Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 13, 2004, 10:05 AM   #1
Kenny Pollock
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hollywood, FL
Send a message via AIM to Kenny Pollock
Need monitor for PM G5

Well, I'm officially an idiot, heh. I purchased a DP G5 Dual 2.5GHz, and I can't afford a monitor. I have a bunch of VGA monitors for PC's around my house, but the G5 only has an ADC monitor port, and a DVI one. I was wondering if someone could find me a cheap adapter VGA monitor > DVI on the PowerMac. I got confused because Apple said it's a single link DVI port or something.. I looked on eBay and saw alot, but I'm not sure what type. Also, does anyone have experience with the adapter? Will it look decent enough to work on until I can afford the cinema 20"?

Thanks in advance
Kenny Pollock is offline   0
Old Jul 13, 2004, 10:12 AM   #2
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
The G5 should come with a DVI->VGA adapter... didn't it?

From Apple's G5 tech specs site:

Hardware accessories:
Apple Keyboard, Apple Mouse, USB keyboard extension cable, DVI to VGA adapter, modem cable, AirPort antenna
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0
Old Jul 13, 2004, 10:16 AM   #3
Kenny Pollock
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hollywood, FL
Send a message via AIM to Kenny Pollock
It comes with one?
Kenny Pollock is offline   0
Old Jul 13, 2004, 10:22 AM   #4
flanders
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
yep, it should come with one...your VGA's should work out fine.
__________________
17" MBP 2.16 Core Duo
One of the REAL pro machines! I got ports on BOTH sides...You?
I'm just sayin'.
flanders is offline   0
Old Jul 13, 2004, 10:25 AM   #5
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
And yes, the monitor will look fine. I had an old CRT hooked up to mine for a while, and it worked beautifully.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0
Old Jul 13, 2004, 10:27 AM   #6
Kenny Pollock
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hollywood, FL
Send a message via AIM to Kenny Pollock
Thanks alot!! This was pissing me off, I still owe my mom for loaning me 50% of the money for the DP 2.5GHz. I can't wait until I get it, now I'm all excited.
Kenny Pollock is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which UPS is enough for PM G5 benwa02 Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 8 Jul 10, 2005 10:59 PM
What game should I get for PM G5 in siggy? slooksterPSV Games 18 Jun 5, 2005 10:17 AM
Video capture card for PM G5? 840quadra Digital Video 6 May 16, 2005 01:57 PM
Need help finding new card for PM G5 dethl Macintosh Computers 2 Mar 22, 2005 04:51 PM
Internal Hard Drive for PM G5 TranceClubMusic Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 2 Sep 24, 2004 08:45 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC