Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 2, 2009, 04:45 PM   #1
MacBytes
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Do Your .DMG Files Mount Properly with Snow Leopard?




Category: Apple Software
Link: Do Your .DMG Files Mount Properly with Snow Leopard?
Description:: none

Posted on MacBytes.com
Approved by Mudbug
MacBytes is offline   0
Old Oct 2, 2009, 04:46 PM   #2
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Let me test…. *Double clicks* OH look! It mounted!!!
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0
Old Oct 2, 2009, 04:52 PM   #3
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
I remember a bug several years ago where if you bought a computer with 10.3 then updated to 10.3.2 without mounting a DMG in between, mounting would break. I wonder whether that same issue now occurs if you go from 10.6 to 10.6.1 without mounting.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Oct 2, 2009, 05:35 PM   #4
iVoid
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
No DMG problems here.

The only time I've had DMG problems with Snow Leopard is when they are on a SMB share that gets disconnected. After a forced eject, you have to wait a while before it'll mount again. Some kind of background repair process maybe?
iVoid is offline   0
Old Oct 2, 2009, 06:10 PM   #5
Stridder44
macrumors 68040
 
Stridder44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
I'd say most of the time. Every now and then I get an error in Safari saying "The operation couldn't be completed (SafariErrorDomain Error2)". It's completely random; can happen with any file type.
__________________
iPhone 5
MacBook Pro 2.53GHz/320GB HDD/4GB RAM
iMac G4 800MHz/80GB HDD/512MB RAM
Stridder44 is offline   0
Old Oct 2, 2009, 11:53 PM   #6
leonstafford
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Send a message via Skype™ to leonstafford
if you're running a hackintosh, this is common and requires installing the something or other extension....

seatbelt.kext

That's it... I think that's an apple Kext, so you could try replacing your copy from a different build of OS X and see if that helps
__________________
Leon Stafford
2012 Mini 2.5G i5 4GB Intel 60GB SSD Lots of awesomeness!
leonstafford is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally! Sync your Address CardDav in OSX 10.6 Snow Leopard bm2amb iCloud and Apple Services 85 Apr 6, 2014 03:51 AM
Upgrading Leopard to Snow Leopard, will this wipe out my Mac? [EDITED WITH IMAGES] ISJB OS X 1 Oct 5, 2011 07:34 AM
Problems with Administrative password in Snow Leopard Limey2 Mac Basics and Help 0 Jun 22, 2011 05:18 PM
Can I re-install on a Mid-2010 MBP with the Snow Leopard DVD? BlueberryMac MacBook Pro 8 Mar 2, 2011 09:14 PM
Do any Mobile Broadband adapters work with Snow Leopard? mrbarker2312 OS X 2 Oct 18, 2009 08:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC