Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 6, 2009, 04:22 PM   #1
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
NetBeans 6.7.1 unstable on Snow Leopard

Anyone else experience this? My installation seems to crash quite frequently, for no apparent reason.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2009, 05:13 PM   #2
David2070
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Yeah, I have the same problem. I'm not sure what the problem is, but its definately not as stable as it was under Leopard.
David2070 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 06:52 AM   #3
squix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
The same problem. A lot worse than under Leopard.
squix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 08:59 PM   #4
UpWorks
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I have had to stop using Netbeans all together. It literally drains the CPU. If you type a dollar sign ($) in your code it lags for up to 10-15 secs before allowing you to continue.

I am running on a MacBook Pro (new one) with 4 gig of memory and I have the k64 enabled to 64 bit and it still is a dog. I hope it gets patched soon, I am not a fan of going back to Dreamweaver.
UpWorks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 09:18 AM   #5
psaint
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dublin
New Java version?

I don't experience slowdowns but it can crash quite unexpectedly. Snow Leopard is shipping with new version of Java which I'd suspect does not play well on OS X or Netbeans itself got issue with it.
psaint is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 01:26 PM   #6
Alan S
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California
Java 1.6 only on Snow Leopard??

So is it true that Snow Leopard only runs with Java 1.6, and will uninstall a Java 1.5 JRE if it finds it.

Maybe, NetBeans requires something in Java 1.5.

I'm speculating but the only thing that comes to mind is the "swing-layout-1.0.3.jar" which had some Swing Layout classes (not included in 1.5) that became standard with a different package name in Java 1.6.
Alan S is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 01:27 PM   #7
daflake
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I switched to Eclipse because of the problems. It seems to be running a lot better now.
daflake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 07:09 PM   #8
wrldwzrd89
Thread Starter
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
I ended up switching to Eclipse as well - and not regretting my decision. Sure, NetBeans is nice, but when it's THAT unstable it's not really usable.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2009, 06:00 PM   #9
Alan S
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California
Any update. NetBeans on Snow Leopard?

Do we have any update on running NetBeans on Snow Leopard?
Alan S is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 04:18 AM   #10
squix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I google around every week but apparently, there is still no solution
squix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2009, 11:57 AM   #11
bjohnosn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
We were able to get Netbeans more stable on Snow Leopard by following the steps here http://chxor.chxo.com/post/183013153...n-snow-leopard and then changing either the netbeans.conf file or changing Java Preferences to prefer java 5 over 6 for applications.
bjohnosn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2009, 01:01 PM   #12
wrldwzrd89
Thread Starter
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjohnosn View Post
We were able to get Netbeans more stable on Snow Leopard by following the steps here http://chxor.chxo.com/post/183013153...n-snow-leopard and then changing either the netbeans.conf file or changing Java Preferences to prefer java 5 over 6 for applications.
That doesn't work on Snow Leopard, as the Java 5 JRE/JDK is just a symbolic link to JRE/JDK 6.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2009, 01:21 PM   #13
lee1210
macrumors 68040
 
lee1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrldwzrd89 View Post
That doesn't work on Snow Leopard, as the Java 5 JRE/JDK is just a symbolic link to JRE/JDK 6.
Did you follow the instructions on that site? I just took a glance and it looks like there are steps to get java 5 on your snow leopard system.

-Lee
lee1210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2009, 01:23 PM   #14
wrldwzrd89
Thread Starter
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by lee1210 View Post
Did you follow the instructions on that site? I just took a glance and it looks like there are steps to get java 5 on your snow leopard system.

-Lee
I didn't even look at the site in question, I simply posted based on what's included in SL.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 04:04 PM   #15
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
I have 6.7.1 running on 10.6.1 without issues. No slowdowns at all and almost no processor usage.

Anyway, Eclipse for the win!
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 04:08 PM   #16
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transporteur View Post
I have 6.7.1 running on 10.6.1 without issues. No slowdowns at all and almost no processor usage.
I certainly don't have any issues and that is with just about all of the Java plugins installed. I wouldn't say there was no processor usage though and the RAM consumption seems to be through the roof.

Still no crashes which is something I guess, and Netbeans is a far nicer IDE than Eclipse if you ask me (*no flames intended*).
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2009, 04:48 PM   #17
bjohnosn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrldwzrd89 View Post
That doesn't work on Snow Leopard, as the Java 5 JRE/JDK is just a symbolic link to JRE/JDK 6.
If you look at the link in the post it explains how to install jvm 1.5 and even 1.4 if you like. Maybe my post was a little too terse. After doing so netbeans became much more stable. I still have unexpected closing but it is now functional for me.
bjohnosn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2009, 08:27 AM   #18
wrldwzrd89
Thread Starter
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
I've got good news, and bad news along these lines. The good news: NetBeans 6.8 is coming soon. The bad news: It looks like this release has some of the same issues 6.7.1 had on Mac OS X
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2009, 05:44 PM   #19
tercerojista
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjohnosn View Post
We were able to get Netbeans more stable on Snow Leopard by following the steps here http://chxor.chxo.com/post/183013153...n-snow-leopard and then changing either the netbeans.conf file or changing Java Preferences to prefer java 5 over 6 for applications.
Apologies for being noobish, but where do I find netbeans.conf?! Everything I read just refers to this file as if I should know where it is, but I don't have a clue...

NetBeans 6.7.1 is quite temperamental for me now with Snow Leopard.
tercerojista is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2009, 06:10 PM   #20
wrldwzrd89
Thread Starter
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by tercerojista View Post
Apologies for being noobish, but where do I find netbeans.conf?! Everything I read just refers to this file as if I should know where it is, but I don't have a clue...

NetBeans 6.7.1 is quite temperamental for me now with Snow Leopard.
It's located inside the NetBeans application bundle, I believe. Right-click on NetBeans.app, choose Show Package Contents, drill down into Contents -> Resources, it's in there.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2009, 11:51 PM   #21
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Thats a shame about Netbeans. I use it all the time for class as an alternative to visual studio. (Don't get me wrong I love VS but...I have a mac not a win machine and dont care to go back to windows.)

Hopefully everything gets fixed soon.
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2009, 11:24 AM   #22
asafm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
PermSize increase fixed it

Hi guys,

I solved that problem by increasing the values for MaxPermSize and Permsize option in netbeans.conf:

netbeans_default_options="-J-Dorg.netbeans.modules.tomcat.autoregister.token=1252227984581 -J-Dorg.netbeans.modules.tomcat.autoregister.catalinaHome=\"/home/asaf/apache-tomcat-6.0.18\" -J-client -J-Xss2m -J-Xms32m -J-XX:PermSize=512m -J-XX:MaxPermSize=1024m -J-Xverify:none -J-Dapple.laf.useScreenMenuBar=true -J-Dsun.java2d.noddraw=true"

My java is 1.6.0_12
asafm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 11:34 AM   #23
squix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by asafm View Post
Hi guys,

I solved that problem by increasing the values for MaxPermSize and Permsize option in netbeans.conf:

netbeans_default_options="-J-Dorg.netbeans.modules.tomcat.autoregister.token=1252227984581 -J-Dorg.netbeans.modules.tomcat.autoregister.catalinaHome=\"/home/asaf/apache-tomcat-6.0.18\" -J-client -J-Xss2m -J-Xms32m -J-XX:PermSize=512m -J-XX:MaxPermSize=1024m -J-Xverify:none -J-Dapple.laf.useScreenMenuBar=true -J-Dsun.java2d.noddraw=true"

My java is 1.6.0_12

this seems to work - I increased the values to 256 and 512:
PermSize=256m -J-XX:MaxPermSize=512m
squix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2009, 12:51 PM   #24
squix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
update on the previous two posts:
no, increasing the memory as recommended in the previous two posts just causes that the crash comes later so, unfortunately, it is not a solution

btw. 6.8rc1 comes still with this bug.

Cheers
squix is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac was running Snow Leo; Genius put Mtn Lion; I NEED Snow Leopard back; have disk SophiaSapphire Mac Basics and Help 14 Oct 20, 2013 01:17 PM
Leopard to Snow Leopard on MBP 2009 - worth it? uncleMonty OS X 6 Feb 17, 2013 01:28 PM
Downgrading from Lion to Snow using time machine and USB (Snow Leopard) djarsalan2006 OS X 0 Jan 19, 2013 12:37 AM
Upgrade Leopard to Snow Leopard 2008 iMac? roberttrussell MacBook 1 Nov 18, 2012 06:02 PM
Syncing iPhone 5 on PPC Leopard via a Snow Leopard Macbook Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 2 Oct 2, 2012 09:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC