Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Old Sep 10, 2009, 04:33 AM   #1
SchneiderMan
macrumors 604

Other web building tools like iWeb?

I'm using iWeb and MobileMe to host and upload a site I did with my domain and it was nice, easy and fast. But I'm not sure I want to pay $100 just for that. Is there any other similar tools I can use? I'm new to all this, thanks
Old Sep 10, 2009, 07:21 AM   #2
sanPietro98
macrumors 6502a

RapidWeaver is pretty good. I think it costs $79, but it has a wide range of plugins to customize to your needs.

Last edited by sanPietro98; Sep 10, 2009 at 07:22 AM. Reason: Fixed typo
sanPietro98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 07:26 AM   #3
sanPietro98
macrumors 6502a

Of course, if you use RapidWeaver (or any other tools for that matter), you'll still need a place to host the website. MobileMe is expensive if that's all you're using it for.

There are numerous hosting companies out there that will host small low-bandwidth sites for $5 / month. There may be free ones too, but I haven't researched that recently.

If you just want a blog-style website, you can always go to WordPress.com.
Old Sep 10, 2009, 02:45 PM   #4
SchneiderMan
macrumors 604

So rapidweaver is like iweb but then i still need to host my site right? any other tools like rapidweaver for less money? thank you for your help. im downloading the trial now.
Old Sep 11, 2009, 12:48 AM   #5
Kwill
macrumors 68000

Sandvox ($57/97) is similar to RapidWeaver ($79). The main advantage over iWeb ($79) is that it (for now) still supports Tiger on PowerPCs in addition to Intel Macs. It publishes to MobileMe or to other hosts via FTP. iWeb requires Leopard. However, I must admit, iWeb designs are more polished than Sandvox.