Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 19, 2009, 08:49 PM   #1
mikeschmeee
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
D90 Autofocus Issue? Please Help!

Hello Everyone,

As you may or may not know (doesn't really matter though) it was my 24th birthday on Friday (sept 18) and so I set out today (sept 19) to purchase a new camera, Nikon D90, from Broadway Camera in Richmond, B.C.
It's a work of art but one problem. NO AUTOFOCUS! From what I read the AF dot will display and stay solid in the view finder when the subject is in focus or it will blink when it is out of focus. That seems to work but when I want the camera to focus automatically nothing happens. I've changed lenses and still no results. It's not that big of a deal since I mainly focus manually but at the same time it kind of is and it would be nice to know that my new DSLR is not broken.

Both body and lens are on autofocus but it does not display AF-A, AF-S or AF-C in the control panel. It does not display anything. I press and hold the AF button and turn the command dial that's right under it nothing happens. When I press the INFO button it says MF where it should say AF-A, AF-S or AF-C.
There's no way to change it on the camera. I've read the entire manual and researched online whether it is some type of firmware problem or lens compatibility (I'm using a Nikon Nikkor AF-S 18-200mm VR)

EDIT: Also, when I press the menu button and go to custom setting menu then choose autofocus, a1 AF-area mode is grayed out and I am not able to select it. If I press the OK button it says "this option is not available with current settings"

Please help I have tried everything and all signs lead to a defective unit.

Thanks
Mike
__________________
13" Aluminum MacBook, 2.0GHz, 4GB RAM, 160GB HD ; iPhone 3GS 8GB
YouTube
flickr
Portfolio

Last edited by mikeschmeee; Sep 20, 2009 at 04:15 AM. Reason: Forgot to mention
mikeschmeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 09:38 PM   #2
Elbert C
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AK, USA
Have you tried cleaning the contacts on the lens and body mounts?
Reset it to factory conditions?

BTW Happy Birthday.
Elbert C is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 09:56 PM   #3
mikeschmeee
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Yes, I have cleaned mounts gently and no results.
I have reset custom settings when i press the menu button but not a complete reset to factory settings. Not too sure how to do that.
Thank you for the birthday wishes
__________________
13" Aluminum MacBook, 2.0GHz, 4GB RAM, 160GB HD ; iPhone 3GS 8GB
YouTube
flickr
Portfolio
mikeschmeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 01:11 AM   #4
gnd
macrumors 6502a
 
gnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: At my cat's house
Do you have the AF/M switch (auto focus / manual focus) turned to MF (manual focus)?

Thumb resize.
__________________
A Pentaxian, also have a wife with a Mac
gnd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 01:51 AM   #5
mikeschmeee
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
The switch is turned onto AF. Nothing happens... It does not focus automatically.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

Sorry for the low quality pictures quickly taken with my iPhone with bad lighting but as you can see everything seems to be correct and still no dice.
See the MF near the center of the LCD display? That does not show up on the control panel display on the top of the camera. Nor can I change it here or when I press the menu button and do it through there.
What to do? Go and exchange it for a new one at the store tomorrow? I'm hoping there is some hidden feature on the camera that enables it and just makes me look like a rookie instead of going all the way back and returning the camera.
__________________
13" Aluminum MacBook, 2.0GHz, 4GB RAM, 160GB HD ; iPhone 3GS 8GB
YouTube
flickr
Portfolio
mikeschmeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 04:47 PM   #6
mikeschmeee
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Alright, this is really strange. I brought the camera back to the store today, we attached a 18-105mm lens from a D90 that was on display and the autofocus works. I grabbed my lens (18-200mm) and attached it to the D90 and guess what... IT WORKS!
So here is my question... what happened? How did the autofocus fix itself in between the time I went to sleep and woke up the next morning to take it back to the store to see if it can be exchanged?!? I don't understand, can anyone make sense of this? Whatever happened is fine with me my new camera works 100% and I'm very happy but until I figure it out I guess the "Nikon Fairy" came and spread some pixie dust onto the SLR to make it work. (as childish as that sounds)

I'm off to snap some photos.
Thank you all.

Cheers
Mike

__________________
13" Aluminum MacBook, 2.0GHz, 4GB RAM, 160GB HD ; iPhone 3GS 8GB
YouTube
flickr
Portfolio
mikeschmeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 05:12 PM   #7
Designer Dale
macrumors 68040
 
Designer Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Folding space
Auto focus is electronic and thus subject to the demons of the electron stream. Consistent failures are easy to deal with but these inconsistent failures are perplexing. I've repaired a number of electronic devices (not cameras) by disassembling/reassembling them. It doesn't take much to mess up the contact on something delicate like this. I would remove and replace the lens every day for a week and make sure the problem doesn't reappear the next time you change the lens.

Dale
__________________
How to Post, Quote and Multi-Quote Photos - My Google Docs Folder 12/2011
I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message.
Designer Dale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2009, 07:06 AM   #8
artochat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Exactly Same Thing Happened To Me Today!!!

Yes, all the photographs of camera settings you posted are the identically same as mine and the problem was exactly identical. I bought my D90 six months back, I did not use it much but today when I was really using it I faced this problem. I also went through the manual thoroughly but could not find an answer. Here I should mention I read the manual properly before using it. I read it properly again after having the problem.

Getting frustrated I searched on the net. FINALLY I also got the solution in a similar way which has no apparent explanation. I detached the lens and again attached it. NOW THE DISPLAY IN CONTROL PANEL IS BACK!!! AND THE a1 AF-area mode is also working!!! But I detached the lens earlier also after having the problem, at that time the problem persisted after attaching. After reading your writing when I did the detaching and attaching I got the result. No logical explanation!!!
artochat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2009, 08:48 AM   #9
carlosbutler
macrumors 6502a
 
carlosbutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London City
i believe the way most of these things work in programming terms is that when you connect a lens to the camera, the lens it self has information built in to it. some lens also have built in motor's, some need the camera to turn it.

when the lens is connected, the camera may think that a lens is connected but is only a manual one. luckily i have never had this problem, although i have a D80
__________________
24" iMac, 3GHz, 15" MacBook Pro quad
iPod Classic, iPod Nano, Apple TV
iPhone since release of original
easy-bills.co.uk
carlosbutler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2009, 11:26 PM   #10
mikeschmeee
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I know! This is completely weird but so far so good. I'm having a blast with my D90!
I contacted Nikon and they didn't even know, the rep told me to return the unit to the store since its brand new.

Glad to hear that this thread helped someone else other then me

Cheers
Mike
__________________
13" Aluminum MacBook, 2.0GHz, 4GB RAM, 160GB HD ; iPhone 3GS 8GB
YouTube
flickr
Portfolio
mikeschmeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2009, 02:07 AM   #11
pdxflint
macrumors 68020
 
pdxflint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oregon coast
Sometimes when mounting a lens, the electronic contacts might not make the perfect connection, especially if the lens doesn't really "click" into locked position. Remove, and remount the lens when that happens - normally this should do the trick. And, try turning the camera off, then back on - sometimes with electronic devices, they get "stuck" with some erroneous signal, and only shutting them off resets them.

But, if it happens frequently, I'd get the camera exchanged for another one. It could be a slight misalignment in the lens mount or something like that. Put it through some serious paces the first couple of weeks to see if it might be a long-term problem.
__________________
"You only get one sunrise and one sunset a day, and you only get so many days on the planet." -Galen Rowell
pdxflint is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2009, 04:51 PM   #12
An7rax
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Same problem

I got my D90 in September this year with 18-200 Nikkor lens. Everything was perfect until today when I tried my new Sigma 105 macro lens. At first I thougth they tricked me , sending me a lens without autofocus. Later on I figured how AF should work with this lens , but surprise surpise- NO AUTOFOCUS AT ALL. I have tryied my previous lens - same situation - no AF , no AF options at all. Finally I started looking for someone with similar problem in the WEB and here I go. Unfortunately I had no luck so far with my attempts to get this camera to work properly again. I have tried to clean the contacts , changed the lenses couple of times , turned the camera on and off, recharged the battery, I had my eyes crying while I was reading the stupid manual 100 times...No change. I will probably have to send this fellow for repair. Any other suggestions anyone ?
An7rax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2009, 05:22 PM   #13
compuwar
macrumors 601
 
compuwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern/Central VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by An7rax View Post
I got my D90 in September this year with 18-200 Nikkor lens. Everything was perfect until today when I tried my new Sigma 105 macro lens. At first I thougth they tricked me , sending me a lens without autofocus. Later on I figured how AF should work with this lens , but surprise surpise- NO AUTOFOCUS AT ALL. I have tryied my previous lens - same situation - no AF , no AF options at all. Finally I started looking for someone with similar problem in the WEB and here I go. Unfortunately I had no luck so far with my attempts to get this camera to work properly again. I have tried to clean the contacts , changed the lenses couple of times , turned the camera on and off, recharged the battery, I had my eyes crying while I was reading the stupid manual 100 times...No change. I will probably have to send this fellow for repair. Any other suggestions anyone ?
Does changing from servo to continuous AF make a difference?`
__________________
PaulDRobertson.net Have I been helpful? How about a print for your wall? US, UK and CA fine art sales!
compuwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2009, 05:58 PM   #14
An7rax
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by compuwar View Post
Does changing from servo to continuous AF make a difference?`
AF options are completly unavailable just like mikeschmeee's problem described above . Pressing the AF button and turning the main wheel does not seem to cause any reaction in the camera.
An7rax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 05:08 PM   #15
An7rax
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I managed to solve the problem . I 've never changed my lens in the past since I did not have another one. Today I realized that once fitted the lens needs to be turned slightly to the side opposite to the one you turn it during the attachment process. When I turn it this way it clicks and after that all the autofocus options are available and the camera works perfectly with both the new and the old lens. I am really happy that I figured out how to fix it myself as I didn't want to send it for repairs. I hope that this might help to someone with the same problem. No ghosts or fairies were involved
An7rax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2010, 03:25 AM   #16
dinette00
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Thank you so much

Hello everyone,
Thank you so much for your help, I had the problem this morning with my new D90, I was so freaked out... First I didn't read the entire responses... so I tried changing lenses, cleaning the contacts, reseting custom settings, turning the camera on and off, recharging the battery but still MF in the INFO panel. Hopefully I read the full responses and saw the last one. I tried to turn the lens slightly to the side opposite and heard the providential "click"! Too late for me to test the morning light to make some picture, I will try instead the evening light...
Amandine
dinette00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2010, 04:55 PM   #17
ljohnl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
>D90 Autofocus Issue? Please Help!

okay, I had the same issue with auto focus on my Nikon d90. How did I fix that? easily, first, to detach the lens you are supposed to push and hold "lens release button" what I did, and, when I was attaching another lens I simply pushed same button! - that is a mistake! you do not need to push "lens release button" when attaching the lens. just attached it, turn until you hear "click" and enjoy...
ljohnl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2013, 01:46 AM   #18
atkthulasi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
hi......m using nikon d90 cam with 18-105mm lens . the AUTOFOCUS was working for last one year . Now it is not working even though all the options related to it are switched on. i have removed the lens and refitted it after wiping the contacts. that was also not clicking. can anyone help me out on this?
atkthulasi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2013, 10:59 AM   #19
mikeschmeee
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Did you drop the lens or camera recently? If so, maybe that ruined the sensors around the contacts that engage the autofocus?

Bring it to a camera store and see if they can help. Maybe you just need to keep reattaching the lens until the autofocus comes back?
__________________
13" Aluminum MacBook, 2.0GHz, 4GB RAM, 160GB HD ; iPhone 3GS 8GB
YouTube
flickr
Portfolio
mikeschmeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D90 or 500D...Please help syedrizvi21 Digital Photography 53 Aug 20, 2009 02:04 PM
Help with scanner and driver issues... Please HELP! know-it-all5 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 May 23, 2008 01:42 PM
disk mount issues please help snyzch Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 27, 2003 12:05 PM
WC3 issues please help CrackedButter Games 8 Nov 14, 2003 08:42 PM
RAM issues...please help 8thDegreeSavage Mac Help/Tips 5 Nov 11, 2002 02:07 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC