Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 13, 2009, 06:42 PM   #1
dragonmantek
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
Powerbook G4 Problem

I've recently come into possession of a powerbook g4, and I don't have much of an idea of what to do.

It's one of those "you fix it, you can have it". I really need this, because I'm at college, and I need a laptop, and I can't really afford one.

The thing that happens is, after I hit the power button, it turns on, and a question mark / sad finder flashes in the middle constantly.

I was going to try putting in the Snow Leopard, but I realize it's wasteful because it won't install on PPC machines. So I put in the Leopard DVD, but it's an upgrade DVD, and it can't detect an older version. Past that, I put in the Tiger DVD, and whenever I load from DVD, it just crashes, and says to restart.

Any suggestions, or anyone know what that flashing icon means?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 06:44 PM   #2
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Well, the flashing question mark means that it cannot find a hard drive. So it sounds like the hard drive is dead, for the PowerBooks you'll need a PATA hard drive, which can be had for pretty cheap.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 06:47 PM   #3
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
The PBG4 may have a bad HD or bad RAM. I would try removing and reseating the RAM just to make sure. You could also try to reset the PMU, which solves a large number of problems.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 06:47 PM   #4
dragonmantek
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
So how do I change the hard drive?

Thank you so much by the way.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 06:51 PM   #5
shoulin333
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Here is a step-by-step guide on how to do it.

http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Browse/PowerBook

Just need to pick the model you have, take your time you have to take the entire top case off (keyboard, trackpad etc...) to get to the hard drive.
__________________
15" rMBP - Late 2013
27" iMac - Mid 2011 (Custom Fusion Drive - 256GB SSD/1TB HDD)
iPhone 5[S] - 16gb Space Grey(Verizon)
shoulin333 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 06:53 PM   #6
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
It depends on if it is an Aluminum or Titanium G4. A search at EveryMac.com will give yo the option of a teardown to show you how to replace the HD.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 06:58 PM   #7
dragonmantek
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
I have no idea what model this powerbook is. How can I find out? They all look the same to me.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 07:05 PM   #8
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Titanium is the one with black keys, aluminum has silver keys.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	15-inch-titanium-powerbook.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	29.4 KB
ID:	194266  
Attached Images
 
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 07:11 PM   #9
dragonmantek
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
I looked at how to install a harddrive, and I don't want to do anything near what that guide wants me to do.

If I take it to an apple store, would they do it for me? If so, how much would they do it for?
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 07:16 PM   #10
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
The Apple Store will NOT open a machine more than 5 years old (liability). But many Authorized Repair centers will. The Titanium's HD replacement takes about 20 minues. The Aluminum, takes about 75, mainly due to latches above the optical drive. I did it last week, for the first time, and it was a lot easier in practice (you twist the top case, instead of trying to pry the latches free) than in the guide.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 07:18 PM   #11
dragonmantek
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
It's 3-4 years old. I'll be at college tomorrow, which is close to an Apple store, so I'll try to visit and see what happens.

First I'm going to try to get a different DVD and install Tiger, or even Panther, I just want to get the thing working.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2009, 08:12 AM   #12
dragonmantek
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
Alright, I managed to install Leopard onto it, after a long morning.

I found the exact model and serial number and all, and found out all the specs. Where can I get some more RAM for this, anywhere that can be found for cheap? I went on a site and it said it was $60 for just 1 GB. I'd also like to get a new battery. The battery lasts for 20 minutes when unplugged.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2009, 08:18 AM   #13
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonmantek View Post
Alright, I managed to install Leopard onto it, after a long morning.

I found the exact model and serial number and all, and found out all the specs. Where can I get some more RAM for this, anywhere that can be found for cheap? I went on a site and it said it was $60 for just 1 GB. I'd also like to get a new battery. The battery lasts for 20 minutes when unplugged.
For the RAM I'd suggest getting it from here. As for the battery, it's pretty expensive to get it new, so I'd get one from a reputable seller on ebay.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2009, 08:40 AM   #14
NC MacGuy
macrumors 603
 
NC MacGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The good side of the grass.
I haven't seen exactly what kind of PB you have in your posts.

Assuming it's a 15", there was an Apple battery recall program that's still active for the later gen. 15"ers. I just had one replaced on a 15/1.67 about a month ago for free.

Again, I haven't seen if this is a 12-15 or 17 PB reference in your posts and there is a pretty large disparity in usefulness between the Ti PB's and the last PB's produced. If it's a Ti - forget it, the others maybe worth putting a few bucks into.
__________________
member #47,418
NC MacGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 05:33 AM   #15
dragonmantek
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
According to ifixit, I have the 1.5 GHz (BT 2.0) Aluminum 15"

Pretty much this



Except mine doesn't look like trash ;P

Anyway, so I got all the software fine, but sometimes the powerbook will just completely freeze. It's frozen a bunch of times, and a couple times when I was updating. It always worries me when something is frozen while updating.

Is it a heating problem and can i use a cooling pad or is the whole laptop just not worth trying to fix
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 06:09 AM   #16
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
Make an appointment at the apple store and have the genius diagnose it for you.
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, 2012 base 11" MBA, late 2011 2.4 i7 17" MBP, 16 gb ram, Crucial M4 512gb SSD
clyde2801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 06:16 AM   #17
RKO
macrumors 6502
 
RKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Just run repair disk permissions first and see if that helps before you do anything. BTW how much RAM is installed?
RKO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 06:23 AM   #18
dragonmantek
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
stock ram and hard drive.

512 MB RAM, and 80 GB HD.

I can't really afford to put in more RAM, that type of RAM is so expensive. PC-2700 DDR333
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 06:27 AM   #19
RKO
macrumors 6502
 
RKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
That model should not be overheating. It should not be freezing while updating. It can handle Leopard. First things first and that is a "repair disc permissions".
RKO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 09:06 PM   #20
SkyBell
macrumors 603
 
SkyBell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Texas, unfortunately.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonmantek View Post
stock ram and hard drive.

512 MB RAM, and 80 GB HD.

I can't really afford to put in more RAM, that type of RAM is so expensive. PC-2700 DDR333
I wouldn't worry about it too much, I run Leopard on an eMac with nearly the exact same specs (1.4 instead of 1.5 GHz) for my main machine, and it works well. You may be used to something a little nicer though, so it might be more of an issue.
__________________
MR's PowerPC Fangirl
eMac 1.42 GHz G4 - 10.4.11
12" PowerBook G4 1.5 GHz - 10.4.11
Blueberry iBook G3, Apple IIc
SkyBell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 09:10 AM   #21
dragonmantek
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
Alright, well, now the computer runs fine, until you get around into 15 minutes of using the laptop. then it just freezes, and I have to restart.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 09:19 AM   #22
RKO
macrumors 6502
 
RKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Do you have the original install discs for that model PowerBook? If so run the Apple Hardware Test and see if any issues show up with the RAM, HD, Logic Board etc.
RKO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 08:13 PM   #23
dragonmantek
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
I don't have original anything. All I got was the powerbook and the charger cable with adapter. is there any other way I can run the apple hardware test?
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 08:16 PM   #24
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonmantek View Post
stock ram and hard drive.

512 MB RAM, and 80 GB HD.

I can't really afford to put in more RAM, that type of RAM is so expensive. PC-2700 DDR333
The RAM is cheap at about $33 for 1GB. I just bought a stick for mine, and vastly improved the machine. As for the issues, it may be the hard drive is wearing out, or the software just needs to be refreshed.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 12:23 PM   #25
dragonmantek
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to dragonmantek
i've decided to take the powerbook to an apple store, but before i do that, i'd like to know if there is an apple hardware test software that i could download. i tried googling, but i haven't found anything i could download.

just things that say put your restore dvd into the drive, which i don't have.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" - 128 GB, 4 GB, 320M
iPhone 5 -32GB - Corrupt
dragonmantek is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook G4 AC adapter problem davorp Mac Basics and Help 1 Feb 12, 2014 05:23 PM
PowerBook G4 problem Intelligent PowerPC Macs 3 Jan 14, 2014 01:30 PM
PowerBook G4 Spotlight problem powerpcguy PowerPC Macs 3 May 20, 2013 11:12 PM
PowerBook G4 battery problem Zotaccian PowerPC Macs 2 Jan 15, 2013 11:04 PM
Powerbook G4 - keyboard problem Zotaccian PowerPC Macs 11 Nov 25, 2012 09:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC