Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 22, 2009, 08:38 AM   #1
Macsonic
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
2008 MacPro Power Supply work on a 2006 MacPro ?

Hello,

I tried the "search" box before making this thread. Would like to know if the power supply from a 2008 MacPro work on a 2006 MacPro. If anyone has tried this? My 2006 MacPro shut down suddenly and would not turn on. I use an APC UPS plugged on a power surge outlet. The Mac technician who examined the unit suspected it might be the power supply but Apple may not have in stock the power supply for the Ist Gen MacPro.

Thanks. Inputs appreciated.
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 09:50 AM   #2
lannister80
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macsonic View Post
Hello,

I tried the "search" box before making this thread. Would like to know if the power supply from a 2008 MacPro work on a 2006 MacPro. If anyone has tried this? My 2006 MacPro shut down suddenly and would not turn on. I use an APC UPS plugged on a power surge outlet. The Mac technician who examined the unit suspected it might be the power supply but Apple may not have in stock the power supply for the Ist Gen MacPro.

Thanks. Inputs appreciated.
I'm sure Apple still has PSUs for the 2006 MacPros in stock, but it'll cost an arm and a leg.
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro, 8x2.8GHz, 3.25TB, 18GB RAM
UnRAID NAS, 9TB storage, 3TB parity, 400GB cache
lannister80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 11:13 AM   #3
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
You can find them online.

www.macpalace.com (they do carry them, as I've looked in the past).
www.allmac.com, not sure if they carry that P/N. Maybe email or call to be sure.

They aren't cheap though. Nearly $300USD, last I checked.

Likely a few others, as well. Just do a search.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 12:48 PM   #4
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via ICQ to Cindori Send a message via AIM to Cindori Send a message via MSN to Cindori Send a message via Yahoo to Cindori Send a message via Skype™ to Cindori
Id reset the SMC...
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 01:17 PM   #5
Macsonic
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
Thanks to all the inputs. Appreciate it.
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you replace the power supply in a MacPro with a more powerful one? i make movies Mac Pro 10 Jul 17, 2013 01:12 AM
2008 MacPro Power use with lots of stuff... CIA Mac Pro 0 Apr 23, 2013 10:01 PM
Can't power on early 2006 intel iMac, bad power supply or inverter? asterjj iMac 5 Feb 8, 2013 04:59 PM
10.7.5 Screwed my 2006 MacPro digitaltrader Mac Pro 0 Dec 10, 2012 12:13 AM
Upgrade MacPro 2006 to 2008 eric1122 Mac Pro 3 Jun 30, 2012 06:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC