Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 18, 2009, 10:58 PM   #1
shivermetimbers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: McChord, Wash
iMac 5.1 upgrade

I am curious, I am looking at buying the Mac Box Set to upgrade my iMac 5.1 (early intel iMac) to SL and boost the RAM to 3G versus 1G. Would I see some noticeable performance differences jumping from Tiger to SL? Or would it just run a heck of lot smoother? I know the RAM will help out.

I would be doing a fresh install of Tiger beforehand. Its ran great for 3 years. I am giving this iMac to my mother as her first Apple and want the best. Sorry if this redundant.....
__________________
17" uMBP, 2.93G, 4G RAM, 320G HDD
iPods 8G Nano & 120G Classic
Gen2 iPhone and 16G 3GS
Alum 24" iMac, 1TB HDD, ATI4850, 4G
shivermetimbers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 05:17 AM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
I would get the RAM first and see how it runs. Remember that the 29$ SL is fine too
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 07:57 PM   #3
shivermetimbers
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: McChord, Wash
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
I would get the RAM first and see how it runs. Remember that the 29$ SL is fine too
Yeah, the RAM is a given...gonna happen. I was looking at the boxset for everything. Thanks for the reply.
__________________
17" uMBP, 2.93G, 4G RAM, 320G HDD
iPods 8G Nano & 120G Classic
Gen2 iPhone and 16G 3GS
Alum 24" iMac, 1TB HDD, ATI4850, 4G
shivermetimbers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 08:24 PM   #4
zedsdead
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
The RAM will help dramatically.

As for SL, it's almost a no brainer just for all of the leopard features such as Time Machine.

If you think she will use any iLife app, it's worth it.
__________________
iMac 27: 3.4 Core i7 Quad, 768gb SSD, 24gb of RAM, 2gb NVIDIA 680mx
rMBP 13: 2.6 Core i5, Iris 5100, 8gb RAM, 512 SSD
iPad Air, iPhone 6, Apple TV, Final Cut X, Logic X, Drobo 5D
zedsdead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 10:28 AM   #5
stubeeef
macrumors 68030
 
stubeeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
I have the same 5.1 iMac, 17" and am running on the edge of overflow with the 160gb hard drive.
I would like to increase the HD to 1tb but the youtube videos make it look too involved, but the cost of having someone else do it is even scarier.
Has anyone do that to the 5.1 and found it easier than they thought?
__________________
Change!
Real Change?
7in2 Fore!
stubeeef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 12:47 PM   #6
Tyr.
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivermetimbers View Post
I am curious, I am looking at buying the Mac Box Set to upgrade my iMac 5.1 (early intel iMac) to SL and boost the RAM to 3G versus 1G.
If you're upgrading the RAM for performance reasons it is probably best to go 2 x 2Gb modules to make the most of dual-channel memory architecture.
Tyr. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 08:24 PM   #7
shivermetimbers
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: McChord, Wash
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyr. View Post
If you're upgrading the RAM for performance reasons it is probably best to go 2 x 2Gb modules to make the most of dual-channel memory architecture.
I thought my 5.1 would only support 3G or RAM max? Unless I misread the manual... Could have....was drinking beer...silly things happen. If it can take dual 2G sticks...that would work great! I was looking at buying my RAM through OWC.
__________________
17" uMBP, 2.93G, 4G RAM, 320G HDD
iPods 8G Nano & 120G Classic
Gen2 iPhone and 16G 3GS
Alum 24" iMac, 1TB HDD, ATI4850, 4G
shivermetimbers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 09:04 PM   #8
indg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivermetimbers View Post
I thought my 5.1 would only support 3G or RAM max? Unless I misread the manual... Could have....was drinking beer...silly things happen. If it can take dual 2G sticks...that would work great! I was looking at buying my RAM through OWC.
4GB (2x2GB) can be installed, but only 3GB total will be addressable. so go with 1GB + 2GB of PC5300 667mhz DDR2 SO-DIMM. the performance boost from dual channel won't even be noticeable with the 2x2GB pair, so why pay more? even if you went to just 2GB of total ram, you'd notice a big difference in performance coming from 1GB.
indg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 11:46 PM   #9
Tyr.
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivermetimbers View Post
I thought my 5.1 would only support 3G or RAM max?.
No you're right, I mixed up the version numbers. Sorry
Tyr. is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 27", i7 upgrade or Fusion Drive upgrade? jaydencro Buying Tips and Advice 3 Apr 18, 2013 09:19 PM
Upgrade 2007 iMac or get a new iMac vs Mini + Monitor combination ozone iMac 19 Jan 16, 2013 03:26 AM
To upgrade the graphics on the new 27" iMac or not to upgrade? wehokev iMac 23 Dec 1, 2012 10:16 AM
iMac 2009 to iMac 2012 - worth the upgrade? bulldoze iMac 12 Sep 6, 2012 10:00 AM
The 2011 i5 iMac is not a good upgrade if you have a 2009 iMac Buffsteria iMac 17 Jun 26, 2012 08:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC