Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2009, 04:45 AM   #201
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacProCpo View Post
Since it's a slow and lazy Saturday at home, I decided to get the PS3 folding. So now I have the MP, my MacBook, two of 6 unix machines, my wife's iMac, and my PS3 folding.........what have you guys done to me?

All the folding happiness will be coming to a close on Dec 7th though. That's when the movers show up to do the final packing and ship all my household goods. I should be back up and running full-on by mid Jan.
PS3's give good ppd, and as far as what WE have done to you... check the water - bwahaha!

Here is a link to Atlas's machine stats, it's freeking awesome to look at!!!!!
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2009, 05:04 AM   #202
MacProCpo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
The water here in Japan IS a bit freaky

Quote:
Here is a link to Atlas's machine stats, it's freeking awesome to look at!!!!!
I KNOW!!! Where's the "drool" emotiocon! Each one of his GPU monsters is making 66K ppd....and he's got FIVE OF THEM!!!
MacProCpo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2009, 07:45 AM   #203
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
PS3's give good ppd, and as far as what WE have done to you... check the water - bwahaha!

Here is a link to Atlas's machine stats, it's freeking awesome to look at!!!!!
yeah i've got my PS3 folding when i'm not using it. i think it gets about 1,000 ppd (not sure though, but i think i read that somewhere)

thanks for that link!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacProCpo View Post
The water here in Japan IS a bit freaky



I KNOW!!! Where's the "drool" emotiocon! Each one of his GPU monsters is making 66K ppd....and he's got FIVE OF THEM!!!
man that's crazy!
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2009, 05:31 PM   #204
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
I now have 2 gpu's running which should put up some additional points. I have stopped the cpu folding on that machine, it wasn't doing nearly as many ppd in windows as it was in linux. Hopefully I can push over the 400k ppw mark but we shall see.

I am used to win xp at work but win 7 has been a challenge to figure out, so many things have changed...
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2009, 05:49 PM   #205
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
I now have 2 gpu's running which should put up some additional points. I have stopped the cpu folding on that machine, it wasn't doing nearly as many ppd in windows as it was in linux. Hopefully I can push over the 400k ppw mark but we shall see.

I am used to win xp at work but win 7 has been a challenge to figure out, so many things have changed...
nice. both 275s? how do you keep up with the wattage?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2009, 06:14 PM   #206
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
nice. both 275s? how do you keep up with the wattage?
I have my fingers crossed! one of them is connected to the power supply for another machine it seems to be working for now but I will have to get some bigger psu's soon. The one you are getting looks like a good deal.
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2009, 08:28 PM   #207
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
I have my fingers crossed! one of them is connected to the power supply for another machine it seems to be working for now but I will have to get some bigger psu's soon. The one you are getting looks like a good deal.
oh ok. yeah i've heard of people doing that though. yeah, better get a bigger psu soon though
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 12:08 PM   #208
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
i recently got a ps3 slim, does ps3 folding rely on ps3 linux?
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 12:11 PM   #209
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
Here is a link to Atlas's machine stats, it's freeking awesome to look at!!!!!
man the failed stats there are pretty big
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 01:58 PM   #210
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68k View Post
i recently got a ps3 slim, does ps3 folding rely on ps3 linux?
i don't think so. i'm pretty sure folding works on the slim. it's inside "life with playstation" or something like that.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 06:13 PM   #211
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68k View Post
i recently got a ps3 slim, does ps3 folding rely on ps3 linux?
I think it does, but check the FAQ page.

Shoulda' read the next post first, duh.
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 06:23 PM   #212
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Hey twoodcc, You are putting up a boatload of wu's, 41 for today, that is impressive and loads of points too. When I get home tonight I'm ordering 2 psu's and another windows 7 so I can get all 4 of my gpu's folding.

I think I will add another 2 gpu's (to make 6) and forget about another whole machine for now, that 12 core mac pro they are talking about on the front page looks mighty tempting to wait for.
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 07:25 PM   #213
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
Hey twoodcc, You are putting up a boatload of wu's, 41 for today, that is impressive and loads of points too. When I get home tonight I'm ordering 2 psu's and another windows 7 so I can get all 4 of my gpu's folding.

I think I will add another 2 gpu's (to make 6) and forget about another whole machine for now, that 12 core mac pro they are talking about on the front page looks mighty tempting to wait for.
thanks! yeah the bigadv units are nice, but i'm starting to think the gpus is where it's at. i'm already thinking of putting another gpu in my i7 machine (the one i've been running bigadv units on).

which 2 gpus are you thinking about adding?

yeah that 12 core mac pro will be tempting, but i bet the price won't be though
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 07:59 PM   #214
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
But you have to run windows... GPU3 will apparently allow macs to run the gpu client because of open CL, and also help ATI which are fairings very poorly right now in Folding.
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 08:05 PM   #215
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by SciFrog View Post
But you have to run windows... GPU3 will apparently allow macs to run the gpu client because of open CL, and also help ATI which are fairings very poorly right now in Folding.
yeah i know, which stinks, but at least windows 7 is a little better.

here's the problem for me and the bigadv units: i can't really use the computer for anything else. but with the gpus going, i can still use the system.

gpu3 will be good, but still, apple doesn't allow for all the video cards though
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 09:40 PM   #216
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
thanks! yeah the bigadv units are nice, but i'm starting to think the gpus is where it's at. i'm already thinking of putting another gpu in my i7 machine (the one i've been running bigadv units on).

which 2 gpus are you thinking about adding?

yeah that 12 core mac pro will be tempting, but i bet the price won't be though
It's amazing how much the the price has increased for "pro" macs over the years, though if you look at comparable dell's or hp's they are often more expensive than a high end mac pro (without the add on's, Apple want's too much for memory and hdd's).

I was thinking of maybe 2 more gtx 275's, that would make 4 275's and 2 260's. 3 would go on the i7 machine and 3 on the amd 965 and since I didn't have much luck with windows 7 running normal units well on the amd I may not get the normal cpu units running on the i7 either, all of those gpu's will make up for any difference though. That will probably be it for new horse power for a while, I may have to live with the idea that I will never catch up to mc68k or even atlasfolding
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 09:49 PM   #217
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
yeah i know, which stinks, but at least windows 7 is a little better.

here's the problem for me and the bigadv units: i can't really use the computer for anything else. but with the gpus going, i can still use the system.

gpu3 will be good, but still, apple doesn't allow for all the video cards though
At least with my mac pro it is quite usable while running bigadv units, it doesn't feel slow at all and the wu doesn't slow down very much.

Are there gpu, pci-e, power connectors inside the mac pro? I forgot to look the last time I had mine open.

I will sell my 2 copies of win 7, and go back to linux, when gpu3 is up and running, it would be nice not to have to buy another copy right now but I don't want to wait for gpu3, which could be weeks or months before it is ready. I guess it is out for alpha testing, I don't think I'll bother until it's past the beta stage.
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 10:44 PM   #218
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
It's amazing how much the the price has increased for "pro" macs over the years, though if you look at comparable dell's or hp's they are often more expensive than a high end mac pro (without the add on's, Apple want's too much for memory and hdd's).

I was thinking of maybe 2 more gtx 275's, that would make 4 275's and 2 260's. 3 would go on the i7 machine and 3 on the amd 965 and since I didn't have much luck with windows 7 running normal units well on the amd I may not get the normal cpu units running on the i7 either, all of those gpu's will make up for any difference though. That will probably be it for new horse power for a while, I may have to live with the idea that I will never catch up to mc68k or even atlasfolding
yeah, the mac pro is just out of my price range now. when it was first released in 2006, you got 4 cores, which was the most at the time, for $2499. i could deal with that. but now 8 cores cost $3299, and i'm sure the 12 cores will be the same, if not even more.

oh ok. i'm not sure if i want to get 260s or 250s. i know the 260s get almost 2k more ppd than the 250GTS, but it might not be worth the price. i'm still thinking about it.

yeah right now i'm just running gpu units. i wonder which uses more power, gpu or bigadv?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
At least with my mac pro it is quite usable while running bigadv units, it doesn't feel slow at all and the wu doesn't slow down very much.

Are there gpu, pci-e, power connectors inside the mac pro? I forgot to look the last time I had mine open.

I will sell my 2 copies of win 7, and go back to linux, when gpu3 is up and running, it would be nice not to have to buy another copy right now but I don't want to wait for gpu3, which could be weeks or months before it is ready. I guess it is out for alpha testing, I don't think I'll bother until it's past the beta stage.
my mac pro is too slow for the bigadv units, and the regular ones only get about 3500 ppd. i'm getting over 15,000 ppd with the 4 gpus.

your mac pro might have those connections. mine has 2 x 6-pin connectors for video cards. i really didn't look for any 4-pin connectors.

i don't even know where to look for the alpha gpu3. but yeah, i'll wait. i wonder how long the wait will be though
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 12:19 AM   #219
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
BTW no more points will be recredited for the stats mishap earlier last months. They lost the data and did some estimations... Nothing else will be given...
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 05:00 AM   #220
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by SciFrog View Post
BTW no more points will be recredited for the stats mishap earlier last months. They lost the data and did some estimations... Nothing else will be given...
why am i not surprised that i didn't get mine?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 12:36 PM   #221
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
i'm already over it, in the grand scheme of things it doesn't matter too much. if i were to be credited all the stuff over the years i should have been im sure id have 100s of thousands more points
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 06:52 PM   #222
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68k View Post
i'm already over it, in the grand scheme of things it doesn't matter too much. if i were to be credited all the stuff over the years i should have been im sure id have 100s of thousands more points
yeah i'm over it as well
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What the just happened? Please help! Joemans Mac Pro 13 Feb 17, 2013 05:06 PM
Nothing happened yet Kev.LoveMac iMac 1 Nov 27, 2012 02:51 AM
What Happened? billgatesfault MacBook 7 Nov 25, 2012 08:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC