Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 13, 2009, 09:46 AM   #1
salientstimulus
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Crossfading two audio tracks in Logic?

This might be a stupid question, but I haven't figured it out yet, and it seems like there's probably an easy method.

I recorded an acoustic guitar part with two microphones (one close and one further back), and I'd like to find a way to smoothly crossfade between them. I've previously used automation to control wet/dry signal from effect plug-ins, which was easy, MIDI-controllable, and non-destructive. Is there a similar way to control A/B signal using the automation system?
salientstimulus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2009, 03:02 AM   #2
seisend
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Switzerland, ZG
Did you check out the Crossfade tool in Logic Pro ? Just search in the manual, there is a how-to .
__________________
- MP 2009, 8x 2.26 GHz, 24GB Ram, Vertex 3 120GB + 7.6TB HDD, nVidia 285 GTX, 2x 24" Screens
- MBP 15" 2011, 2.2 GHz, 8GB Ram, Vertex 3 120GB + 500GB HDD
Check out my music on www.seisendsix.com
seisend is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2009, 08:21 AM   #3
salientstimulus
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
The crossfade tool (at least as far as I understand it) seems like kind of a pain for what I want to do. I'm hoping to have two tracks that are played for the entire song, and smoothly change the balance between them over time (i.e., more room sound at some points, more proximity effect-bass at other points). Basically, I guess I'm hoping there's a way to use automation to control both track faders in opposite directions (like a DJ's crossfader or wet/dry knob).
salientstimulus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2009, 08:43 AM   #4
Teej guy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Check the manual for how to do automation. Click the "a" button the keyboard to get started. You'll be able to either draw it in/use breakpoints or record fader moves. Just change the volume automation for the tracks in question.
__________________
2.3 Early 2011 MBP 17"
Teej guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 10:06 AM   #5
salientstimulus
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teej guy View Post
Check the manual for how to do automation. Click the "a" button the keyboard to get started. You'll be able to either draw it in/use breakpoints or record fader moves. Just change the volume automation for the tracks in question.
Sorry, I think I was unclear. I'm familiar with how to use automation, but I was wondering if there's a way to set an automation parameter that controls A/B mix between two tracks (maybe using a bus channel?). The alternative is drawing curves for both tracks, which means doing some math/tweaking to maintain the total output of the two tracks (A+B) at a constant level as each individual track changes.
salientstimulus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 02:05 PM   #6
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by salientstimulus View Post
Sorry, I think I was unclear. I'm familiar with how to use automation, but I was wondering if there's a way to set an automation parameter that controls A/B mix between two tracks (maybe using a bus channel?). The alternative is drawing curves for both tracks, which means doing some math/tweaking to maintain the total output of the two tracks (A+B) at a constant level as each individual track changes.
Could you "fake it" by using pan? Pan, I think keeps L+R at a constant level. Then when you are done just ignore one of the stereo pairs
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 05:18 PM   #7
deej999
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by salientstimulus View Post
Sorry, I think I was unclear. I'm familiar with how to use automation, but I was wondering if there's a way to set an automation parameter that controls A/B mix between two tracks (maybe using a bus channel?). The alternative is drawing curves for both tracks, which means doing some math/tweaking to maintain the total output of the two tracks (A+B) at a constant level as each individual track changes.
I saw a way to copy and reverse automation data on a video in the TNT2 series at macprovideo. I think this may help...

Draw / record volume automation or fades on track 1.

Open the Automation Event List (key command only. Look in KC window)

Now Open a new Arrange Page. The new page will show region automation regions.

Copy the automation region to the other track.

Select it and open the Transform window and set the Conditions Status to Control data. Set the Data Byte 2 Operations to Reverse.

Click on 'Select & Operate'.

You now have a type of crossfade written as automation.

__________________
24" iMac, 2.8Ghz, 4GB Ram. 13" Macbook, 2.1Ghz, 4 GB Ram. iPod Touch 16GB
deej999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2009, 09:23 AM   #8
completeidiot23
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
maybe send the channels to an aux channel using the same bus. then use the autoomation to automate the send levels to each bus?

I'm not a pro, and that was just off the top of my head
completeidiot23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HandBrake -- Subtitle and Audio Tracks Labeled Incorrectly EyeAmLuv Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Nov 26, 2012 02:42 PM
Soft Subtitles & Secondary Audio Tracks FlashGordon7 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Oct 19, 2012 05:34 AM
Apple TV 3 & Handbrake Audio Tracks fridgeymonster3 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Oct 1, 2012 08:05 PM
Subler multiple audio tracks micrors4racer Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Sep 28, 2012 11:34 AM
iMovie 11: How to work with multiple audio tracks? keybounce Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Aug 11, 2012 02:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC