Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 9, 2004, 04:33 PM   #1
eyeon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montana, USA
PC hard drive in a Mac?

I'm fairly new to Macs, as I have just ordered my first which should arrive within the next ten days (so they say)... I am just curious -- I have a PC with a couple hard drives in it, including an internal Maxtor 40 gig that I bought a couple years ago. I was wondering if it would work to put that into my new Mac, as a secondary scratch disk or something. If so, should I format it beforehand? And if so, should I partition the drive in FAT32 or NTFS?

Thanks in advance.
eyeon is offline   0
Old Jul 9, 2004, 04:37 PM   #2
stoid
macrumors 68040
 
stoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: So long, and thanks for all the fish!
You'll need to format the drives HFS+. Just pop (or plug) the drive in, open Disk Utility from Applications>Utilities. Select the drive and go the the erase tab. It'll reformat the drive. The process takes about 30 seconds max. Enjoy you new Mac! What kind did you go for?
stoid is offline   0
Old Jul 9, 2004, 04:45 PM   #3
RiseAgainst
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Yes you can use your existing HDD. Before putting the drive into your new computer format it by writing zeros to the disk while it is in your pc. This will make it like it just came from the factory and has no file system on it. Even though you can format it FAT32, I would recomment formatting it in HFS+. This is easy to do, after you put the HDD in the Mac, navigate to:

Applications>Utilities>Disk Utility. When in Disck Utility select the harddrive that you want to use on the left pane, then click the Erase tab on the right. Select "Mac OS Extended" from the Volume Format dropdown list, give it a name, and hit the erase button.

Thats it. Shouldn't take more than 3 minutes.

EDIT: Err, man i type slow.
__________________
To be guided by faith is to be misled.
RiseAgainst is offline   0
Old Jul 9, 2004, 05:06 PM   #4
seamuskrat
macrumors 6502a
 
seamuskrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey USA
Send a message via AIM to seamuskrat Send a message via Yahoo to seamuskrat
If you have existing data files you need, you can read from FAT32 or NTFS. Once you copy your data, then reformat as HFS+ for the Mac.
seamuskrat is offline   0
Old Jul 9, 2004, 05:51 PM   #5
Mord
macrumors Demi-Goddess
 
Mord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Old York
what ma did you get and what type of drives do you have in your pc, if they are sata drives then they will work in a g5 is they are paralel drives they will work in a g4 powermac if you got a powerbook or an emac you will have to get an external caddy which are cheap just make sure you get a firewire one not usb
Mord is offline   0
Old Jul 12, 2004, 12:46 PM   #6
decksnap
macrumors 68030
 
decksnap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Kinda related question...

My company is throwing out an old puple iMac because (I think) the screen is dead. I am wondering if the hard drive inside could possibly be salvaged and put into my G4 tower? The same question goes for the RAM- I just feel like it's a waste if I can't salvage anything from this computer being tossed. Anybody know?
__________________
My cat's breath smells like catfood.
decksnap is offline   0
Old Jul 12, 2004, 12:58 PM   #7
blue&whiteman
Banned
 
blue&whiteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by decksnap
My company is throwing out an old puple iMac because (I think) the screen is dead. I am wondering if the hard drive inside could possibly be salvaged and put into my G4 tower? The same question goes for the RAM- I just feel like it's a waste if I can't salvage anything from this computer being tossed. Anybody know?
ram no. hd yes.
blue&whiteman is offline   0
Old Jul 12, 2004, 01:11 PM   #8
scottwat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ohio USA
Wait a minute

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue&whiteman
ram no. hd yes.
The G4 and even the G3 towers used 100/133 ram. I maybe mistaken but depending on the imac model it maybe worth a try. The HD will definitely work, and the question about you can really use any filesystem apple supports fat32 or UNIX or the Mac extended. If you want to transfer files it would be an easy time to do it if you format in Fat32.
Scott
scottwat is offline   0
Old Jul 12, 2004, 02:12 PM   #9
seamuskrat
macrumors 6502a
 
seamuskrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey USA
Send a message via AIM to seamuskrat Send a message via Yahoo to seamuskrat
You can use the drive, but I suspect its a small one like under 10 gigs. The RAM no. Some iMacs used SODIMMS, others used slower RAm. The G4 tower is either 100 or 133 depending on age. I do not think any iMac ever used 133 DIMMS in the CRT form.

Quote:
Originally Posted by decksnap
My company is throwing out an old puple iMac because (I think) the screen is dead. I am wondering if the hard drive inside could possibly be salvaged and put into my G4 tower? The same question goes for the RAM- I just feel like it's a waste if I can't salvage anything from this computer being tossed. Anybody know?
seamuskrat is offline   0
Old Jul 12, 2004, 02:52 PM   #10
blue&whiteman
Banned
 
blue&whiteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
that imac would be either a 266 or 333mhz since its grape in color. 233-333 imacs used pc66 memory because of the 66mhz system bus. you can use 100 in a 66 machine but it would still only run at 66mhz. any G4 tower is pc100+.
blue&whiteman is offline   0
Old Jul 12, 2004, 02:56 PM   #11
decksnap
macrumors 68030
 
decksnap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Thanks...

Thanks a lot. I'll crack it open and see how big the drive is. There's actually a chance it's a blue iMac- only saw it for a second as they were lugging it to the dumpster. Yes, I'm going diving!
__________________
My cat's breath smells like catfood.
decksnap is offline   0
Old Jul 13, 2004, 05:05 AM   #12
aussie_geek
macrumors 65816
 
aussie_geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
HD ok :), RAM not :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by decksnap
My company is throwing out an old puple iMac because (I think) the screen is dead. I am wondering if the hard drive inside could possibly be salvaged and put into my G4 tower? The same question goes for the RAM- I just feel like it's a waste if I can't salvage anything from this computer being tossed. Anybody know?
This happened to my Tangerine iMac G3 333 a few years ago. I bought a G4 dual and used the ata 66 HD from the iMac and it works fine. It was only a 6Gb drive but I use it for audio recording.

As for the RAM, the iMac definately uses Sodims and they will not fit in the G4 tower.

aussie_geek
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro 15", PC gaming rig
aussie_geek is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hard drive shows in Disk Utility, but not in Finder OldCorpse Mac Basics and Help 19 Jan 31, 2013 10:44 PM
Buzzing Hard Drive in Mac Pro... Ben1l Mac Pro 5 Jul 15, 2011 07:24 AM
Wanting to put stock Toshiba hard drive in OptiBay.. need to get those prongs off Sardukar MacBook Pro 5 May 14, 2011 10:08 AM
Can I install Mac OS X on multiple hard drives?? Cmd-the-World Mac Pro 4 Feb 4, 2011 08:05 AM
Internal PC hard drive to external mac hard drive help? mizzi Mac Basics and Help 11 Dec 12, 2005 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC