Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 16, 2009, 09:34 AM   #1
crotalus99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Movies onto iPhone now possible

Has anyone noticed that the new iTunes / iPhone upgrade seems to have altered that movies that can be transferred onto the iPhone. I'm not sure about the ipod Touch, I haven't tried yet. Maybe this happened previous and I didn't notice, but after the upgrade I was messing around and noticed all the movies that I formatted to work with the aTV now are available from transfer onto the iPhone. I tried it and it did work. They play without issue. I haven't tried all 800+ movies in my collection, but have no reason to think they should work since I exclusively use either Videohub or handbrake.

Anyway, just a heads up. If it's old news ignore it, but I was excited to not have to reformat to take movies with me anymore.

FYI: I only format for aTV not the 5.1 option. No idea if that would make a difference.
__________________
Planning on living forever.. So far so good!
Macbook Pro iPad MacMini as a server; Drobo 3TB 3 aTVs
crotalus99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 09:42 AM   #2
PilotWoo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I've noticed this too. No more encoding twice!
PilotWoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 09:55 AM   #3
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
The reports we've received on the Handbrake forums state this is only available for the 3GS (and presumably the new iPod Touch 32GB and 64GB model).

I can confirm that it works with my 3GS... now the question is do I dare go back and re-encode my entire collection as the additional features of the AppleTV preset would save a nice amount of space on my NAS and iPhone (note: the quality should remaining fairly consistent to that of the Universal preset).
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 10:47 AM   #4
Felder71
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
The reports we've received on the Handbrake forums state this is only available for the 3GS (and presumably the new iPod Touch 32GB and 64GB model).

I can confirm that it works with my 3GS... now the question is do I dare go back and re-encode my entire collection as the additional features of the AppleTV preset would save a nice amount of space on my NAS and iPhone (note: the quality should remaining fairly consistent to that of the Universal preset).
Just in case, I'll probably still keep to Apple Universal. I'd hate for some new device to come out that doesn't support the Apple TV compression and Apple Universal is fairly portable. Considering we are now getting 64 GB iPod Touches and we should be seeing iPhone increases as well, space is not as much of an issue when it comes to DVD rips.
Felder71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 10:54 AM   #5
PilotWoo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I have an iPod Touch 1G. Works for me.

Last edited by PilotWoo; Sep 16, 2009 at 11:00 AM.
PilotWoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 11:01 AM   #6
macfaninpdx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felder71 View Post
Just in case, I'll probably still keep to Apple Universal. I'd hate for some new device to come out that doesn't support the Apple TV compression and Apple Universal is fairly portable. Considering we are now getting 64 GB iPod Touches and we should be seeing iPhone increases as well, space is not as much of an issue when it comes to DVD rips.
Keep in mind that the Handbrake presets are based on existing revisions of existing devices. There is no guarantee that encodes with these presets will work on future devices, or even on future revisions of the same device.
macfaninpdx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 11:40 AM   #7
randy98mtu
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I did notice that none of my movies were grayed out anymore and wondered what would happen if i selected one that previously was grayed out. Glad I didn't spend time re-encoding those as I had planned! Can you now copy movies that you only have an HD rip for? I'll have to check that out.
randy98mtu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 02:00 PM   #8
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotWoo View Post
I have an iPod Touch 1G. Works for me.
Odd, I believe at least one dev was unable to get it to work with a iPhone 3G or Touch 2G.
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 02:34 PM   #9
Felder71
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by macfaninpdx View Post
Keep in mind that the Handbrake presets are based on existing revisions of existing devices. There is no guarantee that encodes with these presets will work on future devices, or even on future revisions of the same device.
Fair enough, but if Apple continues to support the basic codecs, it should be good for the recent future.
Felder71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 02:38 PM   #10
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felder71 View Post
Fair enough, but if Apple continues to support the basic codecs, it should be good for the recent future.
Unless the improved decoding capabilities is a "bug" that Apple never wanted released.
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 02:53 PM   #11
Felder71
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
Unless the improved decoding capabilities is a "bug" that Apple never wanted released.
Which is why I'll stick with Universal. Also I have older iPod Touchs that my wife and son use on a trip and they'll need Universal to get the movies working.
Felder71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 02:59 PM   #12
grozier
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I also noticed this after upgrading to iTunes 9. I found it very odd that none of the movie files were greyed-out when synching my 3GS, including my 720 HD videos. I just figured that it no longer showed anything as greyed-out, even those which it could not copy. However I have not tried copying the HD rips to my phone yet.

I recall a story on the main page a few weeks ago about someone successfully playing HD content on the iPhone 3GS, although it was not copied using iTunes.
grozier is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 03:45 PM   #13
Shuttleworth
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
I just tried a TV show converted for the TV by my Elgato EyeTV software, it didn't work on my 8Gb iPod Touch 2G
Shuttleworth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 04:54 PM   #14
pdpfilms
macrumors 68020
 
pdpfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vermontana
Are you all running 3.1? Because with iTunes 9 and 3.0 on my 3GS I can't get anything other than my movies encoded using iPhone-specific settings to copy over.

"Some of the videos in your iTunes library were not copied to the iPhone because they cannot be played on this iPhone."
pdpfilms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 05:01 PM   #15
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdpfilms View Post
Are you all running 3.1? Because with iTunes 9 and 3.0 on my 3GS I can't get anything other than my movies encoded using iPhone-specific settings to copy over.

"Some of the videos in your iTunes library were not copied to the iPhone because they cannot be played on this iPhone."
Yes, this was added in 3.1.
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 05:13 PM   #16
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
Odd, I believe at least one dev was unable to get it to work with a iPhone 3G or Touch 2G.
That was me. AppleTV encodes do "not" transfer to my iPod Touch 2G. I cannot imagine they would work on a 1G which has a weaker processor.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 07:13 PM   #17
randy98mtu
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I just tried a 720p movie and it erred out and said it was not playable. I am moving one that was previously encoded using the AppleTV preset though and it is transferring.
randy98mtu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 07:16 PM   #18
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
correct, though the new iPhone/ iPod Touch can play the bframes etc. in the atv preset in hb, they still cannot play 720p
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 08:56 PM   #19
GermanSuplex
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Good news, but I am pretty satisfied with Handbrake's universal setting and will probably stick with 720x480 for widescreen and 640x480 for full-screen content. For dramas (or films without lots of action or effects), I can't tell a difference between the upscaled DVD and even the iPod Legacy preset. Maybe if I'm actively looking for discrepancies, but I don't usually do that.

However, this is great to know for encoding high-def content. I've been encoding what few bits I have into a HD and SD version.
GermanSuplex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 05:36 PM   #20
Cuthbert
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Holy Crap!! This is by far the best thing about the 3.1 OS for me. I had started to convert a couple of my movies (apple tv preset from handbrake) for my iphone. The process was long - hours for each movie. I have have 300+ movies, so I had given up on this as a lost cause.

Now I find out that I no longer have to convert my movies. PERFECT! This is exactly why I held out for the 32 gig iphone. No need to condense my larger files now!
Cuthbert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 06:08 PM   #21
Manzana
macrumors 6502a
 
Manzana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
So, this is only for 3GS and 3rd gen touch...right?

Due to new ARM chip?
__________________
Manzana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 06:14 PM   #22
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotWoo View Post
I have an iPod Touch 1G. Works for me.
Interesting. I'll try it when I get home and confirm whether it works for me or not.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 07:47 PM   #23
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manzana View Post
So, this is only for 3GS and 3rd gen touch...right?

Due to new ARM chip?
Thats what the current state of testing seems to show.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 11:06 PM   #24
Bevz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Tried to transfer a move encoded using handbrake "AppleTV" preset onto my iPhone3G... Didn't work. Interestingly though none of my movies are greyed out anymore... they all look able to be transferred but they don't.
Bit of a bummer, although it's good to know it works on the 3GS. I had planned to change all my ATV encodes to universal but i won't bother now. I plan to get a 3GS either at xmas (when my contract expires) or hang on until July and get the next generation... Either way, this gives me something else to look forward to on the new iphone
__________________
27" iMac (2010) | 13" MacBook Pro | TV2 | iPhone 4 32gb | iPad3
If you work in the NHS in the UK, you may want to check out my app: NHS Reference

Last edited by Bevz; Sep 17, 2009 at 11:13 PM.
Bevz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 12:17 AM   #25
mrpinkfloyd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
25% success rate so far

All of my movies that weren't purchased from iTunes were ripped from DVD collection using the Apple TV preset (H.264 codec) and when I tried to sync 4 of them to my iPhone 3GS, only 1 of them synced. The odd thing is that the file that synced had dimensions or bitrates higher than the one that did sync.

Synced:
I Love You, Man- Size: 2.25 GB, Total Bit Rate: 3058 kbps, Bit Rate: 448 kbps, Video Dimensions: 836x480

Did Not Sync:
Howard Stern - Private Parts- Size: 2.05 GB, Total Bit Rate: 2676 kbps, Bit Rate: 159 kbps, Video Dimensions: 565x352
Superbad- Size: 2.56 GB, Total Bit Rate: 3080 kbps, Bit Rate: 127 kbps, Video Dimensions: 853x462
The Foot Fist Way- Size: 1.78 GB, Total Bit Rate: 3060 kbps, Bit Rate: 127 kbps, Video Dimensions: 853x400

Any ideas as to why one would work and the others wouldn't??
mrpinkfloyd is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Streaming Movies over Cellular within the movies app? YodasMaster iOS 7 0 Sep 25, 2013 09:39 PM
iPhone: Purchasing iTunes Movies Saves Movies to the Cloud? LouieSamman iOS 6 3 Mar 10, 2013 03:41 PM
importing dvd encodes into itunes, places them in Home Movies folder not Movies ThirteenXIII Apple TV and Home Theater 13 Jan 5, 2013 05:19 AM
ITUNES STORE MOVIES VS SELF CONVERTED DVD MOVIES-Which is better? Ip160Classic Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 2, 2012 08:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC