Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wilson

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 26, 2004
I'm planning to buy a G5 soon but I'm not sure which model to get. I was leaning towards the 1.8 at first but now I have second thoughts. I don't want to get the 1.8 now and later regret that I didn't get the 2.0 instead. My budget right now is kinda tight and I really need a new computer, My G3 iBook is killing me. I'm a graphic design graduate, what would u recommend?

Thanks.

thehuncamunca

macrumors 6502
Jul 9, 2003
NJ
dual 2.0, besides the extra speed, has 8 ram slots and PCI-X slots that the dual 1.8 doesn't
whether or not those are worth the extra 500 is up to you i think it's quite a lot extra for very little

Wilson said:
I'm planning to buy a G5 soon but I'm not sure which model to get. I was leaning towards the 1.8 at first but now I have second thoughts. I don't want to get the 1.8 now and later regret that I didn't get the 2.0 instead. My budget right now is kinda tight and I really need a new computer, My G3 iBook is killing me. I'm a graphic design graduate, what would u recommend?

Thanks.

kbonnel

macrumors 6502
Mar 1, 2004
In a nice place..
I would also go with the 2.0. Since it comes with 512megs of ram, and has 6 free slots, you have more options in memory. (like keeping the 2 256's, and adding 512's) The 1.8 only has 256 standard, and two free slots. So you have to get rid of the 128's right away if you want any real memory options, so add some costs there. I think in the end, you will be much happier with the 2.0. Or, find a rev A dual 1.8.

Kimo

raynegus

macrumors regular
Jul 5, 2003
As an example, if you put 4 GB of RAM in either machine, the dual 2.0 is CHEAPER than the dual 1.8 because the 2.0 can do it with eight 512MB chips while the 1.8 would have to do it with four 1GB chips. 1GB chips are expensive.

Something to consider.

JFreak

macrumors 68040
Jul 11, 2003