Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 15, 2009, 02:38 AM   #26
dukee101
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
I've tried the original method posted by the OP as well as KingYaba's alternate way and despite several (maybe up to 10) reboots, my 'Get Info' dialogue for my NTFS volume still says "read only"



waiting on a script or something here that hopefully gets right what i keep getting wrong, because i'm following everything by the book.

would this require a USB plug-out/plug-back-in or something?

i really want this to work because Paragon/MacFUSE are not preferable. they stick to the bottom of the OS like nasty gum on your shoe, and it's just gunky crap.
dukee101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 03:18 AM   #27
Chunk72
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Durham, UK
Send a message via MSN to Chunk72
Thanks for the tip - this works a treat.
Chunk72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 03:42 AM   #28
chavanak
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: On Earth?
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingYaba View Post
You're missing an s?
That was a typo here I have double checked the fstab file and it is correct. The automount is not able to find the path to mount the filesystem. I wonder what I am supposed to do
Also I had installed ntfs-3g, when I remove this even my FAT file system will not mount
__________________
15" MBP, 2.66 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 750 GB HD ; 32 GB iPod touch 2G ; 32 GB iPhone 3GS

Last edited by chavanak; Sep 15, 2009 at 03:56 AM.
chavanak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 09:33 AM   #29
kirreip
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pontiacy View Post

(...)

I think what happened is that apple created a new folder with the same name without noticing it would replace the old one.
Apple? Apple is a company (or a fruit...)! They do not create folders on your mac
kirreip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 01:36 PM   #30
linkboy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukee101 View Post
I've tried the original method posted by the OP as well as KingYaba's alternate way and despite several (maybe up to 10) reboots, my 'Get Info' dialogue for my NTFS volume still says "read only"



waiting on a script or something here that hopefully gets right what i keep getting wrong, because i'm following everything by the book.

would this require a USB plug-out/plug-back-in or something?

i really want this to work because Paragon/MacFUSE are not preferable. they stick to the bottom of the OS like nasty gum on your shoe, and it's just gunky crap.
Same with me, I've tried it twice and I can't get it to work. Anyone got it running with 10.6.1 (maybe Apple "fixed" it).

edit
3rd times a charm, just tried it again and it worked.

Last edited by linkboy; Sep 15, 2009 at 01:58 PM.
linkboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 09:10 PM   #31
ede3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Thanks so much Chrysaor! It worked perfectly for me on a WD Passport USB external HDD.
ede3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 05:09 PM   #32
prp8683
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysaor View Post
Save the file (ctrl-x then y) and restart your system.
Works like a charm, but the reboot is not required. All you need to do is unmount and remount the volume. You can do this from Disk Utility, or if the disk is external, by unplugging it and then plugging it back in. (Be sure to eject the disk before unplugging it...)
prp8683 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 07:52 PM   #33
dukee101
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Thanks for the tip about simply ejecting and unplugging instead of doing a reboot. That makes it easier to diagnose the problem.

Unfortunately, doing this again didn't enable write support. Could it be a compatibility issue? Like does this trick not work with WD MyBook's or something? Or it should just work across any device?

Also, would manually deleting the fstab and fstab.hd files from the /etc folder make a difference? Perhaps trying it from scratch, saving a new file in the editor app?

Any help would really be appreciated, as well as perhaps a custom pref-pane or plug-in or something
dukee101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 08:21 PM   #34
iBlacky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Rename the original /sbin/mount_ntfs tool:

sudo mv /sbin/mount_ntfs /sbin/mount_ntfs.orig

Create a script like this:

#!/bin/sh
/sbin/mount_ntfs.orig -o rw "$@

save the script to /sbin/mount_ntfs

sudo chown root:wheel /sbin/mount_ntfs
sudo chmod 755 /sbin/mount_ntfs

Enjoy R/W access to NTFS volumes...

In case you don't like it

sudo mv /sbin/mount_ntfs.orig /sbin/mount_ntfs

and everything is back to R/O.
iBlacky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 07:51 PM   #35
esposimi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lititz, PA
Send a message via AIM to esposimi
Worked like a charm. Thanks!
__________________
iPod Touch 4G, iPad Air WiFi, iPhone 4S
esposimi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 07:38 PM   #36
dukee101
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBlacky View Post
Rename the original /sbin/mount_ntfs tool:

sudo mv /sbin/mount_ntfs /sbin/mount_ntfs.orig
I can't rename the file. It says "You don't have permission to rename the item "mount_ntfs"" even though I modified the permissions and added 'admin(me)' to the list of read/write users. in the "Get Info" dialogue box.

Furthermore, how would I create and execute that script? Why do some people have to do this and others (seems like most) don't have to even bother?
dukee101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 03:57 AM   #37
applevx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
iBlacky of the same forum posted a better method. Basically, it's running mount_ntfs with read/write option specified.

Here's how it's done in Terminal:
sudo mv /sbin/mount_ntfs /sbin/mount_ntfs.orig

sudo nano /sbin/mount_ntfs
#!/bin/sh
/sbin/mount_ntfs.orig -o rw "$@"
(press Enter, Ctrl-O, Enter, Ctrl-X in sequence)
sudo chown root:wheel /sbin/mount_ntfs
sudo chmod 755 /sbin/mount_ntfs

Make sure to check that mount_ntfs is listed as -rwxr-xr-x and root wheel when you type ls -al /sbin/mount_ntfs and you're good to go.

P.S.
If it isn't working for you, it may be that the NTFS partition wasn't cleanly unmounted previously (e.g. not using safe eject in Windows). To check if this is the case, open Console in Utilities, and go to 'All Messages' instead of 'Console Messages'. Search for 'ntfs' and you may come across an error that displays like this:
NTFS-fs error (device /dev/disk3s1, pid 435): ntfs_system_inodes_get(): $LogFile is not clean. Mounting read-only. Mount in Windows.
You need to plug the disk into Windows-running system, and do a safe eject. Then the NTFS partition will mount in read/write mode.

Good luck!
Again thanks iBlacky
applevx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 09:58 PM   #38
iBlacky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukee101 View Post
I can't rename the file. It says "You don't have permission to rename the item "mount_ntfs"" even though I modified the permissions and added 'admin(me)' to the list of read/write users. in the "Get Info" dialogue box.

Furthermore, how would I create and execute that script? Why do some people have to do this and others (seems like most) don't have to even bother?
Sorry I forgot to mention that you have to use the Terminal.app, but "applevx" explained the missing parts very good :-), so follow his guide.
iBlacky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 08:27 PM   #39
cdingdong
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I tried this method on my WD Passport that's formatted NTFS, and it works. I am using OSX 10.6.1. On the Prasys' Blog website, it said that there is a chance that this method would corrupt the partition (in my case it would be my external hard drive), but I took the gamble. Worked out in my favor. I used NTFS-3G + MacFuse on Tiger and Leopard before, and the transfer speed is much slower to my external hard drive. I thought it was because of my Macbook's USB 1.0 ports. Now that I use native NTFS read/write support from Snow Leopard, I see that it was NTFS-3G + MacFuse that slowed me down.
cdingdong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2009, 09:23 AM   #40
wesley96
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Um, excuse me, iBlacky, it's not applevx's guide. It's mine.

applevx just copied and pasted what I wrote at my blog without giving a proper link.

http://www.tool-box.info/blog/archiv...e-support.html

applevx, please don't rip off what other people write outright. I clearly gave credit to iBlacky about the method and expanded upon it to be fully doable in Terminal, as well as a way of diagnosing and fixing possible error that may arise. The post stands on its own properly. On the other hand, you just copied the major part of my posting without changing even a word. That's just wrong.

Last edited by wesley96; Sep 21, 2009 at 09:37 AM.
wesley96 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2009, 12:24 PM   #41
applevx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesley96 View Post
Um, excuse me, iBlacky, it's not applevx's guide. It's mine.

applevx just copied and pasted what I wrote at my blog without giving a proper link.

http://www.tool-box.info/blog/archiv...e-support.html

applevx, please don't rip off what other people write outright. I clearly gave credit to iBlacky about the method and expanded upon it to be fully doable in Terminal, as well as a way of diagnosing and fixing possible error that may arise. The post stands on its own properly. On the other hand, you just copied the major part of my posting without changing even a word. That's just wrong.

I am sorry wesley96 if my post hurts your feeling, I am sorry.

I got that explanation from web site but not sure whether or not your blog. I am just simply try to help people here as you trying to do so. We have the same goal here and also the original idea comes from iBlacky, doesn't it?

I am not sure whom I was copy from, but clearly that was iBlacky's idea, that's why I said that THANKS iBlacky! The credit goes to iBlacky!

Again, wesley96, I am sorry, hope you can forgive me.
applevx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2009, 09:31 PM   #42
jakimowicz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I wrote a small app to help mounting ntfs volume read/write : http://ntfsmounter.com
jakimowicz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 12:39 AM   #43
wesley96
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by applevx View Post
I am sorry wesley96 if my post hurts your feeling, I am sorry.

I got that explanation from web site but not sure whether or not your blog. I am just simply try to help people here as you trying to do so. We have the same goal here and also the original idea comes from iBlacky, doesn't it?

I am not sure whom I was copy from, but clearly that was iBlacky's idea, that's why I said that THANKS iBlacky! The credit goes to iBlacky!

Again, wesley96, I am sorry, hope you can forgive me.
Apology accepted.
wesley96 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 11:35 AM   #44
brodenborn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Doesn't Work on SL 10.6.1

I don't know if something has changed in SL since the last post, but none of the above works on either my internal drive's Bootcamp partition (made under 10.5). I cannot get a UUID from the command line or from Disk Utility. The drive is not mounted and there's no information about it. Disk Utility sees the partition, but cannot verify or repair. I tried running chdsk while booted in Windows, but that cannot be done as it is the boot partition, i.e. it cannot be unmounted first. I attached a screenshot of what Disk Utility gives when I ask for information. I also tried using the Label=BOOTCAMP method, but that did not work either.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DiskUtility.png
Views:	139
Size:	43.6 KB
ID:	195678  
brodenborn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 05:57 PM   #45
adrianmak
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBlacky View Post
Rename the original /sbin/mount_ntfs tool:

sudo mv /sbin/mount_ntfs /sbin/mount_ntfs.orig

Create a script like this:

#!/bin/sh
/sbin/mount_ntfs.orig -o rw "$@

save the script to /sbin/mount_ntfs

sudo chown root:wheel /sbin/mount_ntfs
sudo chmod 755 /sbin/mount_ntfs

Enjoy R/W access to NTFS volumes...

In case you don't like it

sudo mv /sbin/mount_ntfs.orig /sbin/mount_ntfs

and everything is back to R/O.
with this tricky shell script, should /etc/fstab file still needed ?
adrianmak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 07:21 PM   #46
iBlacky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianmak View Post
with this tricky shell script, should /etc/fstab file still needed ?
Nope, you don't need /etc/fstab

/etc/fstab is deprecated anyway :-)
iBlacky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 07:26 PM   #47
iBlacky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesley96 View Post
Um, excuse me, iBlacky, it's not applevx's guide. It's mine.

applevx just copied and pasted what I wrote at my blog without giving a proper link.

http://www.tool-box.info/blog/archiv...e-support.html
Btw. to edit

/System/Library/Filesystems/ntfs.fs/Contents/info.plist

and to add "-o rw"

to

FSMountArguments

doesn't work because the

diskarbitrationd

deamon doesn't read the info.plist, so no matter what you insert in "FSMountArguments" the "diskarbitrationd" daemon ignores it.
iBlacky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 07:44 PM   #48
adrianmak
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBlacky View Post
Nope, you don't need /etc/fstab

/etc/fstab is deprecated anyway :-)

I followed the instruction to create this shell script and made a reboot. But I can only have read on hdd in ntfs format .

I used console.app and didn't find and errors,warning with ntfs


Last edited by adrianmak; Sep 22, 2009 at 07:49 PM.
adrianmak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 07:53 PM   #49
iBlacky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianmak View Post
I followed the instruction to create this shell script and made a reboot. But I can only have read on hdd in ntfs format .

I used console.app and didn't find and errors,warning with ntfs
I assume your NTFS volume wasn't cleanly unmounted previously and this way you can only mount it read-only.
iBlacky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 07:57 PM   #50
adrianmak
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBlacky View Post
I assume your NTFS volume wasn't cleanly unmounted previously and this way you can only mount it read-only.

I used diskutil gui to unmount all ntfs HDDs and reboot SL but they are still read only.
adrianmak is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the current state of native NTFS read/write MacRaccoon OS X 7 Nov 8, 2013 11:31 AM
Resolved: How to enable native NTFS write in 10.8 Mountain Lion? LinMac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 12 May 17, 2013 01:42 AM
native NTFS write? MacRaccoon OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Feb 21, 2013 05:05 PM
Read and Write NTFS in OS X mbanewuser MacBook Air 5 Dec 20, 2012 12:03 PM
NTFS program to read/write on ML jmfel1926 MacBook Air 3 Aug 26, 2012 06:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC