Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2009, 06:58 PM   #1
supermac1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Genius Problems

When i try to turn on genius and upload my info to itunes, it keeps saying there is a connection problem with itunes. Anyone else having this problem?
supermac1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2009, 06:59 PM   #2
Surely
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I didn't have that problem, but if everyone is trying to connect at the same time, it wouldn't surprise me if Apple's servers are overloaded.
Surely is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2009, 07:17 PM   #3
supermac1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Ugh. I just tried it on my sisters computer and it worked quickly. Now i dont know what to do.
supermac1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2009, 07:32 PM   #4
Surely
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Try quitting iTunes and restarting it. Then try Genius again.
Surely is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2009, 08:14 PM   #5
supermac1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surely View Post
Try quitting iTunes and restarting it. Then try Genius again.
Tried several times. Doesnít help.
supermac1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2009, 08:22 PM   #6
tylerscottd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Same problem here, donít know what to doÖ
tylerscottd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2009, 08:29 PM   #7
ipedro
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
I have the same issue. I quit iTunes, restarted the Mac, went through the process of turning off the Genius and then turning it back on... I still get the message:

We could not complete your iTunes Store request.
The network connection was lost.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 12:00 AM   #8
ipedro
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Found a Solution

I found a fix.

Quit iTunes, then Delete the iTunes Library Genius.itdb file in the parent iTunes folder.

When you go back into iTunes, follow the regular procedure to enable Genius and it works.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 12:16 AM   #9
tylerscottd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipedro View Post
I found a fix.

Quit iTunes, then Delete the iTunes Library Genius.itdb file in the parent iTunes folder.

When you go back into iTunes, follow the regular procedure to enable Genius and it works.
Just tried this, unfortunately still doesnít seem to be working for me
tylerscottd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 12:28 AM   #10
ipedro
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Yeah, false alarm

What it did was allow iTunes to gather information about your library which delayed the error message for a while. The problem happens when iTunes tries to send the results to Apple.

I'm calling AppleCare in the morning to troubleshoot this.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 12:34 AM   #11
tylerscottd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipedro View Post
I'm calling AppleCare in the morning to troubleshoot this.
Report back with what they say, if you donít mind?
tylerscottd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 12:37 AM   #12
ipedro
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Now I Fixed It!

Damn it! That was a tough cookie to crack!

Cookies!! Quit iTunes then go to your /user/library folder and move the Cookies folder to the desktop or delete it.

Turn on Genius. It works!

There must be some weird setting saved in cookies with an incorrect URL to send the info to Apple.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 12:46 AM   #13
tylerscottd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Finally! It works

Although I noticed that if I had Safari open while I did this it didnít seem to have an effect (might just be something with my Mac though)
tylerscottd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 01:06 AM   #14
cosmokanga2
macrumors 6502a
 
cosmokanga2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada, where we live in igloos.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerscottd View Post
Finally! It works

Although I noticed that if I had Safari open while I did this it didnít seem to have an effect (might just be something with my Mac though)
Works! Thanks a zillion.
__________________
Mid-2013 13" MacBook Air, iPhone 5, Nikon D800
Website
cosmokanga2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2009, 06:07 PM   #15
pardthemonster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipedro View Post
Damn it! That was a tough cookie to crack!

Cookies!! Quit iTunes then go to your /user/library folder and move the Cookies folder to the desktop or delete it.

Turn on Genius. It works!

There must be some weird setting saved in cookies with an incorrect URL to send the info to Apple.
You could have found this solution at Apple's Discussion Board quicker: http://discussions.apple.com/message...67163#10167163
pardthemonster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2009, 12:20 PM   #16
ricfactor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Don't blow away all your cookies

If you don't want to blow away all of your cookies, just open Safari's preferences, and under the Security tab click the Show Cookies button. Search iTune and remove that cookie. This worked for me.
ricfactor is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rap Genius Launches 'Genius' iOS App for Song Lyric Discovery MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 7 Jan 30, 2014 12:34 AM
Apple Genius Re-installed OSX, more problems from it davyvfr MacBook Pro 2 Mar 16, 2013 07:00 PM
Genius benaaustin iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Dec 6, 2012 11:50 PM
AppleCare/Genius Bar to take care of heat problems on 15" rMBP? thomj MacBook Pro 1 Nov 9, 2012 02:39 AM
Drive Genius 3 Problems w00t951 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Aug 12, 2012 01:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC