Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 6, 2009, 06:04 AM   #1
Lycanthrope
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brussels, Belgium, Europe
Looking for suggestion for portable I/O

Hi Folks

I play in a few bands and want to be able to multi-track record in rehearsals. That means my MBP and some kind of decent, but portable audio input device. Mostly I'll be recording bass, guitar, electric drum-kit (preferably midi) and voice. I assume I can't seem to find anything suitable on the market, they either seem to be cheaper units with two inputs of professional stuff that' way over the top for what I need.

Any suggestions? Cheap, portable and good quality of course
__________________
Everything...
Lycanthrope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2009, 09:36 AM   #2
salientstimulus
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Are you hoping to record demos, or is this mainly for getting ideas down, etc? It sounds like you only need 3-4 tracks (gtr bs voc) + MIDI? And for the bass & guitar, will you mic the amps, or use line outs?
salientstimulus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2009, 12:56 PM   #3
Lycanthrope
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brussels, Belgium, Europe
No, it's not for demos - we have a studio we can use for that, this is just to record all our rehearsals to listen back to, indeed for capturing the ideas that come out of jamming, but also to analyze our playing to see where we can improve (so hard to hear this at the moment you're playing).

At the moment we take a feed from the mixer, audio out from the Roland V-drums, mics for the guitar/bass & voice. I imagine capturing v-Drums with midi is far better than audio, then three tracks for audio.
__________________
Everything...
Lycanthrope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2009, 06:03 PM   #4
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
So you've looked around and found that once you've gone past two audio inputs you are into some $$$. I think there are only a few options (1) buy two of the cheaper interfaces and gang then together as a "composite" or (2) use an analog mixer and mix down to two tracks. Or (3) Keep an eye out for used studio gear. That is the route I'd go.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2009, 10:22 PM   #5
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
M audio 1812 (not sure if that is the right number)

2 XLR ins and 6 more 1/4 jacks that you can use if you have a sound board kicking around.
I love mine.
Firewire makes sure that I don't get lag or mess ups.
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2009, 03:12 AM   #6
Lycanthrope
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brussels, Belgium, Europe
I can't see any 1812, but there's this:

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/ProFire610.html

All the line-outs on the back, are they for individual tracks for inputting onto a mixer?
__________________
Everything...
Lycanthrope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2009, 01:03 PM   #7
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
yeah, just like that.
But I have a feeling that one has a nicer look and that equals higher price tag.

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/FireWire1814.html
this is the one.
it has ADAT lightpipe incase you ever want to add another unit.
It has been awesome.

i've done 8 tracks with live effects no problem
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2009, 03:53 PM   #8
Lycanthrope
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brussels, Belgium, Europe
Oh yes, I missed that one, cheers.

Strangely it's more expensive in some shops here then the Profire, others less. I'll read up the specs for comparison, but otherwise looks perfect for the job.

Thanks a lot!
__________________
Everything...
Lycanthrope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2009, 04:19 PM   #9
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
yeah, it's the light pipe.
if you don't know what it is and are never going to use it, then go for the profire one. My only comment ontop of that little unit is to have a compressor that is about the same size.
something like this or cheaper might be good:
http://www.long-mcquade.com/?page=pr...roductsID=5840

drums can be a bit tricky on the m-audio unit, but you said that it was midi right? then no worries.
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2009, 04:37 AM   #10
Lycanthrope
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brussels, Belgium, Europe
So is the Profire the better model or the 1814?

Here the Profire is more expensive:

Profire 280: http://www.dv247.com/computer-hardwa...terface--57220

1814 230: http://www.dv247.com/computer-hardwa...terface--22278

But here the 1814 is more:

Profire 319: http://www.keymusic.be/details.asp?prodid=105675&taal=

1814 399: http://www.keymusic.be/details.asp?prodid=81400&taal=0

So if the 1814 is the better model then that's a bit of a bargain from DV247!!
__________________
Everything...
Lycanthrope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2009, 12:51 AM   #11
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
profire.
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 12:42 PM   #12
Lycanthrope
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brussels, Belgium, Europe
Well I bought a second-hand 1814 for 160
__________________
Everything...
Lycanthrope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 06:42 AM   #13
Lycanthrope
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brussels, Belgium, Europe
Just a short post-script...

I got my 1814 and did a first rehearsal session with it yesterday. Out of the box I was able to just plug it in and record four audio + MIDI. Really easy to use on my MBP and Logic 9.

Only problem I had was that I read the night before that there still were no drivers for Snow Leopard (apparently M-Audio have a history here of being lax with drivers), so I did a reinstall of Leopard.

Well impressed though, thanks for the recommendation
__________________
Everything...
Lycanthrope is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC