Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Hatchet

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 9, 2007
Baton Rouge
Ok, so I am getting a MBP this week but I am having trouble deciding which MBP fits my needs at this time.

I am a web designer who uses Adobe Creative Suite quite often (Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Illustrator (large files)). I'll also use this for all business tasks (Office, internet, email) along with personal (itunes, photos, etc). I will notbe doing any video editing.

I know of 1 thing for sure, I am getting a matte screen so I have to order it from Apple.com.

So, in terms of processor speed (2.5 - 2.8) what is the difference in these? Will i see a major difference?

I am also most likely going to go for the 320 or 500 GB harddrive? Does 5400 or 7200 RPM matter with these?

In terms of graphics, do i need to go with the 9400 + 9600 and if so, what is the difference between 256 and 512mb in these cards?

In terms of updates, is the MBP due for any upgrades soon?

Any and all advice is appreciated. I want to make sure I am getting a machine that will last me 2-4 years.

thegoldenmackid

macrumors 604
Dec 29, 2006
dallas, texas
So, in terms of processor speed (2.5 - 2.8) what is the difference in these? Will i see a major difference?
There is not a huge difference, but is a difference. If you are not doing any rendering the differences you will notice will be most noticeable on start times.

I am also most likely going to go for the 320 or 500 GB harddrive? Does 5400 or 7200 RPM matter with these?
You can do this upgrade yourself. What fits your needs better. I'd definitely get the 7200.

In terms of graphics, do i need to go with the 9400 + 9600 and if so, what is the difference between 256 and 512mb in these cards?
I'd go with the upgraded one if you plan on using it in portable mode.

January-February.