Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 2, 2004, 08:47 PM   #1
Dr. Zauis
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Send a message via AIM to Dr. Zauis
Why does my CPU stay at 100% used?

A couple times a day I find my computer starts to slow down mainly when I'm using Safari. When I check the Activity Monitor I see that 0% of my CPU is idle and most of it is being taken up my Finder. It goes back to normal when I go to the Force Quit Menu and Relaunch Finder.
I am on a iMac G4 1ghz 256Mb RAM and on 10.3.4.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	15067  

Last edited by Dr. Zauis; Jul 2, 2004 at 08:51 PM.
Dr. Zauis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2004, 08:54 PM   #2
stoid
macrumors 68040
 
stoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: So long, and thanks for all the fish!
Have you installed ANY third-party hacks (i.e. ShapShifter, APE)? One of them might be causing this problem.
stoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2004, 09:15 PM   #3
KC9AIC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tokyo, Japan or Longview, Texas
Though I don't know what's consuming all your processor, you can type "top" into the Terminal to see more of what's happening. That would make a nice screenshot for us to see. BTW, my B&W G3 runs 100% all the time, since it's folding.
__________________
What are you looking here for?
KC9AIC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2004, 09:20 PM   #4
abhishekit
macrumors 65816
 
abhishekit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: akron , ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to abhishekit
In your picture, its finder which is taking all CPU. May be it got hung or you were accessing a network drive.
Regarding safari, it does take a lot of CPU sometimes on my comp too.
Also you may want to upgrade the ram a little bit.

cheers
__________________
" Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein
one of the videos I made
abhishekit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2004, 10:15 AM   #5
Dr. Zauis
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Send a message via AIM to Dr. Zauis
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoid
Have you installed ANY third-party hacks (i.e. ShapShifter, APE)? One of them might be causing this problem.
No
I restarted my computer to see if that will fix the problem. Next time it happens I'll take a screenshot of terminal.
Dr. Zauis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2004, 10:53 AM   #6
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Zauis
No
I restarted my computer to see if that will fix the problem. Next time it happens I'll take a screenshot of terminal.
Either that or sort descending by CPU % and click the System Memory tab and change from My Processes in the list box to All Processes.

Since you have so little RAM, almost anything you do in Finder could be causing the problem. If you have a photograph on your desktop, try eliminating that and see if it helps. You might want to keep track of when you do copies or use Find and see if the problem starts after that.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2004, 02:17 PM   #7
Dr. Zauis
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Send a message via AIM to Dr. Zauis
It happened again

After a day and a half with out my CPU getting stuck at 100% it happened again when I used Exposť. I attached my screen shots of terminal and activity monitor if that helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	terminal.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	15107   Click image for larger version

Name:	activitymonitor.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	15108  
Dr. Zauis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2004, 06:49 PM   #8
BrianKonarsMac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Zauis
After a day and a half with out my CPU getting stuck at 100% it happened again when I used Exposť. I attached my screen shots of terminal and activity monitor if that helps.
256MB of Ram is quite low. 512 i'd say is he BARE MINIMUM for OS X!! I use 512, and it's not exactly zippy, but it's 100% better than 256. I'll buy a gig stick eventually, but you really need to upgrade ASAP, even a 256 chip will give you a significant boost. It looks like your CPU is constantly going to the HD which isn't good.
BrianKonarsMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2004, 08:47 PM   #9
Dr. Zauis
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Send a message via AIM to Dr. Zauis
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianKonarsMac
256MB of Ram is quite low. 512 i'd say is he BARE MINIMUM for OS X!! I use 512, and it's not exactly zippy, but it's 100% better than 256. I'll buy a gig stick eventually, but you really need to upgrade ASAP, even a 256 chip will give you a significant boost. It looks like your CPU is constantly going to the HD which isn't good.
I know I need more RAM, thats what everybody is saying. I went to crucial.com and found out what I need .
I had no idea that it was that cheap. I think I'll get a 256MB for about $50 ( I remember about a year ago I bought a stick of 128MB PC100 RAM for about the same price at CompUSA) How easy is it to install new RAM in the iMac? Do I just unscrew the base and stick it in or do I have to get around some things?
Dr. Zauis is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5c doesn't stay 100% charged once unplugged Mcd2980 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 13 Dec 18, 2013 10:15 AM
kernel_task 100% CPU dean1012 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Nov 13, 2013 08:41 AM
CPU running at 100% macuser33 OS X 1 Jul 10, 2013 03:33 PM
Resolved: Finder 100% CPU Rossagues OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 12 Dec 23, 2012 05:40 PM
CPU temp and fan speed stay high for no apparent reasons d4q1n OS X 2 Jul 10, 2012 11:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC