Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 2, 2009, 10:33 AM   #1
mtgilbert
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
64 bit Handbrake faster in 32 bit mode

I found this odd: I have the most recent versions of Handbrake and VLC, both in the 64 bit build. When I boot my MacBook Pro (June, 2009, and running SL 10.6.1 with 4 GB of RAM) in 32 bit mode, handbrake encodes video about 10% FASTER than when I boot in 64 bit mode! How can this be? I would have thought that running the Mac in 64 bit mode would run 64 bit applications faster.

Confused in NYC
mtgilbert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 12:22 PM   #2
rhett7660
macrumors 604
 
rhett7660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunny, Southern California
How do you know it is 10% faster? Do you have some data to back this up? If so please post the data.
__________________
"It's quite an experience to hold the hand of someone as they move from living to dead."
"Times are looking grim these days, holding on to everything, it's hard to draw the line"
rhett7660 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 12:24 PM   #3
AAPLaday
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester UK
Hmm this is interesting. Please post more info please like rhett7660 said
AAPLaday is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 12:33 PM   #4
mtgilbert
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
In 32 bit mode, the average frame rate (according to Handbrake itself) was about 60 fps, while in 64 bit mode is was only about 55 fps. I did not actually time it, but the "time remaining" reading corroborated these numbers.
mtgilbert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 12:44 PM   #5
mtgilbert
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I should add that I also did this while booted off my Firewire HD. As expected, it encoded faster (my internal HD is only 5400 rpm) but the relative difference in the numbers between 32 and 64 bit was the same. Please try it yourselves and see what you get.
mtgilbert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 12:52 PM   #6
alangsam
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
ypu should time it with a stopwatch

the time remaining info is notoriously innacurate as its not total elapsed time its time left. Also the Handbrake 64 bit is not stable code at this point so i cant see it ready for benchmarking against the older 32 bit code.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtgilbert View Post
I should add that I also did this while booted off my Firewire HD. As expected, it encoded faster (my internal HD is only 5400 rpm) but the relative difference in the numbers between 32 and 64 bit was the same. Please try it yourselves and see what you get.
alangsam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 02:42 PM   #7
Amdahl
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtgilbert View Post
I found this odd: I have the most recent versions of Handbrake and VLC, both in the 64 bit build. When I boot my MacBook Pro (June, 2009, and running SL 10.6.1 with 4 GB of RAM) in 32 bit mode, handbrake encodes video about 10% FASTER than when I boot in 64 bit mode! How can this be? I would have thought that running the Mac in 64 bit mode would run 64 bit applications faster.

Confused in NYC
There is a speed penalty for running 64-bit, unless the code being run gains enough from AMD64 (vs. i386) to offset the penalty. The kernel generally does not do anything that would offset the penalty in the kernel, and that will bleed through to the apps.

What I would consider more interesting is the comparison of your numbers for 64-bit Handbrake vs. 32-bit Handbrake.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alangsam
Also the Handbrake 64 bit is not stable code at this point so i cant see it ready for benchmarking against the older 32 bit code.
Balderdash. 64-bit code is ready for benchmarking against the 32-bit version as soon as you are done recompiling it. The only exception is if you have an app that has assembly sections. Since Handbrake is now offered in 64-bit build, by definition, any of those assembly sections are now transferred to 64-bit.

Whether it is stable at that point (e.g., undiscovered 32-bit to 64-bit bugs), is irrelevant.
Amdahl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 02:59 PM   #8
mtgilbert
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Well, I used a stopwatch and found that I had been a bit too trusting of the progress indicators (frame rate and ETA). The times turned out to be pretty close to indistinguishable. This leaves the question: Why would those indicators be so different (10% off from one another) if the total encode time is actually the same?

The other possibility is that I'm too trusting of my stopwatch....
mtgilbert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 05:23 PM   #9
jbuk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amdahl View Post
There is a speed penalty for running 64-bit, unless the code being run gains enough from AMD64 (vs. i386) to offset the penalty. The kernel generally does not do anything that would offset the penalty in the kernel, and that will bleed through to the apps.

What I would consider more interesting is the comparison of your numbers for 64-bit Handbrake vs. 32-bit Handbrake.

Balderdash. 64-bit code is ready for benchmarking against the 32-bit version as soon as you are done recompiling it. The only exception is if you have an app that has assembly sections. Since Handbrake is now offered in 64-bit build, by definition, any of those assembly sections are now transferred to 64-bit.

Whether it is stable at that point (e.g., undiscovered 32-bit to 64-bit bugs), is irrelevant.
x264 (the encoder behind the video portion of HandBrake) has a lot of assembly in it, and I don't know how much that supports 64-bit yet, so that might have something to do with it.
__________________
MacBook White 2.1GHz/4GB/160GB/x3100 Sony DSLR-A300 / 18-70 F3.5-5.6 / 75-300 F4-5.6 iPod classic 6.5G 120GB / iPod Shuffle 2G 1GB
jbuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 12:03 PM   #10
Amdahl
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuk View Post
x264 (the encoder behind the video portion of HandBrake) has a lot of assembly in it, and I don't know how much that supports 64-bit yet, so that might have something to do with it.
Ipso facto, if it is a 64-bit binary, whatever is running is 64-bit. ffmpeg supports AMD64, and x264 itself has had AMD64 patches since 2005.
Amdahl is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot into 32 bit mode jjk454ss OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Jan 20, 2014 07:18 PM
Can't launch iTunes in 32-bit mode rockstarjoe OS X Mavericks (10.9) 15 Oct 23, 2013 04:55 PM
A7 Processor to Be 31% Faster and 64-Bit, iPhone 5S to Support Motion Tracking? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 396 Sep 11, 2013 02:46 AM
iMac 2008, Boot Camp 5, and Windows 7 32-bit & 64-bit mcrazza Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Mar 20, 2013 10:57 PM
Updating handbrake for a 32 bit MBP bigpz1981 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Mar 11, 2013 01:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC