Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 1, 2009, 03:43 PM   #1
wumbobabo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
iBook G4 - Hardware Error

I have a 1ghz ibook g4 with tiger installed
It was working fine until one day i turned it on and it got to the grey screen with apple logo and then won't move past that. I've tried booting in safe mode (holding shift) and it didn't help

I then tried putting my tiger disk in and holding option...the first time I did it I got to the installer, selected language, and when it was loading the next area it froze...

So I turned it off and tried again and this time instead of even getting to the language select it gave me this screen (see attached files)

Any suggestions on how to fix my computer?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	122.7 KB
ID:	197077   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-2.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	109.5 KB
ID:	197083   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-1.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	126.9 KB
ID:	197084  

wumbobabo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2009, 06:24 PM   #2
Sheeds
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
A) if you can get to the Archive and Install option after booting off your install disks that should work.

B) as a last resort, hold T while booting, you should get a big firewire logo on the screen. connect to another Mac through Firewire 400, your Mac should show up as a Hard Drive in Finder, You can repair permissions with Disk Utility, or as the very last resort Erase and format, this will wipe you drive.
Sheeds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2009, 08:05 PM   #3
toolbox
macrumors 68020
 
toolbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia (WA)
I suspect RAM here a this stage, how much is in there? If there are two sticks try taking one out and see what the outcome is? if that fails swap em over.

Have you tried PMU / PRAM reset?
__________________
2009 iMac 27 inch | i7 2.8 | 1 TB | 16GB DDR3
iPhone 3gs | iPhone 4 | iPhone 4s | iPad 1 | iPad 2
toolbox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2009, 08:48 PM   #4
Sheeds
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Yeah, I agree the RAM could be the issue for sure.
Sheeds is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Hardware Test error code? Michael Goff MacBook Air 3 Jan 2, 2014 10:25 AM
Mid-2009 Hardware Test Error 121a MacBook Pro 1 Sep 16, 2013 08:55 AM
Apple Hardware Test Error: IP6M zopiro Mac Pro 2 Nov 8, 2012 10:01 PM
help with hardware test error code faneos iMac 3 Sep 28, 2012 04:21 AM
hardware test detected an error jennytisme iMac 4 Sep 25, 2012 03:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC