Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 18, 2009, 01:03 PM   #1
amirite
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
AT&T domestic data roaming on iPhone

What's the limit? Have any of you ever been warned for going over the limit? What did AT&T say, etc...?

I'm in East Central Illinois and half of the time I'm roaming on Cellular One's network because AT&T have bad coverage in small towns here. I used about 50mb of data (roaming) the first day I got it, now I'm using quite a bit less, but I'm still a bit worried about what AT&T will say about it.

Last edited by amirite; Sep 18, 2009 at 01:14 PM.
amirite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 01:32 PM   #2
alent1234
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
i think the rule is that any month you roam more than you stay in the network you get a warning they will boot you
alent1234 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 02:07 PM   #3
rjohnstone
macrumors 68030
 
rjohnstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PHX, AZ.
It's stated in the contract you signed and the TOS.

Quote:
The Terms and Conditions of our data plans (including unlimited plans) provide an "off-net usage" allowance that is equal to the lesser of 6 megabytes or 20% of the kilobytes included in your plan. To assist you with knowing when you are using another carrier's network, we have changed the label on your wireless data device screen to display "Off Network". Please be cognizant of this network label and work to limit your data transmission while outside the AT&T data network boundaries. The AT&T data network coverage map is available at www.wireless.att.com/coverageviewer.
And yes, AT&T will boot you if you roam too much.
rjohnstone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 01:04 PM   #4
amirite
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjohnstone View Post
It's stated in the contract you signed and the TOS.



And yes, AT&T will boot you if you roam too much.
Does anybody here have personal experience with this? 6 megabytes is ridiculous. Also, I don't remember signing anything like that.
amirite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 02:06 PM   #5
jmmo20
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjohnstone View Post
It's stated in the contract you signed and the TOS.



And yes, AT&T will boot you if you roam too much.


i'm not in the US and domestic roaming sounds ridiculous to me but aren't those iphone data plans unlimited? 20% of unlimited kilobytes is still unlimited, despite the fact they have a 5gb cap of sorts.. that's not n the contract while unlimited data is.

am I wrong?
jmmo20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 02:01 AM   #6
rjohnstone
macrumors 68030
 
rjohnstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PHX, AZ.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmo20 View Post
i'm not in the US and domestic roaming sounds ridiculous to me but aren't those iphone data plans unlimited? 20% of unlimited kilobytes is still unlimited, despite the fact they have a 5gb cap of sorts.. that's not n the contract while unlimited data is.

am I wrong?
Looks like AT&T just increased the allowable roaming data to 24MB OR 20%, which ever is lesser. That's how they deal with unlimited plans.

http://www.wireless.att.com/learn/en...al-notices.jsp

Read your contracts.. yes, you did agree to this.

AT&T doesn't give a hoot about voice roaming domestically, but they do cap domestic data roaming.
rjohnstone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 02:35 PM   #7
amirite
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjohnstone View Post
Looks like AT&T just increased the allowable roaming data to 24MB OR 20%, which ever is lesser. That's how they deal with unlimited plans.

http://www.wireless.att.com/learn/en...al-notices.jsp

Read your contracts.. yes, you did agree to this.

AT&T doesn't give a hoot about voice roaming domestically, but they do cap domestic data roaming.
Well I've used almost 100mb in domestic roaming since wednesday and haven't been warned. The "wireless service agreement" that I digitally signed does not have any mention of this.
It does say that it "includes by reference" AT&Ts terms of service though.
I do feel that they should have told me that there is a domestic roaming limit on data.
What I would like to hear are personal experiences of going over this limit by MR members.
amirite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 03:10 PM   #8
Eric8199
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I've never turned data roaming on on my iPhone. I'm in the US on AT&T, as long as I stay in the country, is there any charge for data roaming? Should I just have it on by default, just in case?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Retina; Verizon iPhone 5s Silver 32gb; Apple TV 2; Black iPad 3 32gb WiFi.
My Twitter -- My Blog
Eric8199 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2009, 12:09 PM   #9
rjohnstone
macrumors 68030
 
rjohnstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PHX, AZ.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric8199 View Post
I've never turned data roaming on on my iPhone. I'm in the US on AT&T, as long as I stay in the country, is there any charge for data roaming? Should I just have it on by default, just in case?
The data roaming setting in your iPhone is only for international roaming.
Leave it OFF.
But just because you're in the US doesn't mean you won't roam.
AT&T does use partner networks for voice/data in areas they do not have towers setup.
So it is possible to roam on another carriers network while you're in the US.
While they won't charge you for domestic data roaming (yet), they will boot you if you roam too much.
rjohnstone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2009, 12:14 PM   #10
outphase
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Parts Unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by amirite View Post
Well I've used almost 100mb in domestic roaming since wednesday and haven't been warned. The "wireless service agreement" that I digitally signed does not have any mention of this.
It does say that it "includes by reference" AT&Ts terms of service though.
I do feel that they should have told me that there is a domestic roaming limit on data.
What I would like to hear are personal experiences of going over this limit by MR members.
AT&T did. You chose not to listen/read. That's how contracts work. You agree to it if you had the ability to read it even if you chose not to.
outphase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2009, 12:51 PM   #11
goosnarrggh
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by amirite View Post
Well I've used almost 100mb in domestic roaming since wednesday and haven't been warned. The "wireless service agreement" that I digitally signed does not have any mention of this.
It does say that it "includes by reference" AT&Ts terms of service though.
I do feel that they should have told me that there is a domestic roaming limit on data.
What I would like to hear are personal experiences of going over this limit by MR members.
Personal experience #1
Personal experience #2 (same thread)
Personal experience #3
goosnarrggh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2009, 01:13 PM   #12
amirite
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by outphase View Post
AT&T did. You chose not to listen/read. That's how contracts work. You agree to it if you had the ability to read it even if you chose not to.
Why are you trying to tell me what they told me? I got this phone less than 7 days ago and I know what I was told. I also still have the entire wireless agreement that I "signed".*
amirite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2009, 01:16 PM   #13
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
The contract is long, but you can ask the rep to read it. They'll give it to you. It does say they can boot you.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2009, 01:29 PM   #14
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by amirite View Post
Why are you trying to tell me what they told me? I got this phone less than 7 days ago and I know what I was told. I also still have the entire wireless agreement that I "signed".*
Well, then you already know don't you?

In any case, you're making a mountain out of a molehill. AT&T will not charge you for domestic roaming; it's part of your plan. If it becomes an issue, they'll send you a letter. Considering the large number of iPhone users out there, and the fact that I've only seen one person have issues with excess roaming, I'd say your chances are good you won't hear a peep.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Abroad with Data Roaming off, Will Find My iPhone still work? Shane1905 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Jun 20, 2013 01:40 PM
AT&T: Domestic roaming on a non-partner's network moonman239 iPhone 2 Jun 17, 2013 03:24 AM
Sprint Iphone 5 & Roaming 0r30 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Oct 6, 2012 03:16 PM
Find my iPhone with no data roaming Welshblue iPhone 2 Oct 2, 2012 06:56 AM
Sprint 300Mb domestic roaming? So what about it DBZmusicboy01 iPhone 4 Sep 17, 2012 12:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC