Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

neversaynever

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 12, 2009
g'day to everyone.

I am considering a macbook pro, be it 13 or 15. to specify my needs i need to give a little info about myself. I am a freshman student designer and I started school this year. I have full scholarship, but the school gives this in exchange to that I work for them. (for in-school exhibitions etc.) the work did not start yet, but I am told I should expect a busy schedule.

I would normally be content with my imac at home, but one of my uncles said that as a scholarship gift he'll buy me a macbook pro,and I need to choose. he said the cost is no object and I'm pretty much free to select anything.

I am thinking about 13 inch one because I will probably carry it with me all the time, it is light, portable and when I need there are spare monitors on the scholarship hall so while at the school I'm pretty much fine.

As disadvantages I am worried(should I be worried?) about processing power of 13 inch one.(think of 13 top end versus 15 top end) secondly while I'm out of the school I'm pretty much confined to 13 inch screen which I have no experience with. does that 2 inches really make a difference?

I also want the machine to be as future-proof as possible since I will not be in position to buy another one in foreseeable future. I have an imac at home, so the laptop does not have to do real hardcore jobs, but needs to be versatile enough to tackle most day jobs of a graphic designer in next few years.

I will probably be carrying this to everywhere I go, so weight is a real concern.

I also heard that 13 inch screens are far worse than its bigger counterparts, is this true, or does it make a real difference?

Sorry if I messed it all up :) and thanks.

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland