Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Old Sep 15, 2009, 05:40 AM   #1
mantle536
macrumors newbie

how to share files from linux to mac on a network

so i replaced xp on my desktop pc with ubuntu 9.04, and i want to share the files from that computer with my macbook over my network. how do i get the mac to find the pc?(and i am still very new to linux, so go easy on me) thanks
mantle536 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 07:52 AM   #2
weckart
macrumors 68020

Here is a guide to show you how to get AFP shares up and running. I had problems getting the Time Machine volume to work, so gave up in favour of a Hackintosh Server, but for simple file serving, this does the trick.

Ubuntu As Mac File Server
weckart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2009, 08:46 AM   #3
foidulus
macrumors 6502a

Quote:
Originally Posted by mantle536 View Post
so i replaced xp on my desktop pc with ubuntu 9.04, and i want to share the files from that computer with my macbook over my network. how do i get the mac to find the pc?(and i am still very new to linux, so go easy on me) thanks
The best way to do things is through NFS(network file systems), unlike Microsoft, both Linux and OS X support it out of the box. There are a lot of tutorials online for how to set up NFS, I've never used Ubuntu so I cannot comment on the specifics for that, but I hope that will point you in the right direction.
foidulus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 11:20 PM   #4
mantle536
macrumors newbie

great! thanks for the help guys. i'll give them both a try and see which works out better.
Old Sep 17, 2009, 11:36 AM   #5
foshizzle
macrumors regular

Here's a general NFS how-to for ubuntu. In the options for the mount, make sure you use 'insecure' as well for your options.

Example from the forum modified with this option:
/files 192.168.1.0/24(rw,insecure)