that we are looking at Terabytes for storage. Is there any recommendation about RAID technology and partitioning setup to get the best performance and reliability?

For instance, is it better to have a single small HD (e.g., 160 GB) as the main boot disk with the OS and all the applications, and a second large HD (e.g., 1TB or more) for data?

Or is it better to have a RAID0 with two large HDs (e.g., 1TB or 2TB) and put everything in there?

Thanks!
__________________
iMac 27", 2.93 GHz Intel Core i7, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 5750, Mac OS X 10.6.8
iPod Touch 3rd Gen 32GB, iPhone 4, iPad 2

Last edited by yellow; Sep 4, 2009 at 01:20 PM. Reason: Merged Contiguous Posts
fernande-mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 01:19 PM   #6
wpc33
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Aside from the valid concerns over the older G4, I partially blame for so much confusion over drive limits. I know it doesn't necessarily apply here, but how many of you have read posts wondering if out-of-date promotional materials for Macs, stating "Up to X units of HDD space!", leaving some folks to wonder if it's a restriction?
__________________
Mac Mini, 2.26GHz, 4GB, X25-M G2 80GB PowerMac G5, Dual 1.8GHz Powerbook G3 Pismo, 400MHz
wpc33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2009, 04:43 PM   #7
gugucom
macrumors 68020
 
gugucom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Your best option is raid0 on two big disks. You could refine that by splitting the top ten % off both drives and make two RAID0 arrays. One small would hold OS and apps. The big one would hold the data you want to store like music and video.
__________________
MP4,1●3,33GHz Octad●2*160GB SSD●12GB RAM●Blu-Ray●FireDTV-S2●SL/Vista64
uMBP●SL/Vista64
TC 2TB iPhone●16GB
gugucom is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the biggest movie cover (cover art) size? stevefo Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Sep 8, 2013 12:53 AM
Nelaham 4,1 Dual 2.26 to 3.x ghz possible? Supermacguy Mac Pro 1 May 23, 2013 07:44 PM
Just upgrade my 2009 dual 2.26 to dual 2.93 GHz Amethyst Mac Pro 28 Jan 13, 2013 04:41 AM
MBP 13" biggest display size? itegypt Mac Peripherals 8 Jun 15, 2012 09:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC